My introduction

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hi there. I recently turned 18 years old and I am on a quest for fullfillment in my life and the lives of those around me. I am high in empathy which I consider to be one of my greatest assets.(Its also a bit of an achilles heel)

There have been many ups, downs, twists and turns in my life. By the first and second year of highschool, I was flunking more classes than I was passing. My anxiety and bouts of sadness were reaching new extremes, and my mental reality was nothing short of chaos. There was no end in sight to what seemed like a dark and lonely tunnel.

I found my saving grace in what appeared to be the most unruly of places. In short: A boxing gym. But this place was much, much more. It was a religion, a way of life, and more importantly an outlet for all that was unjust in my life. I began sessions with a boxing trainer a couple days a week, which soon turned into 5, training day in and day out, until nearly every square inch of my shirt was dripping in sweat.

This is the short of it. The long story is one that includes many days of suffering, tears, sweat and blood. Namely, a well-over-an-hour long commute.

I didnt even enjoy the first few months, but I kept with the routine as it was my last ditch effort to induce some sort of order into my life. It worked.

The discipline that I had newly garnered, was not easily translated into my academic life. Just like learning to box, the process was gradual and incremental.(I should note that Incremental progress has been key to sustaining my growth as an individual)

After boxing for around 6 months, I transfered out of my highschool in the middle of sophmore year. This was another key element in my growth due to the fact that it allowed me a fresh start, and gave me the oppurtunity of leaving all negative energy behind.

Today I am overflowing with gratitude. I am in a position of which I am happy to say there is no better alternative. School ends in a month, and I have commited to a college which is perfectly suitable for my needs and interests (after spending a 3 day long orientation there). I also have many projects in the making such as a podcast and a small business venture with a cousin of mine. I am a huge admirer of anything crypto related and have been invested a lot of time into learning about the cryptocurrency space in these past 6 months. The Steem community is particularly exciting as I see the potential it has to permanently alter the way we create and consume media, in a way that is beneficial to everyone involved. I have yet to explore Steemit in detail but I figured it would be a good start to make this post.

Finally, I hope to share my deep interests in a variety of topics on here and to help others going through similar setbacks with the lessons I have learned.

Thank you for reading

Sort:  

Hi, jordanpeterson! Best wish to you for a very fun journey here in this fun-loving community :) All the best

I am happy you are managing to find the way out. I am considering picking up kickboxing myself.

It will kick your ass (no pun intended) but if you do decide to do it just know that there is a slump in progress in motivation which may last a few months, but once you get over that, youll be unstoppable.

I haven't exercised for most of my life but somewhere at the beginning of 2018 I've decided that it is time to change my life and started doing as much as I could at home. Lost a lot of weight, got some muscles, energy and realised that I actually do like moving. :) Will be going for kickboxing for that extra exhaustion I can't get on my own.

Good luck to you my friend. Ive been sitting on my ass too much in the past few months and the difference in energy and clarity of mind is night and day. I no longer go to my gym or pay for a trainer, but i have a bag at home which is an investment you would not regret if you take a liking to the sport. I also reccommend getting into a good stretching routine before you start because that will help you heal quicker and stronger. I excersise by doing yoga and hittinf my bag now, there are endless resources working out at home so its a decent alternative for me until I find a gym when I move.

Welcome to steemit
download.png

Join us on our Steemschool discord
using this link
https://discord.gg/2F74XX9

And get to learn about various niches...
Photography, arts, poetry, business amongst others...

THERE IS A 5000 SBD CONTEST GOING ON

The interesting part is we have people all over the world and we help each other grow...

There are over 6k steemian ready to support your growth on steemit

Best wishes 👏👍


I like to watch boxing but never learned to do it. I see you don’t have a Steemit Profile Picture I made a contest post on the bottom it will teach you, then after you make yours feel free to enter the contest to create mine. https://steemit.com/contest/@isteemithard/design-isteemithard-a-profile-picture-avatar-contest-15-winner-of-14

Welcome to steemit @jordanpeterson. Join @minnowsupport project for more help. Checkout @helpie and @qurator projects.
Send SBD/STEEM to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Send SBD/STEEM to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project, follow for random votes.

Congratulations @jordanpeterson! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Hello @jordanpeterson. Welcome to this wonderful community!!! You'll meet interesting people here... Write freely and keep steeming :)

Congratulations @jordanpeterson! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63679.06
ETH 2628.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83