Woooo Hoooo... my very first post! I've finally pressed POST !

Yay!!!.......I’m finally here ! I’ve made it to the Steemit platform ......at last!

A BIG hello to you Steemians from a new arrival! A brand new journey has started for me today and it’s exciting! I have no idea if i’ll be any good at this, but, I’m gonna give it a go and keep that learning curve in mind! My partner @alanfreestone is an active Steemian and was at Steemfest2 in Lisbon last year (he thought it was brilliant). He has been encouraging me to get started on my first post, for what seems like aaaaaages. So here goes!

Here we are, old and new Steemians.
Snowfall March 2018 - off to Costa to enjoy a walk in the snow and register on Steemit over a cuppa.

rsz_rsz_1rsz_copy_of_img_20180304_155615_968.jpg

Thank you to #kr #introduceyourself # for the Steemit banners (I borrowed Alan's, perks of knowing a Steemian)!

rsz_1rsz_1img_20180311_192713_561.jpg

I’d also like to thank @fitzgibbons for taking the time to set up a new account for me. It was really nice of you to help. Alan and I were sat in Costa (after the Beast from the East had calmed down and we were no longer snowed in) with terrible wifi and we were not getting anywhere fast, so your help was much appreciated. Just to put this into context, I had registered for a Steemit account several weeks ago, but...I forgot my password (arrgghhh) and consequently faced quite a few technical issues in setting up again.
@fizgibbons fixed the technical bits really quickly and this is take 2 !

2018-03-03 14.29.22.jpg

So, why am I on Steemit?

Well…. I've been using Facebook regularly for 8 years and enjoy sharing my thoughts, experiences, and adventures with a large(ish) amount of friends/followers and though I appreciate this platform is different to social media sites, I fancied a go! In doing so, I might add a few strings to my bow and hopefully make some new Steemian friends along the way, that, would be fabulous!

Who’s kiranmahay2 apart from just another newbie to Steemit?......

Well, I’m 42. My parents were born in the Punjab, in North India. They travelled to the UK, 57 years ago to start a new life, raise a family and I was their baby number 8! I live in Walsall, a little town 7 miles away from Birmingham (England).

I have a degree in Psychology, a background in Law and working for the NHS. I’ve been working in the office of a large Primary School for the last 3 years in Health & Safety which doesn't stretch me or match my skill set, but, it fits with being a single parent and juggling raising school aged children while working (oh and I get 6 weeks off in the so-called British Summer with my children and all the other school holidays throughout the year) so for now, it works. I have a daughter aged 12, and a son aged almost 10, so daily life consists of working during school hours and being a full time mum-on-the-go!

My career passion lies in family law. I hope to pursue this as my children get older as I will have more time to invest in my personal development again in addition to dealing with the teenage years!

I divorced my ex-husband 8 years ago, after 8 years of marriage. Petitioning for a divorce with young children aged only 1 and 4 was a massive decision and going the through the family legal system was a turbulent time, not to mention, extremely expensive. Paying for increasing legal fees as a family case snowballs, is incredibly difficult. But, I got through that time in my life and I met Alan 3 years ago. I’m happy to say …....life is good! (Though the ex-husband initiated a fresh set of legal proceedings against me in 2016 and I was back in court last year. (I think that experience may well be another post for another day).

My friends describe me as the “glam one”. I love style, fashion and lots of sparkle ! I’m an Aquarian through and through - definitely the extrovert in the room, (add Prosecco and it’s definitely party time)!

A bit of Indian glam.......
rsz_1rsz_12018-03-08_174945.jpg

I love to dance. I’m known for taking over the dancefloor, especially with my indian dancing! I get my love of dancing from my mum who’s now 73 and who will still, despite her painful arthritis, get on that dance floor with me for a twirl! She’s the original dancing queen and most certainly, the centre of my world.

My mum.....
rsz_1rsz_20160416_140423.jpg

And..... the show always go on! Ready to dance the night away at my niece's wedding.
rsz_1rsz_1img_20170502_202131_314-1-2.jpg

I love genres such as soul, motown, funk, jazz and artists such as John Legend, Jennifer Hudson, Emile Sande, Adelle, Sam Smith, Pulloma Faith….oh the list just goes on!

I also love photography, I don’t have any fancy equipment though. I just love capturing a moment in a still picture.

I enjoy event planning and have been known to create some effective backdrops/scene setters for special occasions/themed parties. This brings out the perfectionist in me!

I’m hoping to try new things this year, and I’ve started with Steemit! (Oh and venturing out in Alan’s new camper van to festivals)! That’s on the to-do list and will be an absolute first for me! I’m sure I'll post about that along the way! (I'll be working on my festival look and choosing accessories for the camper as Alan works on the manual conversion)!

Here's to meeting you all on my new journey.

Thank you for reading my first post! (phew.....it's done)!

Cheers!

Kiran.

Sort:  

Hi there @kiranmahay2 !! Welcome to Steemit.

I have just sent you 15 STEEM. You should power it up. If you don't know how, ask @alanfreestone

Thank you! Yes, I will definitely need to ask Alan, this is very new territory for me (for the time being)! K .

You CLEARLY already have all the festival dress you need! You will blow peoples minds with your awesome saris and badass Indian dance moves! Welcome to Steemit :) I met Alan in Lisbon and thoroughly enjoyed his company. I even plan to take some of his medical advice someday..... ;) Perhaps we will all meet at a Steemit meetup in Birmingham! :D x

Hey! Awwwwwww, thankyou for the awesome compliments and your warm welcome to Steemit! Ahhhhh so you know Alan already from your time in Lisbon, that's great! He's definitely an expert for your homeopathy needs so you'd be in the best hands if you ever needed his advice. I look forward to meeting you in Brum soon ! Thanks for reading my post! K x

Hello and welcome. Happy to see you made it all the way here. Must have been Alan bragging about steemit too much. I can imagine! Hope you will like the space and make yourself comfortable. All the best and one more welcome for you.

Hello and thank you for your welcome! It's definitely taken me ages to get here and YES, Alan has been bragging about Steemit (all the time)! haha! I'm hoping I will get comfy in this space soon, it might take me a while to get used to things! Thank you for reading my first post! K

Nice

Thank you for reading my first post! K

Woff, woff!

Hello @kiranmahay2, Nice to meet you!

I'm a guide dog living in KR community. I can see that you want to contribute to KR community and communicate with other Korean Steemians. I really appreciate it and I'd be more than happy to help.

KR tag is used mainly by Koreans, but we give warm welcome to anyone who wish to use it. I'm here to give you some advice so that your post can be viewed by many more Koreans. I'm a guide dog after all and that's what I do!

Tips:

  • If you're not comfortable to write in Korean, I highly recommend you write your post in English rather than using Google Translate.
    Unfortunately, Google Translate is terrible at translating English into Korean. You may think you wrote in perfect Korean, but what KR Steemians read is gibberish. Sorry, even Koreans can't understand your post written in Google-Translated Korean.
  • So, here's what might happen afterward. Your Google-Translated post might be mistaken as a spam so that whales could downvote your post. Yikes! I hope that wouldn't happen to you.
  • If your post is not relevant to Korea, not even vaguely, but you still use KR tag, Whales could think it as a spam and downvote your post. Double yikes!
  • If your post is somebody else's work(that is, plagiarism), then you'll definitely get downvotes.
  • If you keep abusing tags, you may be considered as a spammer. It may result to put you into the blacklist. Oops!

I sincerely hope that you enjoy Steemit without getting downvotes. Because Steemit is a wonderful place. See? Korean Steemians are kind enough to raise a guide dog(that's me) to help you!

Woff, woff! 🐶

Welcome to steemit!
I am a bot built for the purposes of welcoming new users! You are receiving this message as you have used the #introduceyourself tag! I know that steemit may seem very overwhelming to you right now but don't worry. There's a learning curve to everything so just be patient and you'll be churning out posts and becoming a part of something great in no time!

Also if there are any questions that you may have, then just ask your questions on any of my blog posts and I'll be more than happy to assist you with whatever questions you may have! I will also be creating a basic starting out guide for all minnows and newcomers on my blog so do give it a read as that might help answer many of your questions!

Have fun and I wish you LOADS of success on here! :)

Also. you can call upon originalworks whenever something you post is your own content like this: @originalworks

Regards
@welcome-to-steem

Told you I'd get here....at some stage ! K x

전혀이해가안돼!


Welcome to Steemit @kiranmahay2!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Wonderful long introduction. The saris are beautiful.

Welcome to steemit!

Thank you for the comment and compliment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62943.85
ETH 2464.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55