Why I'm joining the Steemit Community

Hi,
My name is Jean-luc van Charante MSc. MA. (@Jeanlucsr), #Entrepreneur, #Rotarian and #Suriname Ambassador.

I have been lurking on Steemit for quite a while now. Honestly, I still am. To avoid jumping into something I did not know anything about, someone advised me not to jump straight in, but learn about the platform itself. That person is @faustofraser, who convinced me that I should join Steemit. Today is his birthday, so what would be a better present that posting my first Steemit post on this day.

169395_10150899572130868_782695884_o.jpg
Me at the first Social Media Day Suriname, picture by Fausto.

Without further ado, my reasons for joining the community:

  1. The concept
    I've been blogging for quite some time now. Started on my private university space back in 2005, moved to blogger and wordpress after graduating in 2009, had my own blogging website in 2014 and briefly shifted to LinkedIn Pulse and Facebook Notes before making Medium my main blogging channel. Blogging got away from me as I started vlogging on YouTube and you get the story. Loads of original content, scattered all over the place. With Steemit, I want to bring all the content back together. Catered to an audience that will actually tell me wether or not they find value in my content, without me having to pitch or sell any product. Sure, views, visits and shares tell me if my content is popular, but actually getting paid for content without having to link to an e-commerce site or paid link, please... sign me up!

  2. The blockchain
    I studied Social Science. I'm people's person, I have two left hands and can't do anything technical whatsoever. I'm creative, but when it comes to technical stuff, I zone out quite quickly. I tried to buy crypto currency today for a solid half an hour today and failed miserably. I do however understand the importance of blockchain technology and know I need to learn more. Steemit offers exactly this, with a lot of articles about blockchain, crypto and much more. Spending time consuming content here will help me more than cats videos and gifs on other current Social Media channels.

  3. Distribution
    In an interest based world, you should never stop searching for places with like minded people. Steemit offers me another channel to meet and collaborate with people with similar minds and interests. For me the main topics are:

  • Social Media and Online Marketing
  • Entrepreneurship and Personal Development
  • Suriname and developing countries through Tourism and the Creative Industries

If you are interested in any of these topics, feel free to connect or hit me up.

Let's develop something great together,
Tan bun,
@jeanlucsr

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/JeanlucSR/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/JeanlucSR
LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/jeanlucsr/
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/jeanlucsr/
Snapchat: https://www.snapchat.com/add/jeanlucsr/
Youtube: https://youtube.com/jeanlucsr

Sort:  

Hello welcome to steemit Jean-luc

Welcome to Steemit!

Welcome to steemit @jeanlucsr upvote :)

Welcome and Keep it up with Good Work <3

Thanks @heartwants! Looking forward to learn more and provide value.

Welcome @jeanlucsr! Congrats on your first post and thank you for the good timing :)
You are a valuable addition to the Steemit community without even knowing it...lol. Enjoy your time here and Steem on!

Mucho lobi @faustofraser. It took some time, but I'm here. Looking forward to learn and contribute.

Great intro post! I, too, joined Steemit because a friend told me I should! Welcome to the platform @jeanlucsr!
I am @gogogadgetupvote and I upvoted and Resteemed your post thanks to a link from YOU! Thanks for supporting my project! You are the first person to link me to their own Introduction. Congrats on getting double the prizes.

Wow @gogogadgetupvote, thanks for replying! Really appreciate it. I was a little hesitant to submit my own intro, but thought 'why not?'. Now I'm glad I did :). Happy to connect en looking forward to learning more.

Everyone should get a nice bump to their introduction post! Help make new users feel welcome here on Steemit! I am just doing my small part to help! Thanks for participating!

Very valid point! Thanks for the support, its much bigger than you think ;)

Glad I can help, bud!!

Welcome brada!!!! Glad to see you here :D

Brada! Glad to join the community. Ready to learn and help put Sranan on the map.

Even after this was posted 29 days ago, I can still make comments... I can't upvote this post, but I can upvote any reply made to this comment withing so many days... Thanks for that gift in SBD's...
@pocketechange

Happy to give you something you deserve @pocketechange!
You are one of the few people that helped me out in the beginning and I have had actual conversations with. Thanks to you Steemit for me feels less like an emotionless money platform and more like an actual Social Media platform.
I'm going to continue giving tokens of appreciation, one person a day, as a gratitude to what Steemit can mean for us. Glad to have you part of it on day 1.

When you pass out those SDB's, remember this... The last time I heard, "1.001" SDB is equal to about 13.01 in Fiat Dollars... Following my Theory, One will be enough to pay off $1,301.00 in 'BILLS"... Check out my "UNITED STATES OF WE THE PEOPLE" post...
@pocketechange

Yes sir, I've heard. Which is great! Checked it out, nice post.

Welcome to steemit! I probably should have headed that advice before I just jumped right in, but it turned out no worse for wear. Look forward to more posts!

Thanks @diezeldiddy! Still made the mistake of uploading my first post without a profile image. Hope to learn a bit more from you about crypto!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61238.36
ETH 3278.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46