You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A particle physicist life

More practically, a first half of my time is dedicated to teaching, a second half concerns scientific research and a third half (or maybe an extra 75%) turns out to be administration (there is no free lunch).

I am sure administration is a pain for you huh?

I am sorry that i arrived this post late! Following you!

Sort:  

Thanks a lot for your message!

There are good aspects with administration, like meeting students, discussing with them (about their future, what they want to do in life), interviewing candidates for a job, being part of PhD or habilitation thesis committees (where I actually learn a lot of things), etc. But they are also those painful aspects like:

  • spending weeks in writing a 40-pages-long grant application that is rejected because obviously the referee has not read it or taken the time to try to understand it;
  • having to fight during days to get... a few kEUR as a travel grant (the ratio money over energy is definitely depressing);
  • discussing during a week with a committee of 15 people to share a few kEUR among 50 people (believe me, this is a very very very painful task!)

and I can give many more examples... I however definitely prefer to focus on the good part of the job and discuss the things that make me happy with my professionnal life ^^

discussing during a week with a committee of 15 people to share a few kEUR among 50 people (believe me, this is a very very very painful task!)

I am sure it is very painful - who and who to get how much and why blah blah blah haha yes, looking forward to your sharing on the happier bits!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 68321.15
ETH 3140.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69