Hi Steemit!

Hi Steemit crowd.

My name is Jason Brubaker. I am currently a graphic novel writer/artist/self-publisher.

Photo on 1-29-18 at 10.57 AM.jpg

So a little about me I guess.

I grew up in Idaho and moved to LA when I was 20 to pursue my art career. I was represented by Famous Frames (a storyboarding agency) for 6 years and worked on hundreds of commercials, music videos and a handful of movies. You can see my movie credits here: http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0115386/?ref_=nv_sr_2

After doing storyboards I jumped into traditional animation for commercials and worked my way up to art directing and directing commercial animation. Then I eventually landed a job (compositing and BG character animation) for the intro for Kung Fu Panda 1 with James Baxter (a legend animator, look him up). Here's where you can see that project: http://www.artofthetitle.com/title/kung-fu-panda/

That got me into the doors of Dreamworks Animation where I applied for the Vis Dev position. I spent the next 7 years at Dreamworks doing visual development for Kung Fu Panda 2 and 3, Croods, Penguins, Captain Underpants, Dinotrucks and more.

Then in 2015 I quit Dreamworks and left Hollywood. I had been posting my personal comic online called "reMIND" and it started getting an audience.

BOOK-reMIND 1.jpg

So in 2015, I moved back to Idaho to try to get back into my first love - comics - and do freelance on the side. But right before the move, I was approached by Webtoons.com about posting my new comic "SITHRAH" on their platform for payment and it was just enough to pay my bills in Idaho. So for the last 2 years I have been working full-time on Sithrah for Webtoons.

Sithrah6_120-121-patreons.jpg

February of 2018 my series will end and I will be out of a job with Webtoons. But I still have lots of projects and ideas that I want to work on next if I can afford it.

I have had some success with Kickstarter to print my books in the past and I plan to keep do that in the future to raise funds for printing.

I also have a Youtube channel where I show progress of my comics and interviews and stuff. But as we all know, it doesn't really help in paying bills unless you have 100 billion subscribers and so I'm not really counting on that much. But I will take a stab at Dtube now that I am on steemit. I am kinda falling in love with cryptocurrency (as we are are) and so I love the idea of Steem and Dtube.

You can read my comics for free online too. Here is a link to my first one reMIND: http://remindblog.com
And here is a link to my current (soon ending) one, SITHRAH: http://www.webtoons.com/en/fantasy/sithrah/list?title_no=524

Here is my D.tube channel (currently empty) where I will post an intro video soon. :)


Here is my Youtube channel too: https://www.youtube.com/user/BrubakerMotion/

So why am I here on Steemit?

Well, since I am out of a job in a month I figured this would be a great place to start focusing some free time to see if I can flex my blogging muscles again. And like I say, I am fascinated with cryptocurrency and I am so confused by blockchain that I figured I needed to dive into this in order to get my head wrapped about it. I will try to broaden my topics that I talk about here on Steemit too so it's not ONLY about comics.

Oh yeah, did I mention that I hate Facebook and Twitter? (I still use twitter though) haha.

Well, if you read this far then you are a true champion. Thanks for your time and I look forward to getting to know more Steemers.

Jason Brubaker

Sort:  

wow im reading your comic now :)

Oh wow! Thanks so much. :) I hope you like it.

^^ i loved it

Off topic - but I love your user icon xD

xD feel free to grab it

Hey! Good to see you here :) I've been following your work for a long time, I even bought a SITHRAH copy some time ago haha. Your art style is just amazing and unique, hope to see more stuff of yours here!
P.S: also hate facebook haha, steemit is way better, think you're gonna like this platform ;D

Thanks so much! I checked out your posts and I love your art style. :)

Well, I'll be damned. I was watching random videos a few weeks ago and I watched one on your experience on kickstarter, but only a few videos - then I went back to surfing and then -

what are the odds that you post on steemit hahaha - life is strange.

Welcome to Steemit!

Thanks! Cool to hear you found my vids. I'm actually going to try to use d.tube too and maybe even the livestream on dlive.io too. This is all so exciting to be part of. :)

It was quite weird seeing your name here haha - and yes it is ! This platform is so early, compared with against the Youtube/Reddit population. It's a great time to be starting out.

Yeah, so fantastic, nice to know you

Cool to see an actual comic artist here. you got a new follower and upvoted :)

You’ve got your first diehard supporter in me. I was quite excited to see you here! If you have any questions don’t hesitate to ask. I’ve been “Steeming” for about a year and a half and I know the early learning curve can be a bit steep.
Can’t wait to read and see more.

Awesome man! Thanks for offering help. You must have been one of the very first on here because hasn't it only been around for a year and a half? I am confused with blockchain though. I mean I understand kinda how it works with bitcoin but not for running a social media website and video hosting website like this. Is there any good documentation or videos explaining how this is all working someplace that you can suggest?

Welcome to Steemit! Great to have you here. I'm your second die hard supporter after Bryan, lol. I loved your book Unnatural Talent and have been a fan of your blog for a long time as well.

@bryan-imhoff is the person I go to if I have any questions and he has been great for the comic book community here so don't hesitate to ask him. I'm happy to help as well.

This is the shortest way I've come up with explaining Steemit to a noob.

  1. Where the Money Comes From? There is 9% inflation every year (goes down 0.5% a year, so 8% inflation this year).

  2. The money (Steem) that is created goes into a prize pool that is distrubted to creators based on "likes." (That's all you need to know for now)

  3. You can monetize any given post for 7 days, then the money goes into your wallet (Watch youtube on Steem vs Steem Power vs. Steem Dollars).

  4. Steem is traded on a lot of different exchanges, and speculators drive the price on Steem far more than the website Steemit right now.

Spend time on Youtube to understand "Steem Power" (voting power) and you'll be good to go.

Hi There! Thanks for the comment. I was wondering where the Steem money came from. Very interesting. I will do some Youtubeing about what you suggested and see what I can learn. That's cool that you are publishing your comic exclusively on steemit. I'm going to have to think about doing that for something in the future. :)

I was fortunate to see something about Steemit shortly after it first started paying out, 2 or 3 months after launch. So I’d probably be “second wave” I guess!
I’ll have to dig around and see if I can find any good resources. Certainly reading the 2 white papers and blue paper you can find in the side navigation is a good start. But if you have an understanding of bitcoin and blockchain in general, you’re ahead of the game!
Steem works the same but instead of just storing financial transactions, it also stores text. Every post & comment we make goes into a block that is created once every 3 seconds. As such it’s important to remember that anything we post here is forever! You can’t completely erase anything recorded to Steem. Images and video are not stored on the blockchain. They’re too big to keep the blockchain manageable. They’re linked to by the blockchain, either hosted on a centralized server or using emerging decentralized file technology known as IPFS (which dTube is based off of.)

It's okey. Certainly I will ask you when I don't understand

WelcomeToSteemit.jpg

Holy shit it's Grant Cardone :0

Thanks Grant. You look very professional shooting fire. ;)

very good work

Great work you do Jason, so talented!
thumb03

Thanks Robertchr!

Hi
Welcome to Steem. Congratulations! It's an awesome community. I followed you. Please follow back. Good Luck.
coffee.jpg

Hello Jason!.. Unatural Talent is Amazing, as well as Cognitive Drawing.....I cannot wait to see what else you put on here.

Thanks man. I can't wait to see too. :)

Thanks steemcafe! Followed you back. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75