Heyyyyaaaa! New Minnow Here - What's up Steem?!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

Hi everyone! I'm new to the Steemit Community. I learned about it when I got into the crypto rabbit hole last year. I finally joined this year because I think the best way for mass adoption is to actually use the products and become an advocate for them, so here I am!

Brazil Pic.jpg

I quit my job six months ago, traveled for a bit, and currently reside in Australia for a few short months. I have always been one to embrace change, but this move proved to be tougher than I thought. I left my job in sales, my friends, my family, my routine -- pretty much everything I had to take on this challenge. I was okay with leaving everything.

My partner has lived here for a year before I came and already had his life "established" while I "start over." What shocked me was how much I relied on people; on their emotional and social support to get me through the days. One can say that I resemble a hyena in a way that I need to be around people to thrive. This is another reason why I turned to Steemit will be good for me, I have respect for the community in that people are genuinely interested in one another. There's a certain altruistic-feel-good-type-of- feeling that the Steem community brings.

In my first post, I'll write about my travels from November. I visited Melbourne, Australia as my 30 day "trial period" to see if I would like it -- turns out, I did! Stay tuned :)

Aussie 2.jpg

If the world was to end in 30 days, which country would you go to and why? What are the top 3 tourist MUST DO's in that country?

Sort:  

Hello, @j0ramos, and welcome to Steemit.

I believe it's a great thing that you quit your job, because there's a whole better world out there, and Steemit is now part of it.

As an expat and a traveller, you now have much to bring to this platform.
And as you indicated, it is a great community ... a publishing community, a reading community, and a crypto community.

Below are a few basic points of advice re posting on Steemit.
1 – Longer posts are more lucrative than short posts. If you make a post of 20–30 paragraphs, it's more likely to earn rewards.
2 – Include some photos, images or graphs, to complement the text.
3 – Make sure the text and photos are formatted properly, so that your post looks attractive and appealing.
4 – Be yourself.
5 – Be interesting and informative.
6 – Create quality content. Steemit is intended to be a platform of quality content. (You will see many insignificant posts with meager content and no quality. Most of those of posts [called “shitposts” by Steemit whale Stellabelle] will earn few rewards and soon pass into oblivion.)
7 – Get online and start curating. Read various posts, comment on those posts you find interesting, and upvote those posts. That’s the best way to attract followers.

Hope this helps for now. Good luck, and Full Steem Ahead!

Wow @majes.tytyty thanks for the tips! I was lost but now I'm found. Hahaha! I had fun creating my first post. I'll definitely apply your tips to the next posts I'll create.

You're welcome. One more point. Submitting photos in the various photo contests is a great way to earn a bit of Steem and to attract followers. Here are links to 3 contests.

@photocontests, organized by @juliank
Daily color challenges, organized by @colorchallenge (Temporarily inactive)
#tepchallenge, organized by @theexplorer

For entries into those photo contests, short posts are OK. But it's a good idea to add a bit of text explaining the photo, to give the post some meat and to make it more interesting

oooh, that's cool! I just went ahead and followed them. You seem like a pro! Thanks a lot :)

Great. Best of luck!

Welcome to Steemit platform, from all of us in promo-nigeria. Steemit is a beautiful place to be and we are sure you will be happy here. Get to know more by blogging consistently. Never be discouraged, seek for assistant when necessary. Cheers!

Hi @promo-nigeria! Thanks for the kind words. The warm welcome from the community has been endearing. I appreciate the encouragement.

@j0ramos, let me be the first to welcome you to Steemit! Congratulations on making your first post!

I gave you a $.02 vote!

Would you be so kind as to follow me back in return?

@introduce.bot thanks so much! Just hit you back with the follow :)

Hey @j0ramos, want free resteems? All ya gotta do is follow me...

Sweet, I just did!

Nice to meet you, I have travelled a lot, and like Asia the best, though live in Poland, and from the UK originally.

Nice to meet you too @deliberator. What is your favorite country in Asia or anywhere in general? I'm from the Philippines and have been to many places there. I'd love to hear where yours are. "I haven't been everywhere, but it's on the list" :)

I loved Bali, and spent 6 years in Thailand, Singapore was nice for a short visit, Hong Kong was way too busy for my liking, still worth a trip though. :-)

Nice! I'd love to go to Bali someday, I've heard nothing but great things!!! I've been to Hong Kong but don't remember much of it since I went when I was very young. I'll go back someday.

looking forward to see some of your travels and your change, really interesting!!
Welcome on steemit :-D followed

Hi @ascimat thanks for the encouragement and the welcome. Where are some places you've traveled to? The goal is to travel until the end of the year :)

I've been in Spain, Belgium, Germany and Italy. I'm planning to go to Holland and Denmark and Greece.
I can reccomend you Spain because there you can really be a traveller, a friend of mine went in Spain and stayed for almost 1 year, just travelling for the whole country.
I can reccomend you to go in Belgium because of the beer's ahaha.
Also Switzerland where I live, is wonderful and also wonderful panoramas. I think you'll enjoy here, chilly place with beautiful mountains and food.
I also went in the Black Forest in Germany, if you have a chance, go to because it's AMAZING

Actually, funny you say Spain because I will be going to Spain in September!!! I have been brushing up on my Spanish, specifically for this trip. I'd like to spend a month in Europe but haven't quite mapped out where to go except for Spain and Italy so this is a great start. Thanks my man!!!!!

My uncle runs a business part in the Philippines and in Switzerland. The photos I've seen from his travels are breath taking. I've been reading that Switzerland is leading the way to becoming a very crypto friendly country as well :)

Yess is going to be like this, I hope very soon!!!
Also if you want some photos of Switzerland I use to post some of my city and the good places I go, so you can check my profile to see something

@ascimat Siiiiick views! Just checked them out. You are lucky you get to wake up to those views every morning :)

hi @j0ramos Welcome to Steemit Community. Looking forward for your next post. See you around. You can also join in STEEMSCHOOLS discord here https://discord.gg/8CRS4j4 They can help you grow in this steemit community. If you still don't have a discord account. Just register first through the link I gave you. I'm glad to help you. See you there!

Thanks @hazelicious for the warm welcome :) :) Could you tell me a bit more about STEEMSCHOOLS? Sorry, I'm new here :)


Welcome to Steemit @j0ramos!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Hi, Greetings and Welcome to the Steemit community

Thanks so much! I appreciate the warm welcome :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62226.04
ETH 2440.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63