Love my avatar

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

bigstock-Hand-drawn-dressed-up-deer-in--131147774.jpg

Like everyone else I am new here. Joined 4 days ago - wrote some great content - it has gone nowhere.
But I think it is because I have no idea what I am doing and a lot of 'top' post appears to be bot boosted. I just made that up, is that even a thing?

I am a writer, researcher, teacher, mother, blogger and lover of cheese cake.

Thought I would jump on the steemit bandwagon and hope to get a fam of newbies together so we can upvote each others stuff, but I am a little old fashioned in that I want to upvote quality stuff - not crap.

So if you are here to write and speak about quality stuff and ideas then hit me up!

Also if you can direct towards quality content that would too be awesome.

I think steemit could just be so great - if we actually use to make quaility content instead of game it like a ponzi scheme.

But I am new I could be wrong.

Sort:  

Hello, @jo18, and welcome to Steemit.

As you have seen over your short time here, it takes a bit of time and effort to even start to succeed on Steemit. But it's possible to succeed, if you make good content and if you persist for a while.


Below are a few basic points of advice re posting on Steemit.

1 – Longer posts are more lucrative than short posts. If you make a post of 20–30 paragraphs, it's more likely to earn rewards.
2 – Include some photos, images or graphs, to complement the text.
3 – Make sure the text and photos are formatted properly, so that your post looks attractive and appealing.
4 – Be yourself.
5 – Be interesting and informative.
6 – Create quality content. Steemit is intended to be a platform of quality content. (You will see many insignificant posts with meager content and no quality. Most of those of posts [called “shitposts” by Steemit whale Stellabelle] will earn few rewards and soon pass into oblivion.)
7 – Get online and start curating. Read various posts, comment on those posts you find interesting, and upvote those posts. That’s the best way to attract followers.

Hope this helps for now. Good luck, and Full Steem Ahead!


Welcome to Steemit @jo18!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Ignore trending, it is all paid for with bots, keep dong what you are doing, and you will for sure get noticed, and NEVER give up. Nice to meet you.

Hello @jo18, found you via a comment you left on an @deliberator post. So thought I would throw my 2 cents in. There are a few communities that try to help give new users a leg up. @newbieresteemday, and @newbiegames, are a couple. The tag #newbieresteemday is used to bring new user together, and for the members to find each others post, and new post. #newbiegames tries to find and sponsor games that do not cost a vote and a resteem so that new users can afford to play, some of them do ask for a vote, especially when the price is the post payout, but few of them demand it. The resteem part is not to big of a deal, but a new user does not, should not, resteem to much to where their content is buried a few pages back, but not a really problem unless you have to many resteems.

I see you have only used two tags in this post, you are allowed to use upto five tags. That first tag is the absolutely most important of all, it can not be edited. There are a few people on steemit that like to pretend to be tag police by downvoting content because of tag usage, so try to keep the tags relevant to your post.

To find tags and content, surf through the first couple of pages of the tags that may interest you, I would avoid the trending and hot tabs, as they are mostly self important upvoters, vote buying bot users. At the bottom of the tags list is the view all ags list. Open it up and have a scroll. Look a a few, and then try to use those primarily in you tag selection.

Hey, thanks bashadow every little bit of info helps! It is quite overwhelming but I am just starting to get my head aroundit and have stumbled across a couple of the best blogs I have ever read anywhere online so that's awesome. I guess I am not here to make money, although if a truck load of it comes my way I shall not say no!
For me ,I am more interested in how this blockchain stuff works and I don't want to be left in the dark when it takes over the world or my children talk about stuff I don't understand.

Thanks again, and yip the trending and hot tag seem to be almost entirely rubbish so I don't go there.

Cheers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60009.56
ETH 3342.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42