Hey I'm Christina Coleman. This is my story of how I went from being an Amateur Basketball Player to a Professional Model


I wasn't always this pretty face you now see...

In fact growing up, I would have laughed if you told me I'd be wearing heels, makeup, and bodycon dresses - all while getting paid to do so.

Up until the age of 18, all I knew was basketball. Ball, as they say, was life!


When we weren't actively in basketball season at school (Cheltenham Lady Panthers, coached by Bob Schaefer -household name among Pennsylvania's top coaches in any sport.) I was traveling with my aau (ametuer athletic union) team competing in basketball tournaments. When I wasn't traveling, I'd be at the local Philadelphia playgrounds beating all the neighborhood guys in pickup games with my best friend Ann or teammates Jiana and Shayla. And when I wasn't physically playing ball. I'd be watching the latest NBA game on TV, or attending a live Sixers game with my popop (God rest his soul) or playing NBA 2kLive with my brothers.

I wasn't the typical young girl who was boy crazy, loved shopping sprees and mani/pedis with the girls.

I was a full fledge tomboy!

So how'd I go from this to that?

I wish I could say becoming a model was easy. That one day while grocery shopping I was spotted by a talent scout who immediately fell in love with my height (5'10") and looks and introduced me to the biggest names in the industry.

Unfortunately, my story doesn't quite unfold that way.

When I first moved from Philadelphia to Baltimore in 2012 to attend college at Morgan State University. I was having a difficult time deciding if I wanted to play college ball or not. I had lost a passion for the sport my senior year of playing high school varsity basketball and chose not to accept any of the D2/D3 college offers that I'd received.

Going away to college, only as a student, was a fresh start for me and would give me some time to figure out if my basketball career would be continuing on with me.

You know, It's true what they say. That your circle of friends have a big influence on your decisions because after connecting with some really cool girls on campus (none who were the least bit interested in playing basketball everyday like I was used to back home) I found myself adjusting to what it felt like to be a "girly girl." I began caring more about my appearance (stopped walking around in ball shorts and a t-shirt) and even let a few of my friends apply their makeup on me.

"Before I would get noticed for my athletic abilities. But this time around it felt good to begin getting noticed for the woman I was growing into."

One day while walking to class, I was stopped by a group of models who were apart of an on campus modeling organization, IME. They told me I had the perfect height to be a model and that I should come out and audition. Turns out there were about 3 other modeling organizations on campus and after doing some research. I found out that the A.B.C modeling organization were the best of the best on campus.

Of course the champion in me wanted to join the winner's circle and so I decided to audition with A.B.C models first.

I still remember like it was yesterday!

The auditions were held in the student center on Morgan State's campus and at the time I didn't even own a pair of heels so I borrowed someone else's. I approached the table to sign my name in and they handed me a number 12 to place on my chest. They told me they'd call my number when they were ready for me.

I was nervous as hell! You would have thought I was auditioning for America's Next Top Model.

This was all so new to me but I was ready to take on this new challenge !

" Number 12", they called. Ahh, that's me! I got up and walked into the room. There they were. The panel of judges sitting 4 across all starring me down like a pack of hungry lions, preying on their next meal.

I began to walk towards them doing exactly what I practiced moments before watching Youtube clips of Tyra Banks on the runway in my dorm room. (or so I thought! Looking back now, I can feel and laugh at how stiff I was) It must have been a tragedy to watch. Especially for the fact that I was chewing gum the whole time while walking down the runway for the panel. Oops !

Sadly to say, they didn't hesitate to tell me NO I didn't make the cut. But that didn't stop me and so I went to audition for the next organization, IME. Although this modeling organization was not considered the best of the best on campus, they were certainly a cool group of people to be around and they accepted me even though I was a hot mess.

So now that I was apart of the IME Modeling Organization it was time to begin preparing for the annual Homecoming Fashion Show. Every Sunday for 3 hours straight we'd practice our walks, routines, and begin getting fitted with different designers.

Over time working with other experienced models, I began to learn the craft of runway walking and would practice faithfully watching youtube clips and recording myself to critique my progress. Although I still wasn't the best at walking, I had improved tremendously!!

Not bad for a tomboy!

The day of the homecoming fashion show, I was so nervous yet soo excited!

It was my first time on the runway in front of a large crowd of people. The lights were bright, the music was bumping and out from behind the curtains I came. It was a rush of euphoria. I immediately fell in love with the spotlight and all eyes on me. I enjoyed being able to transform into a new person to express the clothing, makeup, and hairstyle I was wearing while adding my own personality to it.

After the homecoming show I began taking modeling more seriously. I started searching for designers, models, and photographers in the Baltimore area to gain more experience and exposure. Thankfully, as a child I naturally adopted the art of self-promotion and in no time I had met a local photographer by the name of Mike G who did my very first photoshoot.

At the time, I didn't know or rather believe that I could get paid to be a print, runway, or promotional model. So I'd spend most of my free time reaching out to whoever I could that wanted to work with me. Quite frankly, I was having fun and meeting some awesome people along the way. However, I'd spend majority of my time dealing with on campus modeling activities.



After awhile I got tired of only working within the confines of the campus modeling organization and started branching out to network with Baltimore and DC party promoters, clothing designers and photographers. I began to grasp the power in not only marketing myself as a model but as a business woman. Which opened up many new and exciting opportunities for me.




As of now, at 22 years old. I have been modeling for 4 years now. I am enjoying traveling the country as a promotional model representing companies such as Under Armour, Comic Con, Chrysler, Jack Daniels, and Google. Helping to spread awareness and exposure for the brand or host their invite only events.

This July 22 and 23, 2016 I will be modeling in DC Swimweek and the following day on the 24 of July 2016 will be traveling to New Jersey to compete in an International Beauty Contest.

When I am not modeling, you can find me managing residential/commercial properties for DC Real Estate Investors. And I am currently building my own portfolio of residential/commercial properties in the DMV area (Baltimore specifically). I also write weekly doses of inspiration and motivation on my blog site Journeytoher.com.

Growing up, I would have never imagined myself, in a million years, becoming a model. But that just goes to show what effort, focus, a positive attitude, and putting your energy into the right things and surrounding yourself with the right people can do for you!

The Journey (thus far) hasn't always been glitz and glamour, but I am enjoying it every step of the way! And my goal here is to share my journey to inspire you to live your life to the fullest and most importantly to


ENJOY THE JOURNEY !!!

Peace & Love
Christina Coleman

http://www.Journeytoher.com
Connect with me on instagram @ChristinaColeman

Sort:  

Awesome! Thank you for the warm welcome and tips :)

Wow, you are a talented lady with many strings to your bow. That's a really interesting story and some really nice pics too. Best of luck here on Steemit.

Hey thanks so much for your welcome! Best of luck to you as well :)

Thank you Paco! So glad to be apart of this awesome community :)

Wow, what a nice post, and such amazing pictures!

Thanks! You've got the coolest name!

Yup, keep doing what your doing because everyone has a story to tell, and people here are willing to listen. So write away.

Cheers!

Touche my friend. Touche !

Thank you! So glad to be here :)

Voice of you, but I do not believe that it is Christina Coleman.

That's unfortunate, you'll see on my instagram that I support and follow steemit on my latest post!

If this is the case , then glad to see you here :)

Thank you, glad to be here :)

And we are very glad you :) Good luck on Steemit.


Kindness is the language which the deaf can hear and the blind can see. Mark Twain

Hey @gekko, pleasure meeting you as well!

welcome!
Wow, you've changed completely(not only your look, but workfield too)! i'm impressed, congratz!

be my guest to visit my #introduceyourself too:
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@steemitdude/introduced-to-the-new-generation-social-media

Thank you,
Can say from experience in the midst of it all, everything always works its self out. Even when you don't know how exactly it'll all unfold.

Congratulations @joureytoher! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68523.63
ETH 3260.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66