You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hey Steemit. I'm a writer who wants to test his mettle.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Welcome to steemit!

The other platforms where I post are much more niche, but they are at least intended to be a place for the consumption of stories.

I agree. And this platform has a whole lot of other things going on... and I hope that will not make you feel discouraged early on.

I've been here for 2 months writing relentlessly, and I have some advice for you.

Reading above I know that you are a great writer than the rest, perhaps you will be rewarded heavily at the beginning, and I must admit that it is addicting. But based on my experience, don't let it taint your writing. At some point, the rewards will stop. It's the lure. You will be abandoned just when you are already attached to the community.

Though the interface is designed to look like this is a money-making website, rewards are not the only reason. I hope you will continue to write for the love of it.

And of course, I write about realistic topics here, my travels and whatever my distorted mind has to offer. People favor art, positivity cryptos etc., Especially those who invested their money or the paying users of the platform. They love to read about positivity lol. But I don't write up to anyone's expectations - so my audience has been reduced.

Write for yourself.

This is the only way...

I'm sure you can find people here of the same niche, but just don't expect too much. Just enjoy everything while it lasts. Don't write for the money. :) You'll find a nice community here, and I hope you find the right people who will read your content and support you consistently . Have fun!

Sort:  

It's tough to find a consistent audience. For me that has always been an issue. Not just in securing readership, but in identifying my overall relationship with an audience. That's why I've decided to not really worry about it. If my work is solid, I can build integrity towards onlookers and those who have followed my journey. Comments like these inspire me to find my place in the Steemit community. Thank you so much, and I wish you the best of luck on your journey as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60385.82
ETH 2321.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51