You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I'm new here. I don't really know how everything works. Please show me some love! :-)

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hi Johannes. Lovely colors in this shot. Uppsala is a beautiful city. I have friends who live in Bålsta.

I saw your post on my blog about being new. The first thing to do is an proper introduceyourself post (check out some other posts in that tag) for idea. Here is an extreme example from Derek Kind of an excellent one https://steempeak.com/introduceyourself/@derekkind/hello-i-m-derek-a-canadian-landscape-photographer-and-i-d-like-to-share-a-few-photos-with-you-and-tell-you-my-story

Also the key here as a photographer is to verify you are actually Johannes Rousseau. The best way to do this is to mention your steemit username on your webpaage and/or IG account/post and post a screenshot of that up on the introduceyourself post. Steemit has a zero tolerance to plagiarism. There are a lot of people who just find a random photo website and steel photos and post them up under that name . I am not telling you this because I think your steeling photos but if you don't explicitly prove who you are, rich vigilante bots which will downvote you out of existence . So you need to verify your identity reasonably quickly. The other thing to note is there is a zero tolerance for asking people to look at your work in comments, it is seen as spam. I saw your post and noticed you had a rep of 25 so I know your actually new. Steemit is far from utopian, it is a free market lessafair economy, run with quite strict rules by rich individuals and their loyal lynch mobs. It is more like feudal Europe with its many lords rather than the the king and bureaucracy (algorithm) systems that run FB and IG etc. That said there are pleanty of ways to fit into the system and find a niche.

The key to get noticed here it is no different to any other platform. You need to engage with people who have similar work to yours. There is no algorithm to help or hinder you here. It is all about manual networking. The best place to start is @photofeed in my opinion. Post with their tag, there is also photocircle, photomag and others (look at the tags successful people are posting with). If they like what you post you will get resteemed to their following and thats how you grow. Check out the photo comps also, two to start with are the one run by by @czechglobalhosts and the one run by @derangedvisions

Things are not always as they seem here when you start. Forget about the trending pages and hang out in the curated communities like photofeed. Don't take post values at face value as you can loop money though the system to increase your upvotes and get a return so trending has nothing to do with post quality.

Also steemit is not steem; there are other interfaces like busy.org etc. The best to use in my opinion is steempeak.com I wrote a review on it here https://steempeak.com/steempeak/@intrepidphotos/steempeak-com-a-major-step-forward-as-a-steem-interface

Any questions just ask.

Rob

Sort:  

Thank you so much Rob! I will try to verify my myself as good as I can. :-)

Hope you find a community here.

I am working on it! :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64668.46
ETH 3173.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58