Updates From The Journey: My Life As A Charity Adventurer

My name is Josh Stinton and I am a professional Charity Adventurer (more on that later). I am also a writer, traveler, and a pretty average musician who ultimately enjoys pushing the boundaries on what I can do with this whole life thing and how I can help and inspire as many people along the way as I can.


Photo note: I met this little guy while roller ski training on Rottnest Island, Australia. It's called a Quokka and they're one of the friendliest animals in the world!

Born and raised in Denver, CO, I moved to Sydney, (Manly Beach) Australia to "study" back in July 2005. Jumping on the airplane to cross the ocean for the first time at the age of 24 I learned an important lesson - identify your passion, commit to it and back yourself to make it a reality. Getting on that plane over 12 years ago changed so much more than just my scenery - it opened up a world of experiences that have been often challenging, routinely hilarious but always fulfilling. My Australian life has seen me completing two University degrees, producing for TEDxSydney, taking a job in Management Consulting (zzzzzZZZZZzzzZZzz no offence to professional advisory folks out there but zzzzZZZzzzZZz) and using all of these experiences to now focus on traveling around the world to support charities. This is a story that is proudly in progress.


Photo note: I had the opportunity to be the keynote speaker for a charity ball that raised money for Children living with grief from the loss of a loved one. The charity is called Feel the Magic - and are the first small charity I ever supported in my challenges.

I think "personal statements" are key in guiding us along to ensure our decisions and journeys are purpose-driven. So to help sum me up by way of introduction, here is mine:

I am clear on my purpose - I am relentless in dedicating my life to helping others. To do this I take on extreme challenges all over the world to support small charities and engage in projects that benefit the lives of others in a positive and meaningful way.


Photo note: I was asked onto the Today Show for the second time to announce my Downhill Mountain Unicycle Challenge in Spain!

Now, here I am, connected with the good community of Steemit because a dear friend in Norway said that I should be sharing my updates as I travel around with a functioning and interactive community - so thank you @susanne, and thanks to you all and I look forward to sharing my story further and learning all of yours!


Photo note: This is me during the worlds longest cross country ski race in the world - Sweden's Vasaloppet 90K. This was also the first day in my life I had ever skied...

So what can you expect from me? I will be updating on the adventures I take to help others, how my efforts directly help small charities, and I will also be unashamedly share my failures along the way. I've learned a lot and I hope my story inspires you to make an adventure out of life as well.

Great to connect!

Josh

For more (very family friendly!) visuals on this story of mine, my insta acct is @joshuastinton

Sort:  

It's great to have you here on steemit; liked what I read from you so far ;-)

Hello @pery and I really appreciate your kind words! I look forward to following your posts as well :)

Followed. Love that first pic and the adventurousness

Hello @richardcrill and thank you! Plus I love the new word "adventurousness"! Looking forward to following you as well - cheers! :)

What do you get if you divide the circumference of a pumpkin by its diameter? -PUMPKIN PI

To know what you know and to know what you don't know that is real wisdom.

Welcome! It's so good to finally have you on Steemit! Looking forward to all you future posts.

Thank you for bringing me on board! Great community and so fun to share my story here - looking forward to reading yours as well @susanne :)

Welcome to Steemit!
Check out
Steem.io 4 Whitepaper
& steeemtools.com

Hello @anns and thank you very much! I will certainly check this out, and really appreciate the help :)

Ah I went to Rottnest Island back in 2013, what a lovely place and aren't Quokkas just the best!? Love hearing about your adventures - I climbed Mount Kilimanjaro for charity last year! Hope to hear more, I've followed you!

Hello @ellagrant! I could not agree more - this was my first trip there and the scenery, 40 degree (c) heat and Quokkas made for quite the experience! Really appreciate your kind words and HUGE congrats on Mt. Kili - not an easy feat! I look forward to following you as well :)

bienvenidos . Tienes un sequidor nuevo - Steem ON

Hola @gringalicious y gracias! Tambien tienes un sequidor nuevo ahora! :)

ahhh, estoy muy feliz, gracias

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

That's one hell of a life. It's always fulfilling to see people who are living life with purpose.

Thank you @jasonbarnette - thats extremely kind of you! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64542.61
ETH 3460.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51