From Loser To Winner, From Bag Holding To Steemit . My Brief Crypto Journey

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

First, A little reminder of what I do in life. For the past 8 years I have been working as a newspaper delivery man, every single night. It is a 7 days/week job and the only time I do not work throughout the year are the 24-25th of December and the 1st and 2nd of January. You can imagine how hard it is and this is mostly why I started gaining interest in the possibility of investing some money into a decent and viable project.

My Crypto journey

It all started 3 years ago, My life consisted of going to work, coming back home , pay my bills and repeat. This is when I started looking out for potential investments to possibly give me some kind of financial freedom and see where It would lead me. I had heard about Bitcoin before but never really got into it , I wasn't really motivated to go and seek more information about it. I had no free time, and my only free time was not worth having me sit in front of a laptop and research a concept which I knew nothing about.

One day, about 2 years ago, a friend introduced me to a cryptocurrency project, actually not really a friend more of an acquaintance. Before you start questioning yourself, I am not trying to promote this crypto it's the complete opposite. The cryptocurrency he introduced me was based on the concept of being paid to interact just like Steemit but in a very different environment. A messenger. The cryptocurrency in question was Gemz. He sold it to me, I believed his words " It is the next big thing, it will become big" I jumped in with 2000 $ at the crowdfunding phase.

I probably invested too much since my own it represented over 40% of my savings. That was my way out of this boring and tiring job I had ( and still have) but my experience with my first cryptocurrency turned very badly.
Today my 2000$ investment is barely valued at 200$. The development of the cryptocurrency in question have stalled ridiculously. Seeking for answers , I was never able to find any that would satisfy me. The lack of transparency made me feel powerless and I felt scammed. I was envious of other people successes with other coins and pretty much cursed my life for not being able to get something to work in my favor.

I tried to forget about Gemz and went on looking for other crypto, I have been going up and down but never really made any significant progress seeking a bit of financial freedom. This is when I finally ended up on Steemit.

Where did I hear about Steemit?

The irony is, I heard about steemit on the very first cryptocurrency I ever invested in. While using the GetGems messenger, I have noticed a member introducing steemit and how he made 500$ with a single comment. How could I even believe this " bs" I told myself. I finally decided to give it a look and make an account, It all seemed rigged at first, thinking there was no way people are actually making money in here, until my 6th post went viral.

In one single post, I have been able to recoup my losses for the very first cryptocurrency I every held, a 2000 $ loss won back and this coming from a community I once doubted.

This is my short personal story about how successful I have been so far in Steemit, clearly hoping I can keep up this trend and eventually be able to look forward into financial freedom!

See you Steemians!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit! I'm sure there are many stories of investments (or simply holding coins on exchanges) that went bad throughout the seven years crypto has been around. I've found stability as a Dash (and now STEEM) supporter, but before that I've taken my lumps. It will help newbs to read stories like this.

Thats why I decided to write it, Normally I would have quit crypto already if it wasn't for steemit. I had no success so far, so basically I am given the chance of a fresh start here.

Thank you !

Nice post, I'm sad to hear about Gemz, I used to hold some and sold for profit and I've followed the whole debacle on Bitcointalk...those guys should be held accountable.

The worst part here is how they switched and twisted everything that was initially planned. From the attention economy to the poor telegram advertising channels. From The built from scratch app to the copy cat telegram source code. And now they have switched their whole attention to work on something called paykey, did you hear about it?

Yes that was the beginning of the end, they started working on that side project and basically abandoned Gemz. The app actually had a lot of users supposedly (they didn't even knew what a cryptocurrency was). Something similar happens here at Steemit, many newcomers to the world of crypto. Let's just hope the story has a different ending.

It was original, I'm going to upvote this.

You know posting this on every post is the best way of losing your reputation? Writing this just in case your not a bot

No dont bot

Welcome to Steemit @kuriko!

Steemit has a BOT problem! Your Vote Counts!

Here is more information & where to vote!

https://steemit.com/steemit/@weenis/bots-steemit-s-first-community-based-decision-on-bots-your-vote-counts-to-be-or-not-to-be-details-inside

Good Luck!,
steemit.tips

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63026.81
ETH 3462.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51