Hi Yall - Second TrysteemCreated with Sketch.

Hi Ya'll
steemit intro 05.jpg
That’s a common greeting in my part of Texas. I’m a Baby Boomer who finds I have more in common with Generation X and other “younger” people than with my own age group.
The past three years have been the beginning of an adventure that keeps me excited and gives me a reason to get up in the morning now that I’m retired and no longer working for “The Man”.
You see, three years ago my husband and I moved into our dream home. We had both dreamed about a home on acreage. Me, for the chance to have a large garden, perhaps some chickens and rabbits, and a more natural lifestyle. Him, the chance to have a woodworking shop, a “Man Cave” and a front porch where he could enjoy the morning and/or evening, watching Ma Nature do her thing.20151222_070230_HDR.jpg
I am finding that most of the folks on a similar journey into homesteading are much younger than I am. They have more energy, and usually more responsibilities to keep them going. I bring some experience to the homesteading lifestyle. For instance, I do waterbath canning, pressure canning, dehydrating, salting and freezing to preserve food from my garden or the Farmers Market. 20160610_131118.jpg
Also, I’ve sewn my own clothes for a lot of my life. I began with sewing cards. My Mom gathered pieces of light weight cardboard and added simple geometric shapes. I was to sew along the lines to practice. When I got a little older I began making doll clothes and then my own clothes.
High energy people make me feel younger, and most of these new friends keep me going. Please understand I am not complaining, but I have found that beginning a homestead at my age is different from beginning at 30 or 40 or even 50. For instance, I no longer have the strength I had back then, so I’m learning to use leverage to help lift and move things.
Thank you to my friend @daddykirbs for encouraging me to get on Steemit. I love it already! I invite you to come along with me on this journey. I promise to share my outlook on things.
Finally, I want to apologize for the seeming duplication of my original introduction. I finally found out all the things I did wrong on the first attempt. This is, hopefully, a much better introduction. Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @katedansyng I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Thanks so much bottymcbotface. I'm so new all help is appreciated and I try to learn from them as well.

@vlogs5rap thanks for your kind words

very nice Kate! I am also a boomer lol and my granny was a tailor I learned a lot from her and used to sew a lot too...my homestead is still my castle in the sky lol-one day thou...best wishes Kate!

thanks rena64. Nicest thing about your cattle is they don't eat much and provide their own water!...hehe

Welcome to steemit, happy to have you here

I am @alienposts , my real name is achraf :)
Checkout my blog posts, Enjoy your time here and let's get this party started :)

alienposts, yes, let's get this party started. Funny you should use that quote, I was a karaoke junky for years and Pink's Get This Party Started was my signature song.

I look forward to your homesteading adventures. I think the community will forgive you for making a second introduce yourself post! I am thrilled you gave it a second shot to learn what you may have missed the first time. It can be a learning curve and I'm glad you didn't give up because trust me, the majority of us have been there! Welcome to Steemit!

@lexikon082, thanks for the welcome. I am not afraid to try something new, and STEEMIT is definitely that. I will continue posting and learning as I find it exciting to do so. I will check your posts out.

Welcome to the community Kate, you're going to love it. I gave you a follow and an upvote :)

Thanks harryhoudinei. I'm really new here, as I imagine you can tell. I appreciate the upvote and the follow.

I know I already left you a reply but I wanted to give you these links. I must have taken a liking to you, because I don't normally do this. I did not write them, but one of the coolest Steemians EVER( @merej99) did and I wish I would have read these months ago. I promise they will only help you and I encourage you strongly to read them.

lexikon082, thank you so very much for the links. I know they will help me get these posts looking more professional.

You are very very welcome. I know they helped me improve and I look forward to them helping you too! Helping each other is what this community is about!

I am looking forward to seeing more from you Kate!

weetreebonsai, I'm looking forward to seeing more of myself....grin here on Steemit that is.

You're living the dream to me! So awesome that you're homesteading. I'm in a very urban area but spent a bunch of time off the grid life last year travelling and loved it. Upvoted and following you with best wishes for your success here at Steemit and in your new home. All the best :)

judym, thank you so very much for the lovely welcome. I hope you get to live the dream as well soon. This is my first Non-Urban experience and I must admitt hings are a whole lot different from what I thought it would be. I am enjoying learning the new lifestyle.

Welcome friend, good to be here

wholesomeroots, thanks for the welcome. Heading off to check out your posts and follow you as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68154.08
ETH 3274.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66