Hello Steemit, great to meet you!

Who am I?

Call me J; I live and work in Ventura County down here in sunny California, staring at spreadsheets for a living. In a nutshell, aside from plodding formulas into cells, my work entails a lot of learning new stuff and coming with ways to make sense of new information quickly. Naturally, that interest and curiosity spilled over to this thing called cryptocurrencies and the underlying technology behind it, the blockchain. I liked the topic so much that I ended up doing a degree from a university that takes Bitcoin on the same topic, eager to share to the willing about its possibilities.

How did I end up here?

After attending graduation in Cyprus, I was looking for a blockchain-related meetup in Ventura County, and among the first ones I saw were MLM-type groups that use FOMO and shady marketing tactics so separate the gullible from their retirement savings. If the general public is to have a positive reception with such a transformative technology (just like the Internet and all of its utilities), learning from charlatans isn't the best way to make a first impression.

Long story short, I found a more legitimate group and below is our photo (https://www.meetup.com/Steemit-101-Social-Media-Blockchain-for-Ventura-Networks/). Since we're talking about first impressions, why not participate in a blockchain-powered social media platform? As you can tell, this post has been quite late and due for some time, attributing to how busy I've been doing other things (or to my secret procrastinator personality). 

In any case, shoutout to @oliverwendell for organizing these meetups. If you're ever in Ventura County, tell your friends, tell your family, anyone interested in discussing technical / economic / social effects of the blockchain; even the basics of setting up wallets or anything tangential to the topic, you're more than welcome to swing by. The blockchain is a decentralized technology after all, stronger with more participants in its network.

What do you hope to gain from Steemit?

Love and Steem... lots of it.

But in all seriousness, I'm hoping that this blog would serve more as a creative outlet, as I've found out that I don't write as often as like and change that through regular posting. Most of the topics I'll post are probably for my own mental exploration, in an attempt to close the gap between what's in my head and putting down something coherent for others to appreciate, consume, or even critique. Of course, if you like discussing them with me and if it piques your interest, please feel free to do so in the comments.

And with that, thanks for reading and great to meet you!

Sort:  

Thanks Jason for your kind words! Hope to get another meetup soon! Cheers!

The pleasure is mine, though sorry that I had to miss the last one. I'll try to bring a friend on the next!

Welcome to Steem @jasonacacio I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Why thank you kindly, please remember me when we humanity is presented with our new robotic overlords. As the lyrics to a famous song go: "I like big bots and I cannot lie..."

What's up Jason nice intro post!

Thanks! I hope everything's great with you!

Congratulations @jasonacacio! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Look who's here ^^ Jasonacacio, I'm just here to leave a nice Hello ^^. Unfortunately i don't have much voting power, but i will be back and vote my followers. Need to grow a little ^^. Have a great time @rightuppercorner

Hello to you too! I'll indeed have a great time; thanks!

Nice introduction post! Glad you made it onto this platform. It’s going to change your life, hope you have a good time. If you have any doubts, you can always join Steemit.chat and ask for #help.

Sounds great, thanks for the warm welcome!

Welcome :)!

sup.gif

Here a few tips for starters snce you probably won't get any advice from those who comment under here, here's what I gathered thus far.
It's tough to make money at first so if that's your main cause to be on here grind that into your head straight away, that doesn't mean you shouldn't post content, you should, but enganging with others in the comment sections to grow your following is your best bet. Which categories?

Probably the introduce yourself one and the photography section but you can choose things that you have knowledge about too and then go from there just know that there is a lot of crap on here so plowing through that just to connect with others can be tough. Cheers.

Cool gif and thanks for the advice, I'll certainly keep that in mind. :)

Hello jasonacacio welcome on steemit .Hope You enjoy it , I have upvoted and sent you a tip
i am looking forward for your post .
follow me at @khuber
have a great time ahead @khuber

Thanks! I appreciate your reply!

welcome to steemit! :)

Thanks, have a good one as well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57173.66
ETH 3067.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39