Joseph Rather - High School InvestorsteemCreated with Sketch.

Hello there!
I'm glad to see you have come to see my first post (yes, it's my first post)!

My name is Joseph Rather, and I am a freshman in high school at Andover High School. I actively play soccer and tennis, but I'll play anything with my friends or whatever. I love taking business and finance classes. Blah, blah, blah.
My favorite sport is soccer, with tennis coming in close second. As of now I am playing indoor soccer because it's freakin' cold outside (it'd be fun to play in the snow though). I play midfield, preferably right or center attacking, but often I'll also play defense because my team kinda sucks.

I haven't played tennis for long, but I seem to be getting pretty good at it. At least that's what I think... I played in a tennis tournament about a month ago. My first match was a win, but only because he called in sick that morning and couldn't play (I usually don't mention that second part). The second match was, in my defense, against one of the best players in the entire state. Please don't ask for the score on that one. I'll just say that it wasn't close by any means. One of my friends, who killed me every time we played about 8 months ago, is now, rather, being killed by me every time we play.
I don't watch too much tv, but when I do, I like to watch something good. Some of my favorite movies are, like a lot of other teenagers, the superhero movies like Avengers, Captain America, Guardians of the Galaxy, etc.

Now let’s get to the good stuff. I’m an investor. I invest in stocks, real estate, and I have just recently started investing in cryptocurrencies. Investing is my favorite thing to do and I plan on doing something related to finance for my job (that’s not for a while though).

I started investing in stocks when I was 10 with the help of my dad. Or, rather, I was helping him invest my money. Since then I have had all of my savings invested. In the last year, I decided to take full control and responsibility for my portfolio. Thanks to the bull market and plenty of research, I have made 20% returns investing totally on my own.

I have read a few books on investing, and that has led me to be a high growth investor. It’s risky, but I know that I won’t need the money for about 7 years, so I’m willing to take the risks for now. Over time, I will slowly invest my money in lower risk stocks, probably through ETFs. I may even invest some in bonds.

160609172526-best-investing-apps-1-robinhood-780x439.jpg

I use Robinhood as my broker, mainly because of the free commissions. A few other reasons I use them is because of how good the layout looks, and how simple and easy it makes trading stocks.

Using Robinhood, I can trade stocks faster than I can post a picture on instagram. Some people think how easy trading is with it is bad since it can lead to careless investing, but I like it since I’m going in and out of classes while the market is open so I only have short periods of time to trade. The only thing I do not like about Robinhood is the lack of an online platform to trade. Luckily, they are testing out a web version and will be ready in early 2018. If you would like to join Robinhood, use my link to get a free share of stock (it’ll make me like you because it will give me a free share of stock too!!): http://share.robinhood.com/johnr910

Getting back to my passion of investing, most of my portfolio is in the tech industry. Like I said, I’m a growth investor. I own shares of a company called Shopify, and it is my favorite stock in my portfolio. Since I bought it in June, it has given me over a 40% gain.

So just for a quick recap, I am a student at Andover High School. I play soccer and tennis, and I love to hang out with friends. My favorite movies are superhero movies. Above all, I love to invest my money in my free time. Make a comment if you have any questions! Peace out!!

-Joseph Rather

Sort:  

Welcome!

I wish you all the best.

Feel free to check out my blog, this way we can support each other!

Cheers!

Thank you so much! It means a lot to me!

Congratulations @josephrather! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @josephrather! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @josephrather! You received a personal award!

Thank you for the witness votes you made to support your Steem community and for keeping the Steem blockchain decentralized

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56963.59
ETH 2355.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38