You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Bread Recipe so simple, you can make it yourself

@breadcentric thank you for the tip. I tried to make some once but it was a bit of a disaster as I had nothing to gauge against. I bet you the bread flavor must be amazing! I see you are in London, just hope the winter isn't too bad in the big smoke. I have also followed you to get updates on your bread.

Sort:  

London is much better than my previous locations in terms of the air quality, thanks for asking :)
What I don't like about commercial yeast is the acidic aroma. Wild yeast is weaker, but the aroma is much more enjoyable.

oh cool, but how much more do I need to let the dough rest using wild yeast?

There isn't a simple answer to this question. It all depends on the maturity of the yeast and conditions around the dough.
Last time I baked I had quite a strong culture and a warm house. I made a levain that rested for twelve (up to twenty) hours and it had enough strength and activity in it to make a loaf in three hours proofing and then baking for 40 minutes.

You can give it another try, after all even if it doesn't work out, you already have something that works well for you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62299.02
ETH 2440.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65