You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I'm one of 20,000+ libertarian/voluntaryist activists moving to New Hampshire to stop big government! I'm also the author of 3 cookbooks! Now, I’m learning how to write/talk more openly about my feelings & beliefs

in #introduceyourself8 years ago

I want to be a part of this, but at present, I just don't have the balls. My biggest fear is being able to find work. Plus, Texas winters can be too cold for me at times. I really can't imagine it up there.

Sort:  

NH actually has one of the lowest unemployment rates in the U.S. and there's a big group of agorist vendors here who run their own off-the-books businesses. Plenty of opportunities for work... there's an FSP Jobs Alerts group on Facebook that lots of people use, as well as an FSP Rent-a-Porc Facebook group for side jobs/gigs. What is it that you like to do @joshua?

RE: the weather, I feel ya... I moved from Los Angeles. Only other place I'd ever lived was San Diego. The seasons are breathtaking here, and really, that's why we have heating and air conditioning :) I actually help write a blog post with my buddy Vince all about the weather and how it's not really as cold as you think in NH. Feel free to give it a look.

I've been a machinist for 10 years. I'm at least as good at it as one should be with 10 years experience, maybe a little better, but the problem is that that's only on a lathe, and most non-oil and gas machining jobs require you to be able to run a mill, which I was never trained to do. Also, I have no idea what the cost of living is in NH. My base pay now is a bit over $50k, and there's no way I could currently work for less than that. I mean, I could if I absolutely had to, but I'd have to give up quite a bit and destroy what little credit I have in the process. In a few years though, I'll have some things paid off, or nearly paid off, which will free up some income, and by then, if I've decided Texas no longer suits me, I should be able to move without much financial inconvenience and will be able to live comfortably should I be forced to take a pay cut.

For now, though, I'm going to check out your weather link and see how I feel about all that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63466.84
ETH 2636.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76