New to Steemit – South Aussie mumma / thirst for creativity and adventure / drive for knowledge and purpose

c_slape_2.jpg

Em Hotep!

Hello Steemit community! Since hearing about Steemit, I’ve been eager to get on board and explore. So to start my introduction, here’s a fun little snapshot of a few words to summarise me. #introduceyourself

Fast facts:

  • Modern Hippy with a streak of revolutionist activism
  • South Aussie nature enthusiast
  • Spiritual practitioner and medium
  • Artisan and vegetarian foodie
  • Artist, musician and creative
  • Travel addict with a long bucket list
  • Myer Briggs #INFJ personality type

I tend to describe myself as a modern hippy. I enjoy living a bohemian lifestyle yet and an early adopter of technologies, particularly when there’s a greater societal benefit. I am political activist that cares for the #environment. I embrace a lot of alternative products and technologies that reduce waste that reduces or prevents environmental harm. I enjoy a #permaculture lifestyle and would like to explore building #eco housing.

earthship.jpg
Picture of me volunteering with building an Earthship

I’ve spent most of my life living in the beautiful landscape of South Australia. Until recently, I lived in the majestic Adelaide Hills. Brimming with wildlife and natural surroundings, I enjoyed summer evenings sitting by our creek; listening to frogs croak and songs of an array of birdlife settling in the trees.

creek.jpg
Picture of our Adelaide Hills creek

The Adelaide Hills produces an array of high quality food and drinks. From apples, cherries, cheeses and milk to wine, craft beers and cider; our little town of Lobethal puts on an amazing #artisan spread. Naturally, once you get used to the good stuff, you become a bit of a #foodie.

I’ve been between a #vegetarian / vegan / aquatarian lifestyle for almost 20 years. I really enjoy creating decadent meals from scratch. I tend to follow a clean eating style by cooking meals with whole food ingredients and aim to consume minimal processed food. I find this eating style makes me feel really energized and #healthy. I would be happy to share a few of my favourite recipes for tasty, clean, vegetarian meals.

In September 2017, I embarked on a sea change and now live nearby one of Adelaide’s most beautiful sandy beaches. So far this summer we’ve enjoyed regular visits to Brighton beach; making sandcastles with my husband and daughter, enjoying the perfect sunny days on the sand and keeping cool in the ocean.

beach.jpg
Picture of our local beach

In 2018, I plan to explore the greater world with #travel abroad later in the year. So far I’m leaning towards traveling to Mexico, Peru, Egypt, Morocco, Spain and Norway. I really love to immerse myself in culture and local traditions when I travel so I’ll be spending some time in the next few months researching each destination to find unique experiences off the tourist track. I’d like to do an ancestry pilgrimage based on my Ancestry.com DNA results which is spread across Europe. I suspect this might not happen in 2018 - but who knows, the world you live in can change in an instant.

My drive for living a life with purpose has always led me to maintaining a #spiritual connection and lifestyle. Whilst my personal theology has evolved over many years, it currently sits in a belief of hard polytheism and practicing African traditional or diaspora religions such as #Kemeticism and #Sanse vodou. Most of my practice involves #reconstructionist devotional rites and connection with ancestors or #spirits through trance mediumship work.

ankh.jpg
Kemetic altar

As a natural #medium, I’ve experienced spirit visitations and messages since I was a child. As I ventured into my spiritual path during my teenage years, my skills became more apparent and I began to experience deeper connections over time. In recent years I have stepped into full unity mediumship work; which is hard on the body to say the least. It’s something I am adjusting to and recently reaching a point of acceptance with this is part of my life. I attend regular mediumship classes to assist in developing my skill which provides me with an outlet for practice but also reduces the impromptu visits when I am not able to do the work.

When I get a moment outside of my work for remote Aboriginal communities, family and social commitments; other activities I enjoy are #yoga, #drumming, binge watching #tv shows, creative arts (visual #art and clay #sculpting) and crafts (#sewing and #crochet).

crochet.jpg
Crochet mandala vest I made

I’m not really sure what element of my world I’ll blog about just yet. I’d prefer to add value to the resources on this site and contribute something unique. I’ve spent some time looking at advice pages and how to Steemit posts. It’s become apparent to me that the most important thing I can do here is to be my #authentic self. So we’ll see where this goes. Meanwhile – I found a great support group #teamaustralia that’s helped me get up and running.

I’d be interested to hear about what elements of my world the #Steemit community would like me to write more about.

Senebty

Kiya

C_Slape.jpg

Sort:  

Spiritual and veggie life is the solution to everything! welcome and bless! ✌

Hi @kiyanymaatre, welcome to steemit! We have a pretty strong Team Australia community going here on steemit to support each other. If you'd like to be part of it, then please check out this link for the instructions on how to join https://steemit.com/teamaustralia/@choogirl/team-australia-new-recruits-update-31-01-18-and-i-m-famous-by-proxy

excellent - great to have a few Aussie connections. Cheers!

Welcome to the platform, I wish everything work out for you. It’s not easy here but not difficult neither but just ask an extra effort, engagement is the key good luck I’m @zohaibkhan Start by following people and they will do the same.

thanks for the warm welcome! I've spent a few days just trying to get my head around how to use the platform and looking forward to building new networks and learning a few things along the way. :)

Cheers @paganlord, I just checked out your blog, you make my love of metal music look like folk rock with your posts. Will take some time to go through some of your recommendations.

im happy that you like my blog) lets follow to each other on steem)))

Hi @kiyanymaatre ! Great post, i like it, i just upvoted it ! PS: you may like to follow me ... @legsnheels

thanks @legsnheels - I will head over and check your blog out soon :)

Its great to have another local! Welcome!

Hello Kiya :)
We run a steem meetup on the last Thursday of each month, in the beer garden at the Jade on Flinders St.

Next one is on March 29th, from 6pm.
Please join us any time you're free, or hit me up if you have any questions.

Hi @kiyanymaatre

Next Adelaide Steemit meetup is this Thursday 31st of May 2018!

6pm onwards @ The Jade 142-160 Flinders Street.

Further details about the meetup can be found here

Hope to see you there, have a great day :) Stef aka @o07

Congratulations @kiyanymaatre! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58478.70
ETH 3158.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43