Hello Steemit

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

Howdy Steemit,

I’ve never been into any type of social media. I’ve tried but pointless ‘likes’ and badges that literally mean nothing don’t really do anything for me. I also don’t like pointless generic comments on my photos. You know the ones I mean:

  • Nice pic, congrats!
  • Great color!
  • Wonderful image!
  • Inspiring!

You can’t even tell if the person looked at the pic or if they are just spamming that on everything they come across. I even tried writing a couple of reviews on TripAdvisor, but what’s the point? It’s a massive publicly-traded corporation and I’m not going to do their work for them for free. I might be a chump, but I’m not a huge chump (debatable).

Needless to say, when I heard there was a place that paid cryptocurrency for good content I was pretty excited. So I created an account and opened up Pages (Apple’s version of MS Word)……and had a blank page for approximately two weeks as I could think of absolutely nothing to say in my #introduceyourself post. I still can’t think of anything to say, but I finally found the motivation to force my fingers to move across the keyboard while they vomit out whatever comes to mind. As you can see, I’m very excited to be joining the community.

Anyways, my two biggest interests are travel and photography, so that will make me approximately the ten-millionth person to come on here writing about travel and posting travel pictures. I’m a professional photographer from Portland, Oregon and before moving back home about three years ago I spent six years living in Bogota, Colombia.

I’ve been to every continent except Antarctica and have traveled most extensively in Latin America. In addition to the six years of living in Colombia, I’ve also done a five-month trip through Central America, a ten-month trip through South America, and many smaller trips. I’ve been to every country on the mainland of the Americas except for Venezuela (wish I’d gone before things got bad), Guyana, Suriname, and French Guiana.

Currently I’m in Spain on a trip I started less than a week ago that will last four and a half months. I don’t have any concrete plans, but in addition to Spain I hope to visit Tunisia, Italy, Portugal, and maybe Israel. My posts will most likely be a combination of older stuff from my time in South America and some new stuff from my current trip.

Below are a few of my photos:

me.jpg
Me

california_death_valley_190_west_small1.jpg
California State Route 190 West passing through Death Valley National Park.

muyuna_green_and_yellow_snake_reedit_small1.jpg
Friendly wildlife in the Amazon Rainforest in Peru.

rio_lagartos_dirt_road_blue_sky_red_and_green_water_small1.jpg
Colorful landscape near Rio Lagartos in Mexico.

villa_de_leyva_plaza_pigeons_infrared_small1.jpg
Plaza Mayor in Villa de Leyva, Colombia. I like to shoot infrared to mix things up from time to time. I'm not currently traveling with my infrared camera as it tends to just be dead weight in my bag.

vicuna_mamalluca_observatory_interior_small1.jpg
Mamalluca observatory in Vicuña, Chile. Located in the Elqui Valley with over 300 clear days and nights a year it is an excellent spot for star gazing.

uyuni_salar_at_night_small1.jpg
Nighttime shot of the Salar de Uyuni in Bolivia.

wyoming_medicine_wheel_dreamcatcher_seashell_small1.jpg
Dreamcatcher at Medicine Wheel in Wyoming, USA.

Sort:  

Welcome! :D

Great pictures @jman27 ! Just what you wanted to hear :D It's kind of ironic that most of the other comments on your post are bots or copy&paste,.. well steemit still has to improve in many ways but there is potential.
I'm jealous that you are in Spain, I want to visit Barcelona again. I had such a great time there! Looking forward to more pics from your travels and hopefully some stories about them, followed :D

Thanks! Yeah, Barcelona is great. I was in the Sagrada Familia today and I think it is the most beautiful building I've ever seen. It's beauty almost moved me to tears. Anyway, I see you live in Seoul. I lived there myself many years ago for a very short time.

Yeah the Sagrada Familia was amazing!! Living in Seoul is good but I'm planning to move back to Europe next year. Been living here for more than 5 years so I feel it's time for something new :)


Welcome to Steem @jman27.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchian works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

welcome brother,

Hello And Welcome To Steemit!

It is a platform like none other. You can get to know people from all over the world. If you continue to post great informative content you will grow a following in no time!

Start following some authors that post good content and upvote them as well. Follow Me! Make some friends and you will be well on your way to earning some nice curation rewards and growing your following.

I have created some great YouTube videos that you can watch to learn all about Steemit and how to succeed using it. A new video will be released every week so consider subscribing to learn even more about Steemit! If you ever have any questions, or need help with something, feel free to comment on the videos as well.

Best Of Luck!
Spencer Coffman
Read My Latest Article: 2 Additional Intelligence Types

Hi there! Welcome to Steemit. I'm glad you made it here. Looking forward to reading your post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66599.03
ETH 3421.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63