You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hi Steemit!

You’ve got your first diehard supporter in me. I was quite excited to see you here! If you have any questions don’t hesitate to ask. I’ve been “Steeming” for about a year and a half and I know the early learning curve can be a bit steep.
Can’t wait to read and see more.

Sort:  

Awesome man! Thanks for offering help. You must have been one of the very first on here because hasn't it only been around for a year and a half? I am confused with blockchain though. I mean I understand kinda how it works with bitcoin but not for running a social media website and video hosting website like this. Is there any good documentation or videos explaining how this is all working someplace that you can suggest?

Welcome to Steemit! Great to have you here. I'm your second die hard supporter after Bryan, lol. I loved your book Unnatural Talent and have been a fan of your blog for a long time as well.

@bryan-imhoff is the person I go to if I have any questions and he has been great for the comic book community here so don't hesitate to ask him. I'm happy to help as well.

This is the shortest way I've come up with explaining Steemit to a noob.

  1. Where the Money Comes From? There is 9% inflation every year (goes down 0.5% a year, so 8% inflation this year).

  2. The money (Steem) that is created goes into a prize pool that is distrubted to creators based on "likes." (That's all you need to know for now)

  3. You can monetize any given post for 7 days, then the money goes into your wallet (Watch youtube on Steem vs Steem Power vs. Steem Dollars).

  4. Steem is traded on a lot of different exchanges, and speculators drive the price on Steem far more than the website Steemit right now.

Spend time on Youtube to understand "Steem Power" (voting power) and you'll be good to go.

Hi There! Thanks for the comment. I was wondering where the Steem money came from. Very interesting. I will do some Youtubeing about what you suggested and see what I can learn. That's cool that you are publishing your comic exclusively on steemit. I'm going to have to think about doing that for something in the future. :)

I was fortunate to see something about Steemit shortly after it first started paying out, 2 or 3 months after launch. So I’d probably be “second wave” I guess!
I’ll have to dig around and see if I can find any good resources. Certainly reading the 2 white papers and blue paper you can find in the side navigation is a good start. But if you have an understanding of bitcoin and blockchain in general, you’re ahead of the game!
Steem works the same but instead of just storing financial transactions, it also stores text. Every post & comment we make goes into a block that is created once every 3 seconds. As such it’s important to remember that anything we post here is forever! You can’t completely erase anything recorded to Steem. Images and video are not stored on the blockchain. They’re too big to keep the blockchain manageable. They’re linked to by the blockchain, either hosted on a centralized server or using emerging decentralized file technology known as IPFS (which dTube is based off of.)

It's okey. Certainly I will ask you when I don't understand

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66683.89
ETH 3311.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70