Excited Real Estate Investor and Blogger Brand New to Steemit

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

I am super excited to join Steemit! As soon as I saw what Steemit was about I knew it was a great fit for me. I will tell you a little about myself, why I think steemit is perfect for me, and what I hope to contribute.

20171228_151452.jpg

I have done very well in real estate in the US, specifically Colorado. I flip houses, own rentals, am a real estate agent, and write a blog: https://investfourmore.com.

I am a little late to the crypto game, but started learning more about it the last few months. I bought some mainstreem (pun intended) crypto; bitcoin, litecoin, Ether, but knew I wanted in on something different.

I started researching unique crypro currencies and found Streemit. It was all about writing and sharing, which I love to do. I write on my blog a couple times a week and routinely on Quora as well. One thing I really like about Streemit is I know what it is! I understand how it works, which I cannot say about most crypto currencies. I love the concept and see others do as well. I have been super excited too join and actually wrote this a few days before I was officially accepted.

A little about me. I was born into a real estate family. My dad was an agent since before I was born. I remember sleeping under his desk in his office as I was growing up. When I got to high school and college I wanted nothing to do with real estate. I wanted to do my own thing so I got a degree in business finance from the University of Colorado.

After I graduated I could not find an awesome job in the finance industry that would pay me what I thought I deserved. This was 2001, and I was a naive 22 year old. I decided to work part-time for my father to pay the bills. I moved into an apartment in a building my sister managed. I was the on-site manager so I could save money on rent. I realized I loved real estate as soon as I got into the business. I got my license, sold houses, and helped my dad with the occasional flip.

I did okay as an agent, but loved to flip houses. Eventually I ended up becoming a REO and HUD listing agent. I sold foreclosures for banks. I started to make really good money and got to a point where I was selling 200 houses a year. I figured out buying rentals was the best was to invest my money and I bought my first one in 2010.

I ended up buying 16 residential rentals from 2010 to 2015 and then took a break because housing prices increased so much here. This year I bought four more rentals, but they were all commercial properties.

In 2013 I bought out my dad and took over the team. We were flipping 4 to 7 houses a year at the time, but he was pretty conservative. I upped that number every year and in 2017 I completed 26 flips.

My foreclosure listing business disappeared as the market improved, but I hired a few agents to sell houses on the team. I do not sell hardly any houses as an agent anymore, but my team does an amazing job. I hired my best friend from college to run the team. He was in the corporate world and sick of that life.

In 2013 I also started InvestFourMore.com. It was a blog to discuss rentals. The name is a play on words since it is tough to get loans on more than four properties. I had not written anything since college, but found out I love writing and sharing what I knew. I had no idea what I was doing and had no plan. I just wrote. As I wrote more and more people started to find me and comment. Google picked up a bunch of my articles and I quickly had 10,000, 20,000, 50,000 and then 100,000 unique visitors a month. I expanded my writing to cover flipping, being an agent, and many other real estate subjects.

Once I had the traffic I started to monetize the blog. Over time I built it into a $10,000 to $20,000 a month business. Here is how I make money with it now:

I have published 6 paperback books, audiobooks and eBooks:
https://www.amazon.com/Mark-Ferguson/e/B00FP1LZ1C

I have coaching programs

I have affiliates

I have tried google adsense and other advertising programs with limitted success.

The blog has over 450 articles now, I do a weekly podcast, and have a YouTube channel with 10,000 subscribers. I show just about every property I buy on YouTube.

https://www.youtube.com/user/InvestFourMore

I suppose that is enough of me jabbering for now. If anyone is looking for advice on real eatate let me know in a comment and I will start posting.

Oh, and I love cars. I have the following:
2010 Audi S4
1986 Porsche 928
1991 Ford Mustang 5.0 supercharged
1998 Lotus Esprit V8
1999 Lamborghini Diablo

20170312_144110.jpg

I read all the instructions and will make sure to post this to my Facebook page and other social media as well.
https://www.facebook.com/InvestFourMore/

I also thought I would include a couple videos of a recent flip I did. Before and after.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit! I love the cars :)

Thank you! I am a car addict as well as house addict. lol. I am working on picking up a 1981 Aston Martin V8 Volante right now. Just waiting on the PPI

Welcome to steemit. That's an exciting business model you have in Colorado. I've been in the real estate market in the Chicagoland area mostly new construction, not much flipping. My kids all love Colorado and would like the whole family to move, but I know nothing about the real estate market there. I will continue to follow your posts. Good luck in 2018!

Thank you! The market here is crazy. I am about 50 miles North of Denver. Our median price in 2011 was $110,000 and now the median price is $290,000. Same thing has happened in Denver but with higher prices. Very few homes for sale, a large population moving in and 2.5 percent unemployment have fueled the rise. I love it here though.

Great, welcome :) Sharing this with 60k followers is definitely worth a resteem via @welcoming!
Greets, @theaustrianguy

Thank you! I wish Facebook would show it to all 60k, but I will do my best to promote Steemit. I have 20,000 some Twitter followers I can send to as well.

Loading...

really nice cars welcome at steemit @investfourmore

Thank you! Happy to be here.

Thank you, Glad I was approved! It only took a few days, but I have heard others had to wait much longer.

Hey @investfourmore! Welcome to Steem! We're glad to have you here!

I am a Steem curator, and creator of the series "The Fresh 5" where I pick five new Steemians to share with my followers that they should know about. I have selected you as one of my five for today. Your post has been featured in my post you can find here: The Fresh 5.

I would encourage you to come over and visit my post and say hi in the comments to get to know some of the folks reading my daily digest. You are welcome to tell us more about yourself there and encourage my readers to come and check you out!

Have a great day! Looking forward to seeing more of you on the platform!!

Awesome! Thank you very much and I will visit now.

welcome to the community - I'm sure that you will do amazing here and will be a great inspiration to many. I am also in real estate - I've been an agent for 5 years but I have been investing in real estate since 2000. I love writing also and Steemit is a great platform to do it in - I look forward to your articles and hope that yo will take a look at mine when you get a chance. If you're still active in real estate we should talk - I run an investment meetup group with investors always on the lookout for the next opportunity - we might have some aligned goals....

Thank you and I will check out your stuff. I am still very active! I completed 26 flips this year and bought 4 commercial rentals. What are you primarily investing in?

I invest in multifamilies and just recently did a flip - I have some pics of it on my blog

Cool I will check it out

Welcome to the community :) Looking forward to seeing what you have to share with us!

Thank you! Working on a new post now

Hold on let me wipe the drool off my face. Lol. That flip was soooooo amazing, such an amazing talent! Ugh, gives me goosebumps. Anyway, have you heard of steemtools.com? There's a tool on there called steemfollowers and it seems to work pretty well. It You essentially just do your upvotes through it and you receive points. Thought it might help from one newb to another :) Here's the link to join and see what it's about!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68180.36
ETH 2642.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70