Hey Steemit, Introducing Myself!steemCreated with Sketch.

Hello, fellow Steemians

_DSC0068 (1).jpg

My name is Ivana Rivera.

I’m a wife, mother, daughter, sister, and friend who’s hobbies are vegetarian cooking, organizing, gardening, homeschooling my 2 beautiful children and researching information about Lyme Disease, health, ​and nutrition. Finding the balance to do all of this is tricky but at the end of the day, it’s worth it. I try my best to keep the house clean, sane and well kept....well, sometimes 😉

I moved with my family from the Bronx, NY to Michigan seven years ago. It was a big decision for my husband (@theferalone) and I, going from the big city to a small town in the middle of nowhere. My husband and I got married in 2008 and decided to get pregnant 4 months after being married. Raising a child in the city didn’t seem to fit right in my mind. We started searching for a place of our own that would fit our growing family. But in a safe neighborhood they were all out of our price range. Around the same time, my husband’s parents were looking to move to Michigan and we decided to help them look for houses online. We couldn’t believe how little it was to own a house in Michigan. We sat down, talked it over and made the decision to move. 6 months later we owned a beautiful house and 18 acres of land plus half a pond. Whoop!

I’m an entrepreneur who started my own brand of herbal non-toxic bath and body products. I opened my Etsy shop October 2016 and it was a pretty big deal for me. The passion for making nontoxic bath and body products came from articles and videos I saw about the chemicals that were in all of the cosmetics and house hold cleaners we were using in our home. I took it upon myself to learn how to make non-toxic bath and body necessities for my family.

At the time I started my small business, I was recovering from Lyme Disease but that didn’t stop me from following my dream. Honestly, I think that having something to do like that distracted me from the pain I was in. Following my dream helped me through. In March 2016, my youngest brother passed away, he had been struggling with severe Cerebral Palsy all his life. His passing brought about severe anxiety for me which lead to a series of panic attacks. My health continued to spiral down as I began experiencing other symptoms: heart palpitations, tremors, chills, joint pain, panic attacks, severe anxiety, hot flashes, muscle twitching, muscles contracting, nerve pain, intense brain fog, ringing in my ears, chest pressure, air hunger, mood changes, loss of appetite, intense fatigue, headaches, dizziness, night sweats, sleep disturbances, sensitivity to light and more. It took almost a full year, but I was finally diagnosed with Lyme Disease. I will continue to document my journey with Lyme.

My future posts will consist of vegetarian recipes, my journey through Lyme disease, my non-toxic cosmetic products, my experiences and advice as a young woman entrepreneur, gardening, and maybe some homeschooling tips!

Thanks for reading!


You can also find me on Instagram and Facebook

Sort:  

Hello, welcome

Hey Ivana,
glad to see you join the way of your husband and joining Steemit! I think you will be definitely a huge addon to to #health section!
Checl out @steembay, maybe you can sell a few of your products via its auction service to get to know people here faster - And you can also build some power by doing so!
I have resteemed you via @welcoming, an account which shares promising new users to it's followers! Check it out to see who else is joining this amazing platform :)
Greets!

Thank you so much for this information!

Hey @kokibyivana welcome to steemit! Have you heard of Teasel? I don't know about your region but here in the Pacific North West it's a wild invasive, spiky plant. A tincture of the first year root is good for helping eliminate/suppress Lyme disease. I learned this from Susun Weed, one of my herbal heros. Here is a video of Susun talking about Teasel for Lyme If you search Susun Weed Lyme you will find other good info that might help in your research! Looking forward to your future posts on homesteading topics

Hello! I haven’t heard of that plant but would love to learn more about it. Thanks so much for this information!

You're welcome, I hope it helps you!

Thought of you when I just saw this post that mentions Steven Buhner and his research in healing Lyme Disease with herbs.

Hi Ivana, good to see you have made your intro post now.

I'm interested to learn more about Lyme Disease. I didn't know much about it until I heard that the YouTuber Justin Rhodes had it.

Hey! Thanks for all your help yesterday. I’ll check Justin Rhodes out, thank you for that info.

Welcome to Steemit, and the Homesteaders community. Looking forward to seeing you on the front porch DISCORD and chatting with you, and looking forward to reading your blog posts.

Thank you! :-) Will be posting soon.

Welcome to steemit! Nice to see another gardener joining the ranks here!

Looking forward to you sharing recipes and posts about your family.

Hello! Yes, I always get giddy when I meet anyone that is passionate about gardening. Isn’t it lovely?

Thanks for reading!

Welcome to Steem my love!

giphy.gif

You are seriously the BEST!

Welcome to SteemIt! Just found you and your husband on here, and I have to say, much of our journeys seem to be quite similar. We moved out of the city this summer for much the same reasons! We almost moved to Michigan, actually, but ended up in Missouri. We'll be following your journey too!

How awesome! Where did you live in Michigan?

We never lived in Michigan--we were originally from Northeast Ohio. We had played with the thought of buying a bunch of old, abandoned lots in Detroit and making them live again, but ended up in the Ozarks (not a bad place to be!) Looking forward to hearing about your adventures up there!

Got cha, got cha! Sorry, misread your comment the first time. That's awesome though. I'll follow you to keep up on your adventures as well. :)

Welcome to this amazing platform! all the best for you.

Thanks a bunch! 🙂

Oooh, I am excited to see your cosmetic products! I had the inkling to get into soap-making a while back and just didn't have the capital to purchase the supplies to get started. Welcome and best of luck!

Awww, thanks! My site is www.koki.life

I know oh so well about start up costs but if you can get some money somehow to help build up start up costs, go for it! 😃

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57408.28
ETH 3079.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31