Hello World!

IMG_0165.JPG

Who Is This Guy?

My name is Jordan Fernandes and I’m proud to be a geek! A geek is usually understood as an unfashionable or socially inept person who enjoys video games, books, and movies to an obsessive level. Also, someone who engages in or discusses computer-related tasks with great attention to technical detail. Those descriptions fit me to a T! Being a geek seems to be back in vogue, but that’s mostly because people confuse us with hipsters.

Things I Like

I like movies and habitually sprinkle movie quotes into daily conversation. Especially quotes from Star Wars or The Princess Bride. I know too many useless facts and movie lines for my own good! My mind just remembers details. I’m a voracious reader who spends WAY too much money on books for someone who owns a library card… I like the world of technology and I try to stay up to date on new developments even though it seems like changes are happening almost every minute. I like being outdoors and staying active, so I love riding bicycles off-road and on and I also love hiking and trail running. I’ve completed two Spartan races and in two days I summited the highest point in the contiguous US (Mount Whitney, Lone Pine, CA) and the lowest point (Badwater Basin, Death Valley, CA).

IMG_0004.JPG

Things I Love

I love connecting with people and I especially love sharing between cultures. My dad is of Mexican and Portuguese descent and my mom is of Italian and Irish descent, so my ancestry is a glorious, colorful mixture! I also love volunteering and giving back to my community. I think that serving people who can give nothing in return is one of the noblest acts and I’m always amazed at how rewarding it is. Surprising a waiter with a generous tip or giving an extraordinary, unexpected gift are a couple of ways I enjoy giving. I’m very passionate about the art of Do-It-Yourself creating. I recently built a Raspberry Pi to display dashboards full of data at work and my next project will be figuring out a way to commute work via e-bike. I can’t wait to see how that turns out! My greatest love (and biggest inspiration) is my wife Kirsten. She’s the happiest, kindest, smartest, and most balanced woman I know. She’s like a ray of sunshine on my soul – my life would be so sad without her. Together we are my ideal team for adventuring through life.

Things I Dislike

I dislike cheating, disrespectfulness, dishonesty. I regularly distance myself from negativity and unbridled cynicism. I detest anything fake, hateful, or needlessly violent.

Things I’m Working On

Sure, I have plenty of weaknesses. That doesn’t mean I’m not working on them! I firmly believe in redemption and I think everyone deserves a chance to prove they are improving. I’ve made plenty of mistakes in my life, including some I’ll forever regret, but the best I can do is to apologize, learn, and grow better! I’ve been working on my quickness to pass judgement recently. I naturally try to assess facts and arrive at a conclusion which works fine in the tech world when I’m reviewing a piece of code, but I’ve learned that things can be much more nuanced in life. I’ve passed judgement too quickly in the past and realized later that I needed to look at a thing from a few other angles before I made such a quick jump. I think it’s a natural struggle for anyone with a passionate personality, but I’m still working to improve on myself.

Things I Aspire To

I hope to be a leader, an agent for positive change in the world around me. My heart is broken by violence and caustic dialog and I want to be an inspiration for others who feel similarly. I want to break down barriers and walls between people because I believe everyone has something valuable to bring to the table. Ideally, I would love to see a community where everyone is building each other up. This is an ambitious vision, but I would love to be part of a shining city upon a hill – a model of communal charity, affection, and unity to the world.

IMG_9969.JPG

My Goal With This Blog

Aside from having fun and meeting new people, my goal with this blog is to show how connected we are, how much we truly have in common. I want to share the power of positivity and the benefits of investing into each other. This blog is really a result of a quote widely attributed to Gandhi: “Be the change you want to see happen.” So I’m out here with my family and in my community putting legs on my prayers and clacking away on the keyboard to share this message: Love someone today, learn something new.

Something I Loved And Something I Learned Starting This Blog

I loved looking back through piles of great photos in preparing future blog posts. It was a fun reminder of how blessed I am. My future is bright! I learned that getting this going would be much harder than I thought. It takes a lot more work to put results together when the ideas are so big!

Sort:  

Hi @jferngeek! Welcome to steemit! Hope you'll like being here :)

Thanks for commenting @soly! I'm feeling very welcomed with all the great comments to my post :)

Hi, jferngeek, you're welcome. Keep it up and enjoy it.

Nice introduction, I am sure you'll get a lot of love from the steem community. I will follow your journey here

I am so happy to see another traveler here on the blockchain and the fact that you are a geek, I know you will fit right in! Can't wait to see where you are going to take us!

You've Been.png

We wanted to let you know, we have given you a 100% upvote, are now following you, and are introducing you to everyone we know. You can visit our post HERE

Welcome to the SteemIt Community.
Scott & Ren

Thanks for commenting @xcountytravelers! My wife and I have several trips in the works with varying levels of urgency. I can't wait to see where we'll go either! Also, I followed you back because you seem to have an interesting journey. Thanks again!

Thank you so very much. We are happy to follow you on your journey. We are in this life to share and be a part of other people's lives. So glad we are here together.
Ren

Very good introduction. You have a very good attitude and I hope you can enjoy being on steem. I found this post because @brittandjosie put you into the Pay It Forward contest. Think she picked a pretty good post to share

Thank you so much @stever82 I had the Same thought

Wow! Many thanks to you both @stever82 and @@@brittandjosie! <3

Welcome Geeky Jordan to the great community of Steemit, YESS You are a new Steemian now! I saw your #introduceyourself and its nice to meet you. I agree engaging Will be important in All shapes and forms.
Blogging, building and uplifting eachother is what steemit needs and what its all about on this blockchain. The best part is that you could earn money too.💴💸💰
I never blogged before I started but I just do. But always be carefull with all your passwords, Never give those up !!
For safety tips visit https://steemit.com/steem/@verhp11/safety-first-first-aid-kit-for-steemians-who-are-just-beginning-this-great-journey from Our fellow steemy @verhp11. The Steemify App I use is great, it is available in the Appstore and free, go cheque it out. I wish you good luck with steeming and I Will See you around🍀
Your value and input is appreciated!
Good luck with your journey and may you find what you are looking for.
Just remember that all good things come in good time and never giving up is they key to big succes on Steemit.
Please vote for a witness to.
Let me know if this was helpfull or you need more help.
Greetings from Brittandjosie from the Netherlands

Thanks for the helpful comment @brittandjosie! My wife and I visited the Netherlands on our honeymoon and LOVED it!
I'll definitely check out the app you recommended.

Great let me know who steemit life is going and if i can help

Welcome fellow newbie @jferngeek
I loved reading your intropost, and you seem like a fine human being!

My friend once said "you are such a geek!" to which I responded "thank you". My friend being confused I added "now, who do you think runs the world? I for one would prefer it to be geeks" - so yes, do carry on being a proud geek, the world needs more of it.

I'm a geek too. The seventh season of Star Wars Clone Wars is scheduled for the fall of 2019. I'm excited. I'm from Oregon. Saw the Golden State Bridge once. Very interesting. Yeah, I love people.

Thanks for commenting @joeyarnoldvn! I'm excited for the new Star Wars content. I know a lot of people who hate the new works by Disney, but I'm just enjoying it to the fullest!

I want to see the Old Republic.

I would love to see a live-action trilogy on Obi Won Kenobi. Beyond that, anything Vader is great as seen at the end of Rogue One.

I love Ahsoka.

I was watching that cartoon, Resistance, last night which occurs prior to The Force Awakens, it seems. The Clone Wars was my favorite cartoon. Second would be Rebels. Third might be the original Clone Wars cartoon show from like 2003. I really love the Dark Horse Comics where Luke fell to the dark side. You get to see the Emperor return via like clones. Well, if he can clone armies, why not be able to clone yourself as well.

Vader's apprentices.

I really love Star Killer. Oh, by the way, in the comics, during the fall of 2018, it shows Vader working on his castle. He had to rebuild it like nine times. He is trying to resurrect his wife, Padme, with the help of an ancient mask which contained the spirit of an ancient Sith that then stabbed Vader in the back. He used Vader in order to resurrect himself. So, I guess, they're going battle.

Last Jedi.

The most interesting part was at the end where Luke is pretending to fight Ben Skywalker, AKA Kylo Ren. But Luke was like not even there the whole time. Very interesting. Yoda was kind of funny too in that film.

Hola, bienvenido, excelente que te hayas unido a la comunidad, yo también soy nuevo... acá estamos para apoyarnos y seguir adelantes. Abrazos!

Welcome to the steem blockchain, @jferngeek! A wonderful introduction post! Following with interest for more of the same. We share an enthusiasm of biking it seems. 😎

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 58961.27
ETH 2500.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45