Let me Introduce myself to the Steemit Community (Original images)

Hi everyone!!

My name is Jean-Louis and I'm a photographer from Tracadie-Sheila, a small town on the east coast of Canada. I've been introduced to Steemit by one of my friends who knew that it would be a great platform for me. My main contribution to the community will be original images that I have created as a landscape and wildlife photographer.

At times, I’ll maybe also post about my other interests in life such as beer league hockey, offroading (I’m the proud owner of a banged up Jeep Wrangler), music (especially local band/artists) and many more that you will hear about in the following weeks or months.

I’m not a fast writer, but I try to deliver quality every time I write some thing. I won’t be the guy who posts 3 times a day, and you’ll rarely see images that I took the same day or week. I’m not a photojournalist, I don’t have the opportunity to shoot great pictures everyday. But don’t worry, my picture library is respectable in size and I will have plenty of time to produce new material before I go thru all my already existing material.

I will mainly post in english, but my native language is french, so you can discuss with me in french if you want! I’m not only a french Canadian, I am an Acadian. I’ll talk about what it means to be an Acadian in length in some future post, but I’ve linked the wiki page for now.

I’ve been on the platform for 2 weeks now and I really enjoyed the content and the vibes . I didn’t make my first post until now, because I wanted to read the white paper before starting. I can’t say that I understood everything, but I get the general idea and I like it!

I’ve been around from the beginning of social media, I was 19 when Facebook appeared. It was great at first but it became, for me, a total waste of time. Same thing for Reddit, great idea but it wasn’t engaging for me, so I never posted.

When I discovered Steemit, I almost couldn’t believe it. For a landscape/wildlife photographer like me, it is very hard to make money from digital images, Steemit is a new alternative for the distribution of my images online. I've been selling framed prints localy thru small exposition for the last 4 years. I've always dreamed of making my own prints and frames, but for now I have to outsource those 2 key elements of my final product. I honestly love the result, and I now completely trust my print shop and frame shop (sadly their shop burned down 6 months ago, I just hope they will reopen someday).

I am a self taught photographer, photography has been my main hobby since I was 15. I started with a 35mm camera bought used, for 10 years as I could only afford that. Then, 5 years ago I bough my first DSLR (it was a Canon 5D classic). For me it was a big jump, my learning curve went thru the roof. After that, I never looked back. I won't talk much about my gear right now (it will come), but I will say that I use Canon DSLR and L serie lenses, Manfrotto tripod and Lee filters. I'm a total gear head, and I would love to help people with photography gear questions, but remember I don't know everything :).

I hope you liked what you saw and I will see you guys around!
Peace out!

Sort:  

Great start @labelkill, keep up the good work! I appreciate that you're in for the quality and not quantity of posts.

Thank you very much! Its nice to hear about people like you who understand the value of a quality post. :)

Excellent Photography! Look forward to seeing some of your entries into the Steemit Photo Challenge
upvote_initiative.png
100% UpVoted & Re-steemed! More about the Initiative here...
Remember To Vote blueorgy for witness!

Thanks! I'll be joining the Steemit Photo Challenge soon :)

Hello Jean-Louis, great introduction, welcome to Steemit :-)

Wonderful photos.

Wish I have a full frame camera to take pictures, but for now I have to make them with my phone —a Huawei P9— and my Phantom 3 Adv. But more important than the camera... Wish I have the talent some of you have to make those great photos.

Greetings from Mexico and welcome to Steemit my friend.

Thank you for your kind words, and the camera is not important if you enjoy taking pictures ;)

Welcome to Steemit!

Wishing you great success on here! :)

Thanks you very much!

Welcome to steemit, Jean-Louis!

WOW, amazing photos. I honestly was never a guy that purposely sought out photographers or artwork in general, but in the past 2 weeks here on steemit I've seen such incredible photos (including yours) thats making me think I want an entire room of them, haha. With your quality of photos, you'll be a great contributor to the awesome community of photographers here.

Thanks for sharing, and I wish you the best of luck on here!

Thank you very much! I'm really excited to contribute to the community :)

Welcome to Steem @labelkill I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Thanks for the tip, I'll try to remember you ;)

Welcome to the Steemit community, @Labelkill:) Wish you much luck! Cheers! Follow me !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66599.03
ETH 3421.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63