Sort:  

Welcome to steemit John ;) Love the picture "Penalty Box", it's stunning! The people on steemit will definitely love your art and images!
Resteemed you via @welcoming, my page for showcasing promising newcomers!
Greets, @theaustrianguy

Dear @johndykstra,

Welcome to Steemit. I joined two weeks ago, it is an amazing platform! :-) Looking forward to your photographys.

All the best,
Sulimur

Thank you, Sulimur!

I've only been on here 5 days and I'm already having a blast!

Sup John, my name is also John and @rodent also got me to sign up for the site. Im also from Michigan... Weird right?

With that being said, welcome and I hope you enjoy you time here. Dont give up on the site like I originally did. Starting out isnt easy and getting upvotes at the start can be hard. However, if you post they will come.

Look in to #contest to see if you can compete in any of them. @photocontests is a good starting place, they have two daily contests for photography. You can learn more about it here.

Another good place is @czechglobalhosts. Tomas holds a contest every day. I suggest checking him out.

If you use discord photocontests has on. You should also check out Peace, Abundance, and Liberty. They are a great grop of people and @aggroed is a great guy. They run @minnowsupport which can help you get starter.

Any questions feel free to ask. :)

Have fun.

Awesome advice, thanks John! I don't meet many Johns, as a matter of fact, so it's great to meet one from Michigan on Steemit :D

Welcome JD! I really like the penalty box!

Thank you, Jeremy! Thanks for all your help and support with getting me settled on here.

Gorgeous work, John. I'm a stop motion animator and came over to the platform a few weeks ago looking for other high quality artists -- very excited to see more of your stuff featured here on steemit.

Tyson, that is awesome! I'm glad we both made it. How has the platform been for you? I'm really looking forward to seeing a stream of high quality artists adopting the platform.

It's been great so far -- lot's of support from the community. People have been recommending me artists to follow, so that's been helpful too because steemit's discovery pages could use some work...

Which artists would you recommend following on Steemit?

Oooh, intriguing work! I look forward to seeing more creativity from you here in the future! :)

Your landscape photography is absolutely gorgeous! I resteemed that long exposure of Bear's Den Falls. Love it.

Hey thank you, that's awesome of you, I appreciate it! :D

Great first post John! I really respect how you attempt to make your art surreal without using editing programs. I took a photo class and got really into it a while ago and I attempted to do the same thing, but because I wasn't interested in learning how those programs worked so I worked around it hahaha. I strive to share music every day on steemit and I also about sports so if you're ever interested in those check out my posts!

That's awesome, I'm always looking for new music. I'll check out your blog!

Nice photos, nice story,
welcome to steemit =)

Thank you! Really cool to meet a pastry chef from Germany on here :D

thx, realy nice to meet u too ;)

Welcome johndykstra !!!
So glad you started posting and joined steemit ! Can't wait to read more from you.

Thank you, Cak!

Welcome! I had already heard of you, so there are a few Dutchmen who know your work 8-).

Really?! That's crazy. How'd you find out? Do I still welcomed in the Netherlands? :)

Some visitors in a local photo gallery in Enschede, The Netherlands were discussing your work (not on display, must have been annoying for the artists that were) looking at a computer screen with your photos on it. They found no reason to refuse a visa application 8-).

That's so awesome! Any comments you can forward? I'm too curious about this..

I don't remember the comments verbatim, I was mostly looking at the photos (Penalty Box and a few women portraits) on the screen. Two thought it was brilliant stuff, a third seemed to be jealous and was very critical. I myself am not into arranged and posed photography at all, but I loved what I saw. Great stuff.

That is too neat! Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97