You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Reboot... My imperfect introduction in an imperfect world.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

Saluton kaj bonvenon je steemit ! Welcome on board Thor. Great intro post. The comming years will be very important for your kid as for you as family. One thing comes to my mind: language developement in early childhood. Just wrote a poste about it.
And, what language to write? Esperanto kompreneble!

Sort:  

Hi johano, thank you for your welcome and the flowers! :) I will look later for your post about language development. I was looking once for Esperanto, but was than not so attracted because of the way I learn languages. Maybe after I new some people personally who speak Esperanto as daily language I will think different about it. Have a nice time and a great future!

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, languages are about speaking. For some reason I learnt Esperanto with the internet.

Last year I wanted to learn to learn Russian, outside Russia. I collected stuff for learning but I never started really to learn. I still would like learn Russian and Mandarin without to live there, mainly to be able to read technical stuff. But without speaking it daily it seems so hard and the only way to learn it seems to be by translating on my head. Do you have peers to talk Esperanto?

Posted using Partiko Android

Esperanto speakers are everywhere but mostly far away, so the internet is the easiest way to communicate. By the way do you now DUOLINGO, the free learning platform?
Than I would like to know which languages do you want to spaek your child?

I know Duolingo, even signed up years ago, but it's not really my way. Spanish and Portuguese I learned living there and communication first with only body language with transition to the language the natives speak. My Portuguese is almost all lost except that I still understand it. My English evolved mostly trough reading countless it books and irc chats. So there was for all a real purpose.
About what I want my daughter will speak, it's not really a question. How I am a hardcore anarchist/voluntaryist, in my view the only important question is what she wants to speak. What I want her to be is happy and free.
But she understand fore sure English, Spanish, French and to some degree German, Hindu, Russian, Japanese and some others. It looks like she her preference is still English of the languages my wife and I speaking. But if she would start to speak Russian or Japanese first we would learn it, too. Still she doesn't speak, while she knows the ABC in three languages and forms words with her letters.
In fact I'm very curious when and what she will speak first.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes that is the point. The child should be happy and all other things will fall in place. We have lived ten years in UK where my kids are born. it was very interesting to see how they coped with different languages. If you like, please have a look about our experiences:
https://steemit.com/languages/@johano/learning-three-languages-at-the-same-time-can-actually-be-easier-than-learning-two

Nice post, which gives me also additional confidence. Maybe I should speak with my daughter German because this is my native language. But how I think mostly Spanish and English it's really weird for me to speak German, often I start to translate back to German for a moment. Plus my voice sounds completely different in every language. Also it looks like that my daughter doesn't like it really when I speak German - but this can be because I speak only in Germany or with Germans German. But today in the morning I was thinking about if it would not be better to speak in German to her. Not to make her speak German, but to speak more correct as in Spanish or English with her. Or to say it different, to not fuck up her English or Spanish. I still thinking about it....

I know that feeling of wiredness speaking German in a not German environment. When I met my wife in Germany we spoke German, but when we moved to Irland I switched to English after a while. Still remember, how she was upset about it, because for her suddenly I was another person.
Concerning speaking your native language with your daughter, it is still possible. Both you will have some special to share and she might later on be thankful that you kept the link to her heritage. Either way, good luck.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77