Fiction Writer And Youtuber Looking For A New Home

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Greetings Steemians.

I've been writing stories ever since I could write. Even before that, I'm told I was a storyteller. There's nothing I love more than entertaining people through my stories. I love the concept of Steemit and am hoping it will become my new home. I write mostly sci-fi/fantasy, and the occasional horror story, but I dabble in just about every genre. In addition to my short fiction, I'm currently working on multiple novels. I expect to have at least one or two done by the end of the year.

IMG_1852.JPG

Writing is my passion, but I'm also a lover of all things nerdy. I'm also an avid outdoorsman and motorcycle enthusiast, so some of my posts will be about those topics.

I've also run a small YouTube channel for the past few years mostly documenting my life as a writer as well as my other interests, but a recent bad experience has left me with a bad taste in my mouth so I'm looking to make the jump to DTube once I've had a chance to settle into the Steemit community.

IMG_99142.jpg

As much as I like to tell a story, words fail me when it comes to talking about myself. If you'd like to know more about me, please check out my website. http://www.justinmkelly.com From there, you can check out my blog and find links to everywhere I am on the internet.

Sort:  

Hello @justinmkelly, and welcome to steemit. From what I have heard and seen it can be a little bit of a transition from Youtube and facebook to Steemit. Along with D-tube there is D-live if you were/are a video streamer, I do not know much about either of them, I have did one small video (20 sec) or so I put on Dd-tube when it first came into being, it worked.

To avoid any questions or issues with @cheetah and plagiarism if you re-post any of your work here on steemit make sure that you clearly state it is your work, and if you can you should also put a link to steemit on each of your sites. @steemcleaners, They do have a content verification process that will whitelist your account and avoid most of the problems, here is that link. http://steemcleaners.com/reports/new . I have made reports to @steemcleaners through the form, so I know it is a safe link. There is a small Content/Identity Verification drop down menu on the right side of the form.

If you need help or get stuck on anything the people @newbieresteemday can try to help or at least point you to someone that may be able to help. I am a sort of floating member, so if you need help a shout out to them or me or any member and we will try to help. Posting off topic is mostly frowned upon here in steemit by a lot of people, however I am not one of them, so just drop a note on any of my post.

I use steemworld a lot, and it is always running, so I will get notified when someone uses my @ name. Steemworld.org is a very useful tool and simple to use. https://steemworld.org/@justinmkelly - - That is a link to your account.

There are a lot of writers and writing contest and challenges on steemit. @thewritersblock is one of the groups that support writers. @rhondak is the one that sort of runs it.

The only #tag you can not edit is the first tag, so you want to be careful what one you use, some people are pretty picky about tag usage. The other four tags can be edited. Well on that note so as to not completely overwhelm you, have fun, explore and enjoy your time, and if you get stuck or need help, give a shout.

He's a writer transitioning and looking, and well you know how hard it can be for new users to find what they are looking for or don't even know they need.

Gosh yes. Tons of new users give up within the first month because of those difficulties. But we need good fiction authors on Steemit! I'm always very glad to see posts like this one.

Yes, and it has been difficult to go through the introduceyourself tag lately for me, but for some reason today, I needed to go hunting, and hopefully he will be able to make the transition. When I see new users I always try to match them up with at least one interest they mention.

Thank you so much. That was very helpful. To be honest, I’ve been reading guides on here, but I still feel a little lost. I’m sure I’ll get the hang of it eventually, but your comment is exactly the sort of thing I need.

discord will open up a whole new world of Steem for you. I would suggest the desktop app as it seems to work best especially for voice chat. https://discordapp.com/

Thank you. It’s great to be here.

@justinmkelly, so good to have you here on Steemit! @bashadow is spot-on and offered some great tips for using the platform. Steemit is definitely a world apart from every other social media site. It's strongly community-based, but the communities don't yet exist on the Steem blockchain. You'll find most of them on Discord, a voice and chat server. A lot of this can be very disorienting and counter-intuitive, but find your tribe and veteran Steemit users will keep you grounded.

I'd like to send a personal invitation to our writers' community on Discord, called The Writers' Block. The Discord group is the first leg of a triangle we're setting up on the Blockchain that includes workshops (The Writers' Block,) our own front-end website, and Steemhouse Publishing. We'd love to have you drop in and visit with us in chat. Click the gif below and it will take you to instructions on how to join.



Thank you. I’ll check it out as soon as I get home tonight.


Welcome to Steem @justinmkelly.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Welcome to Steem, @justinmkelly!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3113 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.18.2 : Post and Support.


Welcome to Steem @justinmkelly.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Congratulations @justinmkelly! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Welcome to steemit @justinmkelly. Join @minnowsupport project for more help. Checkout @helpie and @qurator projects.
Send SBD/STEEM to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Send SBD/STEEM to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project, follow for random votes.

Congratulations @justinmkelly! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60256.67
ETH 2327.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46