Introducing 'Land of 1000 Smiles' - Travel, Culture, and the Curious Around Asia

My name is Andy Hill. I'm originally from the U.S. (Kansas City), but moved around from Boston, to Portland, and Taos, New Mexico (including a six month stint as a student in Brussels, Belgium).

From when I was a little kid (probably by the time I saw Indiana Jones for the first time) I have wanted to be in places foreign to me, among people foreign to me, doing things in a way that were foreign to me.

So, soon after the global financial debacle of late 2008 (which found me working the graveyard shift at a convenience store, months after graduating from university at 25) I left the States to teach English in Busan, South Korea. After two raucous years there, I began traveling throughout Southeast Asia, and haven't stopped (longer than a couple years anywhere) since.

steemit3.jpg

I milked goats on a farm in northern Laos, built biosand water filters for a project in Cambodia, co-founded a mud built, permacultural hostel in Lombok, slept on the steps of temples in Thailand and parks in Hong Kong, ate sea cucumber in China, played drums at an end-of-Ramadan punk rock block party in Tetebatu, felt the otherworldly silence deep in the bowels of Borneo's Niah Cave, swam with a head full of acid for Christmas on Koh Phi Phi, vomited with a hundred other addicts for weeks at the infamous Thamkrabok Detox outside Bangkok, crashed bikes, overstayed visas, forged many friendships, and experienced the kindness and unconditional hospitality of countless people who have known me for only five minutes.

steemit6.jpg

Throughout these times, I would invariably be found at some point in the day, streetside with a coffee, coconut, or beer, scribbling in a journal or pecking away at my laptop, trying to make some kind of sense out of all the new, bizarre, and wonderful things I was surrounded by.

steemit 5.jpg

I'm a big fan of museums, libraries, and galleries, as well. Sometimes I sneak a bottle of rum in and make a day out of it. Back in 2008, I earned a degree in Comparative Religion from Goddard College, a small, uber-progressive school that allows you to essentially create your own curriculum, and traveling has always been a study-abroad experience, an opportunity to learn as much as I can about the places I find myself in: their histories, traditions, arts, foods, politics, modes of being and ways of interacting with one another.

I am fascinated by how religious and spirituality influence cultural traditions and daily life, whether it is Buddhism in Thailand, Islam in Indonesia, Confucian and Taoist traditions in China, Christianity in Timor Leste, animism in Borneo, and so forth.

steemit9.jpg

I have written and kept journals since I was a kid, including a novel based on my travels (called Mystic Fool) and hundreds of articles on travel and culture.

steemit8.jpg

On Land of 1000 Smiles, I will write about my experiences, and the things I learn along the way.

steemit1.jpg

I hope to hear your stories, comments and questions, and most importantly, I hope you enjoy the ride!

Sort:  

Hello, Andy, and Welcome to Steemit.

As a writer, you'll find that Steemit is surely the finest platform to get your writing seen, read, and appreciated. (And you'll earn some Steem on the side.)

And from your intro, it's clear that you have many fascinating and even some bizarre experiences to keep your audience entertained.


Below are a few basic points of advice re posting on Steemit.

  1. Longer posts are more lucrative than short posts. If you make a post of 20–30 paragraphs, it's more likely to earn rewards.
  2. Include some photos, images or graphs, to complement the text.
  3. Make sure the text and photos are formatted properly, so that your post looks attractive and appealing.
  4. Be yourself.
  5. Be interesting and informative.
  6. Create quality content. Steemit is intended to be a platform of quality content. (You will see many insignificant posts with meager content and no quality. Most of those of posts [called “shitposts” by Steemit whale Stellabelle] will earn few rewards and soon pass into oblivion.)
  7. Get online and start curating. Read various posts, comment on those posts you find interesting, and upvote those posts. That’s the best way to attract followers.

Hope this helps for now. Good luck, and Full Steem Ahead!

Excellent advice, sir/madam! Thank you!

One more point. Submitting photos in the various photo contests is a great way to earn a bit of Steem and to attract followers. Here are links to 2 contests.

@photocontests, organized by @juliank
#tepchallenge, organized by @theexplorer

p.s. "maJes.ty" == "James...", kinda. That is, I'm male ;-)

right... it's James :) I just realize it now :p

Hah sorry gotcha, thanks for the information, James!

Hi, there welcome to steemit @landof1000smiles or should I say Andy, how are you? I'm so happy to welcome a new steemian like you who has a lot of experiences to share. =)
I am so happy knowing that you flew from the US just to teach English in Korea and help them boost their confidence. The fact that you've been traveling and you mention that you have a journal which all the experiences that you had is written, that would really help. I hope to see more of your blogs and tips maybe in traveling since I love to travel. I've been to Thailand, Singapore and Hong Kong but never been in Korea. =)

Hey, thanks for the encouraging words! I will be posting my experiences every couple days right here. You are from the Philippines? I have never been but have always wanted to. It is so similar to Indonesia and other countries, yet so far away and different.

Welcome to Steemit from Indonesia, this is an amazing platform for creativity and imagination. Share, comment and make friends

Hi, thanks for the welcoming words. Do you go to Jakarta often?

Great introduction! hope you like it here and will do well. Always looking for travelminded people here, will keep an eye out for your posts.
I traveled for four years and am back home now in Amsterdam thinking about my next move want to go on the road soon again!
do post about my experiences as well.
You might also like @world-travel-pro, good friends and non stop traveler

Hey Haas! Your trip through the American west and California looks amazing. I love driving through that part of the States. I'm looking forward to seeing your upcoming adventures. Nice to meet you, and happy trails!

Thanks I really enjoyed it, was a bonding trip with my dad.
Keep up the work on Steemit, many people quit fast because it will not be rewarding at the start.
Saw many great accoutnts just give up fast.

Looking forward to hearing about your travels, insights and adventures!

Wow! What a life! Can't wait to read more about your stories. Very nice to meet you, Andy! 😊

Your trip to Vietnam looks like it was amazing! I want to visit Sung Sot Cave. Nice to meet you, too!

welcome to join in steemit, welcome to asia, had come to aceh.

Are you from Aceh? Your stuff looks great- and I saw some bahasa in there.

yeah right, i'm from aceh.
Aceh province consists of 23 districts.
from 23 districts there are several tribes, which also have tribal languages respectively ...
Terimong genaseh--terima kasih--thanks

I want to go to Aceh very much. Sampai jumpah mas!

Congratulations @landof1000smiles, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?


Welcome to Steemit @landof1000smiles!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Welcome to steem, i wish you luck on your journey. Here are some tools to help you out.
First:
https://steemworld.org/@landof1000smiles
an interactive page that gives you a better overall overview of what is really happening on your steem page.
And second:
https://steemengine.net/join?r=2639
Steemengine is a good site for helping you get more followers and upvotes on your posts.
Well i hope this helped you out a bit.

I'll look into this, thanks.

You're welcome ✌️ i hope they help you grow

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63931.73
ETH 2663.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84