Just a little piece from me to you all - Intro to me

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hi there, Steemit community! I’m Kim, a 20 year old, South African Expat living in Cambodia. I’m all about travel, advice, solutions, personal finance answers and want to share it with those of you who feel a bit underprepared.

IMG20170831144429.jpg

I was born in a coastal town, but I moved around a bit and grew up on a family farm in Pretoria, South Africa with my family, all my cousins, uncles, aunts and grandparents. I am the middle child of 3 siblings and fully have middle child syndrome.

20180102_150515.jpg

I grew up in an adventurous family who loved adventure sports. Horse riding, motocross and scuba diving were our go-to activities. Funny enough, I am a serial over thinker, have a huge fear of not making progress and a lover of planning, which clearly shows my miss match of character traits in one space i.e. @KursiveKim.

1 year ago I moved to Cambodia to push myself out of my comfort zone and put some plans into action, and I haven’t looked back. Since being here, I have become a teacher, started a small tutoring business and become a long-distance university student.

27604879_10159870893725456_915080964_o.jpg

I am a huge believer of energy. Don’t pull a face yet, there’s hope for me I promise. I just mean that I believe in the intrinsic value of people and this world and would like to think of myself as the positive utilitarianist. You will see this theme is almost all of my writing.

Empowering people is my favourite past-time. I specialize in problem-solving and pep talking. I think empathy is a very important skill to have as a human being and that we should be builders, not breakers, of one another. I have an intense gravitation to self-development, new ideas and personal connection. I am also a total motor mouth and consider talking as one of my skills.

Here’s what you can expect + some extra:

Personal finance

I am studying financial management and have discovered that my #onegoal is financial freedom. We’ve all heard advice from those generations before us, “it takes money to make money”, “don’t spend money on XYZ” and “start early or you’ll fall behind”. I am here to decipher the code to financial freedom and want to share my revelations with you.

Investing in yourself

My other love is finding the right investments. I am an inbetweener of the Millennials and Generation Zeners. We are in constant product overload and my practical senses are tested daily. I am on a quest to weed through the rubbish and find the building blocks of sustainability, happiness and value building. I will be writing about clothes, tech, living, education, you name it, in order to find the best places to invest in for your growth.

27604893_477270852687459_1988393151_o.jpg

Business solutions

I am the founder of World English Tutors based in Phnom Penh. I have enjoyed nothing more than becoming my own boss and figuring out the way, even if it was mostly stumbling. I will be sharing my journey, discoveries, tips and tricks to my operation, implementation and development of ideas for my business.

Travel

Living in South-east Asia has given me a unique opportunity. The cost of living is low, travel cost is manageable and location is perfect. These perfect conditions have created my new outlook on travel. IT IS NOT A LUXURY FOR THE RICH! I feel so many people see travel as this unreachable Instagram post and I want to set the record straight. If a poor student like me can find a way, so can you. In the last year I have explored Bangkok, Phuket and Cambodia and this year I am planning on setting foot in Kuala Lumphur by April, Indonesia by August and a new region by the end of the year. My type of travel is for the day dreamers. I enjoy taking the time to understand an area and take in the energy of my surroundings. I hope you will join me along the way.

20171231_122959.jpg

Energy is what drove me to STEEMIT and nothing has felt more right. I have been in search of a creative outlet and just as was giving up, my significant other introduced me to it. This is the first platform that I can visualize blogging on. Since I am driven by goals I can visualize and understand, all the pieces fell into place and I was able to immediately put my soul into the writing. Getting my procrastinating-self going is 90% of the job, so this is meant to be.

So here it is, my mission on STEEMIT.

I want to use this platform as tool for turning my unending questions, enthusiastic research and epiphanies into useful information that my fellow millennials/gen Zener’s can use to try figure out their own questions. This blog will be the death of my procrastination.

27535986_10159870893315456_1304692584_o.jpg

I can’t wait to dive in and meet all you lovely people.

Message you soon,
Xx Kim

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit, I am sure you will love it here!
Resteemed you via @welcoming!
Greets!

Wow it’s tremendous the help and exposure @welcoming is able to do for newbies! How do I get in on that!! 😃

Thank you for the resteem Xx

Welcome to the platform. Nice to meet you as well.

Welcome to steemit, am sure you will enjoy it here on steemit community, pls feel free to follow me @greatman4eva

Hi Kim! welcome, I'm new too, Let's learn together :-)

Hello @kursivekimberly and welcome to Steemit and the Steem Blockchain!

I wish you a successful time here!

Welcome to steemit, kim. Great introduceyourself post. Looks like you are a woman with a plan. Looking forward for your pists, specially on personal finance.

I am working on a personal finance post at this moment. Watch this space @jrcentral

Welcome to Steemit, Kim. Here you can convert all that energy into Steem! I'm sure you'll love it here. :)

Hey Kim,

I am creating support group for those who are new to Steemit and I’m looking for people who want to help me get it up and running.

If your interested- hit up the link below and leave a comment that you’re interested.

Thank!!
click here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 55994.52
ETH 3002.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12