This is me – a legal alien in America, a poet, and a "Hans-guck-in-die-Luft" as my German fellows call me

IMG_1886.JPG

Happy Sunday! I am new to this platform and I'd like to introduce myself.

Hi fellow Steemians,

My name is Lea Geschwinder, I'm an experienced journalist, and I joined this platform to inspire and get inspired, share my love and find companionship.

I have always been curious about the world, an adventurer who thinks outside of the box. I studied English and Comparative Literature and Cultures in Bonn, Germany and started working in media when I was still in High School.
I worked at Endemol as a content creator (a popular German TV production company), interned at one of the most successful German shows called "Circus HalliGalli" and ended up writing and interviewing bands like KISS for one of the biggest German newspapers called EXPRESS. When I moved to NYC, I started working as a video host and producer at Refinery29. What started as an internship turned into my passion. I hosted my own show and produced progressive content for three years, challenging myself to get better every day.

As I was sailing the ocean of new and first experiences, I had loads of questions. Do I have to hide my femininity to be respected at work? Do I have to fit in categories to be successful in a business that is based on networking? Is it wrong to talk about taboo topics in order to free this world from limiting concepts? Do I have to stick to manmade hierarchies and hold my tongue more often? The answer is simple: Hell no!

When I moved to New York about three years ago, I didn't know a single soul, which was scary and liberating at the same time. I felt very lonely, but I also had the chance to focus on myself.

IMG_2174.JPG

Instead of looking outward, I started to look inward. I started writing about my passions, my thoughts, and curious wonderings about our society. I finally decided to share all of this with you. There are more people struggling in unknown waters than you would think. I hope that me sharing my experiences will help prepare some of you for the strong waves, light breezes and troubling storms of feelings, revelations, and doubts that will hit you on your trip through the ocean of experiences.

I created "Finding the Zen in Journalism" with a mission to heal through my art, to ask questions that help people reflect, unify and love. Healing yourself is where healing this world begins.

Please leave an upvote or a comment, if you feel what I am saying. I'll give the love back, and I'm excited to be part of this community!

Thank you for taking the time to read this!

xx,
Lea

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57654.82
ETH 2888.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60