You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: WHY I’m ON Steemit - Reason 3

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

I can relate to this post.
first came the suspensions on facebook, then youtube channel closure, and finally lost my twtter a few months back. Now I'm trying Steemit with renewed hope even though I've already stumbled on a few posts and comments hidden by negative flags, and in some cases it was flagging of opinions and not abuses. This is concerning but something that can be solved.
I think flagging should be reserved for clear cut abuses : abusive language, plagiarism, spam etc and never used to bury opinions . This needs to be stated clearly in the FAQ (currently it is not) .
Also Steemit, though based on a blockchain database, is currently still a centralized website so it can be easily targeted by governments.
Steemit needs to become a decentralized application to really be censorship-proof.

Sort:  

You've made some very good points. I think Steemit will be able to resolve some of those issues in time. It is still in beta technically. There are not many places left online where we can share our opinions openly these days. Let's hope that Steemit can be one of them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66670.04
ETH 3497.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71