A particle physicist life

in #introduceyourself8 years ago

Hi there!

I am Benjamin, professor at Pierre and Marie Curie University in Paris. Introduction: done!

...

Okay, this was maybe a bit too short. Now, then a longer version about me, myself and my life. I teach physics to undergraduate students, perform research works in theoretical high-energy physics and (try to?) transmit my passion for fundamental sciences to others, from students to the general audience. More practically, a first half of my time is dedicated to teaching, a second half concerns scientific research and a third half (or maybe an extra 75%) turns out to be administration (there is no free lunch). When your hobby is your job, hours and money matter less and there may indeed be more than three halves in a pie...


Now, what do I want to write about on Steemit? About my research work definitely. I would like to share the dreams and the magics that animate most of the people in my field including me. I would like to explain why fundamental physics is interesting, what are the great puzzles of our era and how we may manage to solve them in the next 20-30 years. I will not write all of this into one single post, as I could probably write a full book about it and get everyone bored before I start, but I will discuss little by little all of this during the next days, weeks, months and decades (although this sounds a bit too far in the future, but who knows?). Let me however flash below a few keywords that may make you dream and think, ... or not.


We have big machines. And by big I mean, really, really really big (and people with big machines...). More seriously, let me take an example made of two rings of 27km long where protons, a tiny beast living in the nuclei of the atoms (I may discuss this later), are super-accelerated and smashed against each other. That is what the Large Hadron Collider at CERN (in Switzerland) does (I will again elaborate in some further posts). We can view the center of the collision as the energy gathered by two high-speed trains running at full speed that collide into each other, but with all the matter and energy located into one single point. This may sound crazy, but we hope that this will allow us to understand better how the universe works, even go back in time by several billions of years in some sense (time travel does not exist, which is why I wrote ‘in some sense’!) and test various of our theories explaining the laws of Nature. Yes, I have used the plural form. We have more than one theory in mind, and the true one is probably still to be discovered. That is all what particle physics is about. We do not know much and we want to understand more! In particular with respect to what is dark...


One of the great unknown of our time I will write about along my posts concerns dark matter. Why is it called dark? Because it is dark of course. We cannot see it, we have no idea about what it is, but it is known to pervade our universe. There is even more dark that visible matter in it. And even it dark matter is invisible, we are trying to detect it and produce it. This dark matter gives work to our experimental colleagues (try to google ‘ice cube’ and ‘dark matter’ and you will find that this goes way beyond drinks) and also to theorists like me who could design theories where dark matter interacts via dark forces with particles living in dark sectors. I hope I convinced you that all of this is very dark. So that it could give ideas about making movies (except that some already did...).


I will discuss all of this, and even more, into greater details all along the posts on this blog, trying to explain what I do, what researchers in my field do and why it is important that we do this. I am also happy to answer and clarify any doubt anyone may have related to physics, if I can of course. I do not know everything, but I am always happy to share what I know!


Except physics, I also like traveling and discovering new places around the world. Although during these time, I mostly travel for my work, so that the time I have for visiting is kind of limited. I will write a bit about my trips, sharing my personal viewpoint (as for the rest, there are probably already many good write-ups available on the web). I also like programming and developing computer codes, which is something which plays an important role for my research.

This is it for now! Have a great day! 

Sort:  

I can vouch that @lemouth is the real deal. He's my brother-in-law!

And now, a part of the family is on Steemit. @cryptoctpus is my son and @lemouth, the son in-law. Soon, there will be perhaps another of my daughters! She is a good writer (in french), but she is very busy with two "mouths".

My wife will come... That's a promise. But this week is a bit hectic as we are in vacation and wit a limited connectivity :)

Looks like you got your whole family in here lol

lol :)

It was a great introduction.

I bet you are a great teacher.
You manage to write in a entertaining way about things that might be a bit "dry" things to read about usually. :)
And that always make it more easy to read about, and to remember.

I find this things interesting, but have only touched the surface of it.
And as i come from a poor family in Norway, i could not afford to go to a school and learn about it that way, so i have to find books and use internet when i want to try to educate my self in things.
But there is few things that give me greater pleasure then when i learn new things about almost anything that have with science to do. :)

For this reason i am very glad to have discovered your blog here on steemit. :)

I will simply start to read your posts systematically from the bottom of your blog and work my way up to the last post, as i get the time for it.

I have to ask if you also have a channel on Youtube(or any other internet sites) too?
Some times when it is very complicated things, i find it more easy to understand when it is explained by a live person(or in a video) then it is when i only have to read about it.

I hope you have a great day when you read this, and that you never lose your passion for your work! :)

I was not expected any answer to this post anymore! This made my day! ^^

Thanks a lot for the interest in my blog and your very kind message! I hope you will learn many things in browsing my articles (I must have passed the 100 mark in terms of number of posts :p).

Steemit is the only platform where I write, and it will stay like this as I don't have the time to do more. So for more information, the best is to ask questions and it will be my pleasure to answer them :)

Thank you for your answer, and i will ask ask i go along. :)

Wait, are you kidding me!? A particle physicist on Steemit. Awesome!

Welcome to Steemit, Benjamin. I shall be intently following you. Can't wait to find out about your research.

I'm just a lay man interested in science, but of late, I have been fascinated by the possibilities of what future gravitational waves detections could reveal about the Cosmos.

Thanks for your message!

Gravitional waves! That's indeed one of the highlights of this year in the field. That's not directly what I am working on, but I may try to discuss them in one of my next posts. I know a bit about them (but not too much as those are not my speciality :p )

Cheers,

Benjamin

I know - would love to get the inside scoop on particle physics. :)

Pleasure to have you here, any friend of @cryptoctopus is a friend of all steemians.

wellcome

Welcome Benjamin! I will be one of your followers !

Thanks a lot Catherine! I will also follow you!

I will try to post regularly (every 4-5 days), but mostly once I will return from my vacation (we are enjoying Belgium at the moment).

Cheers,

Benjamin

I look forward to reading your posts. I've hit the follow button

Thanks a lot! As I said in another answer to one of the comments above, I will try to post regularly (most probably once back from vacation) on that topic, one post every week.

Cheers,

Benjamin

More practically, a first half of my time is dedicated to teaching, a second half concerns scientific research and a third half (or maybe an extra 75%) turns out to be administration (there is no free lunch).

I am sure administration is a pain for you huh?

I am sorry that i arrived this post late! Following you!

Thanks a lot for your message!

There are good aspects with administration, like meeting students, discussing with them (about their future, what they want to do in life), interviewing candidates for a job, being part of PhD or habilitation thesis committees (where I actually learn a lot of things), etc. But they are also those painful aspects like:

  • spending weeks in writing a 40-pages-long grant application that is rejected because obviously the referee has not read it or taken the time to try to understand it;
  • having to fight during days to get... a few kEUR as a travel grant (the ratio money over energy is definitely depressing);
  • discussing during a week with a committee of 15 people to share a few kEUR among 50 people (believe me, this is a very very very painful task!)

and I can give many more examples... I however definitely prefer to focus on the good part of the job and discuss the things that make me happy with my professionnal life ^^

discussing during a week with a committee of 15 people to share a few kEUR among 50 people (believe me, this is a very very very painful task!)

I am sure it is very painful - who and who to get how much and why blah blah blah haha yes, looking forward to your sharing on the happier bits!

welcome to the platform :)) Great intro and definitely should share more travelling tips :) Alla x

Hi,

Thanks a lot! I will try to share some tips and some impressions of the places I visited. However, I am mostly traveling for work and my time spent on sight-seeing is kind of limited. I most of the time spend 8-10 days in one place and dedicate 1-2 days for leisure. So please do not expect my blog to be a real travel blog :)

Cheers,

Benjamin

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60385.11
ETH 2889.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65