Hey Steemit! I'm Jessica, a foodie from Philadelphia following my stomach around the world!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Hey everyone!

My name is Jessica and I'm a college student, foodie, and traveler.

13900164_10209590659586000_4359795985186815230_n.jpg

What I do

I'm a foodie because I believe that food can be a bridge of connection between different cultures, and help people to showcase what it's like to live where they live and be who they are.

Right now, I live in Philadelphia in the U.S., which is awesome, because I'm always steps from some of the craziest, tastiest food in the country.

26905912_10214354247672725_1486450190_o.jpg
(For example, the amazing Black Tap milkshakes in NYC!)

But my real dream is to become a full time foodie-traveler, and to follow my stomach wherever it takes me. So far, it's taken me to so many incredible places.

26828518_10214354397236464_265548166_o.jpg
(Like this amazing B&B breakfast table at Lawcus Farm Guesthouse in Kilkenny, Ireland)

Why Steemit?

I've found that Instagram foodie culture often gets trapped in the web of chasing likes and comments, and never actually reaches that point of connection. I'm joining Steemit because I see these kinds of connections being formed here, and I want in!

How I'll Contribute

I can't wait to join this community and invest back into the amazing Steem platform, along with building a strong community around food and culture.

I can't wait to meet and connect with you all soon! :)

Sort:  

Good post!

Thank you!

Welcome Jessica! I'm new, too, and I'm food/beverage writer, so I look forward to your contributions. There are lots of hungry folks here. Followed you to follow along...

I also love Philadelphia - super underrated city IMHO. Love the Monks Cafe!!

I'm glad to hear it! Just followed you back. I've never tried the Monks Cafe, adding it to my "to eat" list right now :)

It's an icon of East Coast Belgian restaurants - beer and frites, can't go wrong (well, unless you're taking a carb break ;-). Thanks for the follow back!

LETS GO BIRDS!!!! But seriously welcome and the food in PHL where I currently am located is some of the best. Distrito... Tulalas garden... Garces trading Co... All of Chinatown haha. What's a hidden gem you'd recommend? If you've never been to sangkee your missing out!

Sang kee has the best peking duck in town - now you're making me hungry! Have you ever tried Sampan in Center City? It's one of my faves!

No but now it's on the top of my todo list!!! Thanks for the heads up and huge +1 on that duck... so good. Have you had any luck with good poke in the area? I tried two places but they were both bleh. Then again comparing it against D.C and Vancouver might be unfair =)

I've actually never tried poke! I'll have to give it a shot...... in D.C. ;) Let me know if you try Sampan! And get the Korean BBQ when you do!

Welcome to Steemit. You are lucky as this is still the moment before the masses storm in through the door. But it won't be long again before that happens. I see you already know how to use tags, that is a plus.

Thank you!! I'm trying to learn as quickly as I can! :)

Welcome to steemit community. Here you have freedom of expressions, share what in your mind.

Thank you! Can't wait to dive in!

you may dive but please take a safety precautions in advance before you dive

That milkshake looks amazing! Welcome to steemit.

It really was! Thank you!

Welcome to Steem!

The Fresh Five is a new Steemian curation effort, geared toward rewarding new Steemians who deliver interesting, fun, thought provoking, or just plain silly introduction posts.

We invite you to come to our Engagement Post and join the comment thread where we hope to encourage engagement and interaction with your fellow Steemians.

Looking forward to seeing you dig in to Steem and join the community!

Hi Jessica! Welcome to Steem!

The Fresh Five is a new Steemian curation effort, geared toward rewarding new Steemians who deliver interesting, fun, thought provoking, or just plain silly introduction posts.

We invite you to come to our Engagement Post and join the comment thread where we hope to encourage engagement and interaction with your fellow Steemians.

Looking forward to seeing you dig in to Steem and join the community!

Yummmm, so exciting! Welcome Jessica!

Thank you!! :)

Congratulations @jessmal, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56922.13
ETH 2347.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43