My introduction_A glimpse into my life

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Hi steemians! I am excited to be joining this community.

So… about me…

My usual introduction begins a little like this;

Hi, my name is Julie and I left the Kingston polygamous clan when I was 19 years old. That’s the introduction I give when I’m presenting to an audience. I want to give you fellow steemians a little more; I want to give you the parts I normally don’t talk about.

Paul.jpg
This is my uncle Paul Kingston. The current "prophet" of the Kingston group.
The image comes from Rolling Stones Magazine. I'll link the article below. It is a great read!

I was born into polygamy in the basement of my grandmothers home in Bountiful Utah. I did walk away from it when I was 19 years old. It was an amazing journey but also the hardest thing I’ve ever done… up to that point! I was getting to start completely over in life (with a car and $300). The world was my oyster. I looked forward to making my future everything I ever dreamed it could be.

18557361_1349200655166483_3941994690153211621_n.jpg
This is my mom and I standing in the very spot where I was born 36 years later. We were on a paranormal ghost tour!

I met my husband two days after I left this group. He was an amazing person. He helped me through so much mentally and emotionally after I left the cult. I always told people that I left on my own physically but he helped me leave emotionally.

We clicked right away but there was one tiny problem. He was an LDS missionary. We spoke nearly every day during the final year of his mission and began dating as soon as he completed his two years. I was home in Utah and he went back home to Alabama. It was a whirlwind of a romance. A long distance romance, but I fell in love with this guy quickly and quite hard and I thought he did as well…

We were married in the LDS temple almost two years after we first met. It was the most exciting day of my life. As soon as we walked out the front doors of the beautiful and majestic Salt Lake City Temple his mask began to drop. Just seconds after we were man and wife I met the irritable and grumpy man that I would get to know all too well. The following day I got to meet the manipulative and controlling person that would spend the next 16 years of his life slowly tearing away at my soul and stripping away every part of me until I no longer recognized myself.

850cb43926d446b6e3df974b47381b45.jpg

Fast forward to today…

Today, I am a single mom to two beautiful young kids. I walked away from that relationship in June of 2016. My husbands life quickly began to crumble. He lost everything. He lost his family. He lost his job. He was in a serious depression (he was bipolar) and he gave up. He took his life in January of this year.

IMG_1382.JPG
My awesome little family

I find myself starting over once again in life. This new beginning is a bit more stressful, to say the least, but I can truly start over. I realize that almost two decades ago when I left the cult I wasn’t starting over. I walked right into a situation just like the one I had left. A situation that was much more harmful because it was one-on-one rather than the previous experience where a small handful of "leaders" oversaw thousands.

I have had people tell me over the years that I need to write my story. It never felt like the right time. I knew I had to leave that relationship because it was just an extension of the cult. I had to leave all manipulation and control behind before I could write. That relationship was a huge part of my story; the story that no one knew. The part of my life that I kept secret, even from my closest friends and family members.

So, Steemians, I am ready to write my story! I’m ready to bare my soul. Share the deepest and darkest parts of my life but I won’t leave out the fun, entertaining, and exciting. I do choose to focus on the positive.

For the first time in my life, the world is truly my oyster!

This life is finally mine and I’m going to enjoy every part of it that I can. I remember the strength and energy that that 19 year old girl had when she walked away from everything and everyone she ever knew and I tap into that energy often. I am going to take that strength as well as all the knowledge I have gained from my experiences into mine and my children's futures!

Unknown.jpeg
*image credit:http://www.billfrymire.com

I want to share stories from my past and my present. I will include topics, such as polygamy, religion, mental illness, personality disorders, grief, and parenting (specifically kids who have been through trauma). For the lighter days; because they can't all be this heavy, I want to be a part of the community with photography, health, science, travel, food, and just interesting and fun experiences.

Join me on this journey of healing as I navigate through the waters, rediscover myself, and help my children discover their own unique path. I look forward to being a part of this wonderful community.

I have to thank @arbitrarykitten for introducing me to steemit and for convincing me that it would be the perfect platform to share my story!

References
http://www.rollingstone.com/culture/news/inside-the-order-one-mormon-cults-secret-empire-20110615

Sort:  

welcome to join @jewels3, hope you can work well distemem this, regards to know from me @rerycore steemian origin indonesia

Thank you! I hope so as well!

Nice sir
Plz

Upvote me and make comments and i will do same for u

Cool artwork in this post. I'm a gun guy. Love the AK's. Welcome to the greatest crypto platform there is. Lets grow it together by spreading the word to as many people as possible.

It is!
The group I mentioned in my introduction has massive stock piles of them... that and $$$$. I’ll probably eventually write about that part of the cult.

But, thanks for the welcome. This community has been great so far.

I am so happy you are here! You are a spectacular addition :)

Join the Minnow Support Group https://discord.gg/Cxxb5MP Great group to be a part of. Read Start Here first then register.

Join Steemtrails https://discord.gg/mQ9ygC There are many places to advertise your posts, be sure it's the right room for your tags

And SteemitChat https://steemit.chat/index.php

This is just the beginning, I don't want to overwhelm you ;)

Again, WELCOME!!!

Thank you!

It can all get overwhelming. Lol. But I’m getting the hang of it.

Welcome in to the comunity SteemBrother

Thank you!

Here are some helpful tools for your steemit journey :)

Awesome! Thanks! And thanks for linking it so I don’t lose it!

I’m seeing why you were crowned Steemit’s how-to queen!

lol! That was such a surprise! I never in my wildest dreams thought I would beat @papa-pepper of all people!!!

Welcome to steemit!
I know that steemit may seem very overwhelming to you right now but don't worry. There's a learning curve to everything so just be patient and you'll be churning out posts and becoming a part of something great in no time!

Also if there are any questions that you may have, then just ask your questions on any of my blog posts or in a reply below and I'll be more than happy to assist you with whatever questions you may have! I will also be creating a basic starting out guide for all minnows and newcomers on my blog so do give it a read as that might help answer many of your questions!

Have fun and I wish you LOADS of success on here! :)

Also. you can call upon originalworks whenever something you post is your own content like this: @originalworks

Regards
@welcome-to-steem

Thank you so much. I think I’m already following you. 😊

a moment in time, we ebb and flow like air,
once @originalworks looks your way, you'll see a dash of flair...

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @jewels3 to be original material and upvoted(2%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

It's. Been a really good post or me I liked it very much thanks for the post..😉

Thanks for reading. 😊

Hi Julie, hope you are safe and sound with both of your kids now. And yes, sometimes to write about your past means to leave this past behind so keep on posting if it makes you feel better!

We are! I think the kids finally feel that as well.

Yes, writing can help with that and I feel like I’m finally ready for it.

wow, what a life story. Welcome to the community @jewels3. i hope you feel welcome here. Cheers, @rebele93

I do feel welcome. Thank you and thanks for reading.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68034.95
ETH 3846.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66