Introduction : A Traveler and Storyteller

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

21568856_127456244569325_6628714192339730432_n.jpg

“Where do you see yourself in 5 years?”
“Experiencing culture, traveling and sharing stories about it”

As I was growing up, I was always been known to wander off, I was a daydreamer. I never stuck with the norms and all I wanted to do was travel and discover new things, and it all started with a National Geographic documentary about the End of the World.

Hey Steemit! My name is Jaiun and I’m a 22-year old freelance writer, project manager and events organizer based in the Philippines. When I’m not working, I think about traveling. I have always developed this passion to explore and travel when I was young. When I was around 9, it was one cold rainy morning and I decided to turn on the TV, I stumbled upon this National Geographic documentary that narrated the Second Coming of Jesus, this is where my interest in history sparked. I have always been a writer by heart just like my father, ever since my Dad bought me my first Nancy Drew book at the age of 11, it inspired me to create stories.

As I grew older my passion for traveling got inspired by reading about Egyptian history and Greek mythology. All I wanted to do was just get out and explore hidden civilizations, undiscovered gems and experience the world. I wanted to know what lies beyond the four corners of my classroom. I did not conform to the norms compared to others, when others were busy talking about the latest celebrity gossip my nose stuck to another history book.

"All I wanted to do was explore new places and experience different culture"

As someone who got to travel at a young age, I wanted more. I got to live in Auckland, New Zealand for two years and also go on an exciting Hong Kong vacation with family, but back then I didn’t get the chance to fully embrace culture, and that is where it all changes.

IMG_20150917_073013.jpg

Strawberry taho from Baguio City sold at the bus terminal
25 pesos only

When I graduated from a fine arts course in college, this got me inspired to make it a habit to visit new places every now and then. 2016 became the fresh start of my travel journey, I got to experience being a solo traveler going to Bacolod City, Negros Occidental also known as the City of Smiles.

14128798_284420091940522_1524199301_n.jpg

The Ruins, Bacolod City

With money saved on hard work spent, my 2017 became a journey. I got to travel to beautiful places around the Philippines, including Kalinga, home to the last original mambabatok (traditional Kalinga tattoo artist) Whang Od of the Butbut tribe. Locals and tourists travel all the way up to the mountains of Busculan Village, Kalinga to get inked by this notorious national treasure.

Whang Od.JPG

The last original mambabatok of Kalinga

After getting my tattoo.JPG

Inked by Whang Od

A few days after my birthday, I traveled to Cambodia, it felt great because it was my first time traveling outside the country with friends. Experiencing the culture of Cambodia was indeed an experience, I got to visit temples such as Ta Prohm and Angkor Wat, learn about the history of the Khmer Rouge through an entertaining circus act, and appreciate the beauty of Siem Reap while riding on a tuk-tuk (three-wheeled vehicle).

IMG_4765.jpg

Chilling in Bayon Temple, mesmerized by the carvings located around the temple

With my ethereal love for travels and writing, this is where I can share travel stories. Because of my love for mythology, Egypt and Greece became my end-goal, but right now I am excited to embrace the history and culture of countries I will travel to soon. Who knows, maybe I may discover a secret underground civilization in the future? laughs

MY JOURNEY IN STEEMIT

When I heard about the Steemit community thanks to my wonderful friend @pizzanniza, it made me happy to know that I can use it as a platform for travel blogging. Not only do I want to share stories about my travels, but I also want to connect with a budding community filled with passionate and creative people. I look forward to an awesome experience in Steemit, let’s start the beginning of this amazing journey together.

Time to make a post on my travel experiences now.
Continue on chasing dreams, thanks everyone!

Sort:  

Hello!
Your post was amazing. What type of cool topics are you going to write about?
Followed and Upvoted!
(If you want to see some interesting posts or take part in lucky draws, follow me back!)

Hello @precision
Thanks so much, I really appreciate it! Followed you as well. I'm planning to start writing about my travel journeys, including the story behind my tattoo and post-birthday trip to Cambodia.

Hi Jaiun! Welcome to Steemit! It's good to see you here. I'm looking forward to reading more of your travel experiences.
-Darryll

HI @legendarryll, talented as always! Same with you and your photos <3

awesome post! very happy that your joining the steemit community, you'll do great! Following you now, hope you do the same for me (:

Hello @tnelectronics, thank you so much! I feel welcomed already. Thanks for the follow, I did the same as well :)

Welcome kateriinajayun, hope you will have a great time here on steemit!

Thank you so much @lopezdacruz I'm looking forward to the experience!

Welcome! You have a new follower! I'm looking forward to reading your travel stories, and I also hope you'll tell us something about those 2 years you spent in New Zealand :))

Hey there @wordsalmighty, thanks so much! I really appreciate it.
That's actually a great idea, will write about it soon. Thanks so much for the suggestion <3

Wanna welcome u with an upvote for your good post :) i enjoyed reading it..keep on steeming.

Hey @reginecruz thanks so much! I really appreciate it <3

Hello girl, I'm Oatmeal Joey, and I was in Cambodia and I love your tattoo and your photos and I am also interested in history and even in myths, legends, stories, about the Greek gods, about the pyramids, like you were saying.

Hello @joeyarnoldvn thanks so much! glad we share the same interests. Looking forward to conversing with you!

Girl, yes, thanks for being my friend. Did you like New Zealand? I think you have cute glasses.

Congratulations @kateriinajayun! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Wow, cool story, I'm a writer inspired by Nat Geo as a kid as well, (the mag, not the TV show, however.) I'd like to introduce myself, I am @steemgoblin. One of the main projects I'm supporting right now, is #dolphinschool. I suggest you follow them and @markrmorrisjr to get some solid training. Also, I'm doing a little project right now, at this link here Hope you have a great day!

Thanks so much @steemgoblin
I also have loads of National Geographic magazines stocked up in my room waiting to be read. I'll also check out your projects. Have a great day as well!

Hi Jaiun! Welcome to Steemit! I am Christy and I'm from Cagayan de Oro. Thank you for sharing your story! I've been travelling too but I haven't explored much the places in our country. Also, I envy you being a project manager and events organizer! How I wish I can quit my 7:30-4:30 Mon-Sat job soon and do these two things and be my own boss! Haha! Followed you :)

Hi @csalupado
Awwww thanks so much for the warm welcome. The journey being a freelancer was a journey. I'm wishing you more travels and success in your job <3 I followed you as well! Cheers to us

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59446.26
ETH 2613.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41