On The Quest To Find My Fifteen

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

(I had been thinking about making a Steemit themed photo. Until then limited photos are on my contact page and my contributor page on Thrive)   


Initially, I didn't want to do an introduction page. Typical for a person with an active mind (or is it 'active imagination'? you tell me! Haha) a swarm of thoughts came.


Here are some of the thoughts that ensued:

  • Well...there's a link to my site there and just like a funnel, those who'd be interested in learning more would end up in my intro (aka 'cheeky FAQ') page
  • Wait. Doing this would help me find more of my Fifteen! Even if I risk being ridiculed or harassed. (Though my sense of humour isn't similar to South Park...I still am concerned and wouldn't want what Justine Sacco had to endure happen to me.) Note: The link to Jon Ronson's talk at the Sydney Opera House has strong language and adult themes (Rating: M - definitively NSFW, unless you're planing to listen via headphones).
  • Ah! I can do a Q&A style...and pick some from the 36. Too much? Maybe. 


What won? I decided to go look through the 36 and tweak them as necessary:


Q: Before making a telephone call, do you ever rehearse what you are going to say? Why?

A: Of course! Doing so is respectful of the person's time. Wait. Let me read that again. I guess that's a 'no'. I prepare for a chat with talking points though not rehearse the whole thing. 


Q: When did you last dance?

A: You know, I have this mental note to make a video titled: 'How drummers dance'. I haven't gotten around to it. It's basically going to be me tapping my feet (or a fellow drummer I've convinced to do the video instead) being nonchalant about it. 

To answer the question: I just did a subtle dance similar to Mark Watney (the shoulder bit) while he was in the rover. Though mind was via one of Set Mo's tracks (I will not accept a bet that I can stay still without bopping my head while the track is playing). And no...I will not demonstrate it! :)


Q: Imagine in front of you a person who could answer any question about cooking, what would you ask? 

A: Teach me the recipe of a great tasting fried chicken batter! I think where I've gone wrong is I don't overload the egg wash (or the flour) with spices, and marinate the chicken pieces in a swath of spices for 48 hours. If only I can get something like the KFC version without having me feel crappy (that's why I avoid fast food) after eating it.



Q: If you had a choice on how you would die, what would it be?

A: I'd like to go quietly in my sleep. I'm tempted to say 'heart attack' but having not experienced one, I think I'm going to pass on that (plus the risk of me dying in public en route somewhere!)


Q: What do you value most in a friendship?

A: I think I'm going to refer to a quote from Elementary as part of my answer.


There you go. Hot off the press. :) Looking forward to getting to know you too!


Photo by Leigh Lim (TBA link to Flickr)

Sort:  

WELCOME TO STEEMIT :) Glad to see more people like you - here join the steemit! Being a steamboat is a great adventure! Here you can win money while blogging! At first it will not be easy, but it is not impossible. So just write it from your heart and everything will be fine. ! Applause! Wish you much luck! Greetings,

@Animal-lovers

welcome on board

After reading this post (specifically item one), I've decided to include links for verification so any of the witnesses can check that I am me! :)

#1 - Here's a tweet linking to one of my Steemit posts
#2 - Here's a page on my site with a Tweet embeded
#3 - Here's my Thrive Feed (that links to my site, which links to my Twitter feed...which links to my Steemit feed...)

LeighLim Leigh Lim tweeted @ 13 Oct 2017 - 12:43 UTC

@steemit Whew...only had to wait 3 days. :)

Still figuring out the platform...meanwhile...

Hello experiments!… twitter.com/i/web/status/9…

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Welcome :)!

sup.gif

Here a few tips for starters snce you probably won't get any advice from those who comment under here, here's what I gathered thus far.
It's tough to make money at first so if that's your main cause to be on here grind that into your head straight away, that doesn't mean you shouldn't post content, you should, but enganging with others in the comment sections to grow your following is your best bet. Which categories?

Probably the introduce yourself one and the photography section but you can choose things that you have knowledge about too and then go from there just know that there is a lot of crap on here so plowing through that just to connect with others can be tough. Cheers.

Hi, Leighlim, In case this has been your first Introdusemyself Post i'm here to welcome you to Steemit. I hope you have a lot of fun here and you may follow me. Have a great time @rightuppercorner

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66344.62
ETH 3214.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.37