Hi! Introducing 6 decades of My Life & eclectic ideas to motivate you!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

I’m John, aka @jbwhite, and live in Texas. Thanks for taking a look! You’ll find out some things about me and some practices that I’ve tried and proven successful in my life. My hope is you find these successful for you as well!

First, How I got to Steemit 

Last year I was studying a bit about blockchain technology and got excited about how it will positively change so many aspects of life. And I stumbled onto Steemit. I love the concept and joined in December 2017. I see Steemit as a fantastic forum for exploring life, both light and dark. I’ve got 6 decades of life behind me and could enjoy another 6 ahead of me too if I put my heart into it. So beware, I’ve got a lot to talk about!! 

Verified with Oscar as my witness!  (Oscar is the one without glasses!.)

Present Time 

My starting point for the Steemit journey is an eclectic life full of family, friends and adventures. I’ve been married to my High School sweetheart, Elaine, for 44 years. Oh, and did I mention that we have six children. 

A happy anniversary

I currently do materials science and engineering to fund my life and adventures. I work both in the small micro-spaces and the large macro-spaces of life and continually see more and more the connectedness of all things. Elaine and I created and maintain a Suburban Woodland Garden oasis that teaches me the importance of edges, interfaces and nodes. There is abundant life in our garden.  

Our Suburban Wildlife Garden in the DFW area is a wildlife paradise.

Past Times 

I love learning and after a dark delay from the shadow of seriously ill children, I finished my BS Chemistry Degree at age 30 and my Master’s Degree in Materials Science at age 50. I’m published in peer reviewed science journals and love teaching as well. I’ve taught permaculture gardening, beekeeping and materials science classes. I’m also a spiritual person and taught all the books of the Christian Bible during my church years. In my post-church years I worked to intermediate level in kundalini yoga and continue a modified practice. 

My dark side of life includes bouts with mind fog and depression that eventually were diagnosed as mostly due to celiac (gluten intolerance). Shadows of fear and hidden trauma have been soothed with mindfulness practices. Two 10-day Vipassana Meditation retreats and following practice provided powerful mindfulness training. These are all for future posts about life and living. 

On the lighter side, my genealogy research revealed an Irish and Scottish connection that added more adventure to my life. I took advantage of this to have fun wearing a kilt and enjoying the entertaining Irish and Scottish festivals and holidays in Texas.

Modern Duncan kilt (Clan Donnachaidh) with an Irish flair for St. Patrick's Day 2017.

Future Times 

I’m working on my vision for the next 54 years and it’s built around five connecting nodes of life that I’ll share later. My efforts will be toward discovering the “complete me”. In this way, I will contribute to the re-creation of a resilient world built on loving-kindness and life for all beings. It will include learning and actions in health, nutrition, consciousness, mindfulness, science, technology and the connectedness of all things.

I’ll continue to use valuable tools like Patti Dobrowolski’s Draw your future. I share it now because it’s simple and powerful. It’s like vision boards and mind maps that I’ve used for years, but on steroids! These let me engage my emotions as well as my mind. I want to share what I learn as we all grow together. What a delightful adventure.

I keep my drawing on our magnetic paint kitchen pantry door.

I appreciate making this connection with you. May you be at peace, be free from suffering and be happy!


Sort:  

Hey John! From a Texas guy I was expecting horses, cows and beans but what I see here is an Irish kilt lol :-) Just joking! Lovely post! Welcome to Steemit!

Funny! There's a couple of guys that wear Cowboy Boots and Western Hats with their kilts to the festivals. If I can find my picture of them I'll post some time. Thanks for the laugh!

Ok, just tell me when you post it!


Welcome to Steemit @jbwhite!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

I do a daily devotion Thoughts for the day if your interested.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Let me know if I can help.
Many blessings! @bycoleman

The Future is great! I appreciate the thoughtful links. And your 2/10/18 thought for the day is transformational. Thanks!

Great post! Welcome to Steemit!

Thank you! I appreciate your kind greeting. And your website looks like a valuable source of ideas to handle the massive data we encounter and generate. I love data.

You're welcome!

Hello @jbwhite... Cute dog.. May u also be happy and well... God bless!

Thanks! He's been my shadow (or vice versa) for 13 years now. He normally has a big happy face but I guess he took being my witness seriously. 😄

Hi.. Welcome to Steemit

please follow me @daverdp..
I will follow you and upvote you

Thank you

Thank you for visiting!

welcome to steemit. I hope you will enjoy your account and keep posting your original content and the nice photos :)

Thank you! I have some beautiful garden pictures planned for future posts. The garden is a magical place.

Hi Welcome to Steem. Congratulations! It's an awesome community. I followed you. Please follow back. Good Luck.82dac99-285x300 (1).jpg

Thanks. Good luck to you!

Hi there @jbwhite!

on behalf of the newly established steemit community here in General Santos CIty Philippines.

We welcome you our fellow new comer!
27849364_1828500493887189_1560932520_n.jpg

Thanks @gabiino. Looks like a great community! Have fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62625.86
ETH 3333.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47