Introduction: Here I am! Or...maybe not? What does it even mean to be here?!?!

in #introduceyourself5 years ago (edited)

G'day, y'all!

Cryptocurrency and blockchain caught my interest several years ago, though I didn't really dive in until early 2018. Hardcore blockchain tech work wasn't my aim, profiting as a crypto trader wasn't my cup of tea, though I dipped my toe in both. What really became interesting to me was the exploration of theoretical futures that are now possible due to cryptocurrency and blockchain technology.

I'll bore everyone with my thoughts as to some of those possible futures in a later post :).

So when I decided to attempt to put some of my personal thoughts on digital paper, steemit was a natural fit. It utilizes blockchain and cryptocurrency and it allows me to experience these potential future realities first-hand.

Furthermore, it allows me to remain relatively anonymous, which is indeed right up my alley.

In case you are curious what I might write about, and therefore be kind enough to allow me to try and earn your "follow", I'll share a bit about how I envision using this account.

My username: itookbothpills. An homage to Neo's decision in The Matrix. "You take the blue pill—the story ends, you wake up in your bed and believe whatever you want to believe. You take the red pill—you stay in Wonderland, and I show you how deep the rabbit hole goes." What happens if we take both pills? What happens if we both accept the current constructs of our physical reality and encompassing societal structures while also daring to explore the alternative realities within us, around us, and everywhere else?

I enjoy learning about psychology, physics, metaphysics, quantum physics, sociology, spirituality, religion, and almost anything in that airspace. As I journey through life along with all of you, my dear friends, I will share some of my thoughts.

My interest lies in sharing my thoughts in the context of practical philosophy. Using philosophical thought to improve my daily life.

So thank you for investing a few minutes in getting to know me. I hope we have more time to spend together!

Example posts:
Living Life in Terms of Probability
Just in case we don't die when we die...
Time to invest in myself! ... ok, how do I do it?

Sort:  


Welcome to Steemit @itookbothpills!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings!

Hi,

This is a lovely introductory post, Thank you for taking the time to write the post and say hello to the community!

I am here to help!

I would encourage you to keep posting and comment on others users content to help make a name for yourself and to get the most out of the platform!

Feel free to comment on my content and I'll up vote your comments! Drop me a follow so you can comment a lot and get a lot of my upvotes!

I have upvoted your post!

Luppers :)

Wow. You are a thoughtful one for sure! You will do really well here on the blockchain. I like the reference and reasoning behind your name. Even though many did not like the first Matrix movie, I liked it plenty well. I thought it had a lot to say about waking up and try to see what is really around you. Thanks for sharing that.

You've Been.png

We wanted to let you know, we have given you a 100% upvote, are now following you, and are introducing you to everyone we know. You can visit our post HERE.

Welcome to the SteemIt Community.
Britt & Ren

Thank you for the thoughtful response! I’m excited to be here and be a part of the community.

You are most welcome.

I bid you a warm welcome to our Steemit family. I hope you'll like it here and stay a while.

Thank you for the warm welcome! Glad to be a part of it all!

Welcome itookbothpills!
eSteem is the application that improves your experience on Steem. You have full control over your data and content, unlike some apps we don't use our users to promote our application or services.

We have Mobile application for Android and iOS users. We also have developed Surfer Desktop application that helps you to gain new followers and stay connected with your friends, unique features - notifications, bookmarks, favorites, drafts, and more.
We reward our users with encouragement upvotes as well as monthly giveaways rewarding Spotlight top users and active Discord users.
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Welcome to steemit @itookbothpills.

Welcome the new steemians. Have a great day!

Welcome to Steem itookbothpills! Partiko is officially the fastest and most popular mobile app for Steem. Unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded with Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!

Welcome itookbothpills!
eSteem is the application that improves your experience on Steem. You have full control over your data and content, unlike some apps we don't use our users to promote our application or services.

We have Mobile application for Android and iOS users. We also have developed Surfer Desktop application that helps you to gain new followers and stay connected with your friends, unique features - notifications, bookmarks, favorites, drafts, and more.
We reward our users with encouragement upvotes as well as monthly giveaways rewarding Spotlight top users and active Discord users.
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Welcome itookbothpills!
eSteem is the application that improves your experience on Steem. You have full control over your data and content, unlike some apps we don't use our users to promote our application or services.

We have Mobile application for Android and iOS users. We also have developed Surfer Desktop application that helps you to gain new followers and stay connected with your friends, unique features - notifications, bookmarks, favorites, drafts, and more.
We reward our users with encouragement upvotes as well as monthly giveaways rewarding Spotlight top users and active Discord users.
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68216.84
ETH 3827.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63