A newbie writer joins the Steemit Community. Let the autobiography begin, shall we?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

We as social creatures love to talk about ourselves... and yet, here is my severely lacking introduction.

Name and Origins

Hi Steemit and all you lovely Steemizens (Steemit + Citizens). My full legal name is Woolim L. Lee as written in official government documents, but I go mainly by my more easier-to-say and easier-to-pronounce English names: Light Lee. Why did I choose the name Light for my English name? There's more depth to it than it would seem.

My given name comes from the Old Testament of the Jewish and Christian Bible. Therefore, my name is multi-translatable but I don't like going by those names. Woolim is the Korean version. Urim is the official English version found in most English-Bibles. I did some digging around and found out that my name meant one of two things: "light of God" and "revelation of God". Thus is how I came to choose Light as my official English name. It's not legalized yet, but I have plans to make it legal one day.

For now, you can call me Light or Urim. Urim, by the way is pronounced as Ooh-Rim (kinda like the U in Uber).

Am I named after a historical/biblical person? Nope. I'm named after a precious gemstone. One of two gems on the High Priest's breastplate. My parents initially had thought of naming me Thummim, but thought it might be too feminine of a name and decided ultimately on Urim as my name.

How my parents came to name me that is also tied to a mysterious event that happened about 2-3 weeks before my birth. On March 8th, my parents had avoided a possible car accident. That night, my mother had flipped the Bible open and came upon this passage in Leviticus 8:8, "And he placed the breastpiece on him, and in the breastpiece he put the Urim and the Thummim."

In Chinese characters, my name means "Second Coming" derived from Woo (Again) and Lim/Im (coming, happening). Being born of Christian Missionaries, I couldn't avoid being given a name of religious origins.

At least I'm thankful for the fact that my name doesn't sound like a religious name. I mean, if I had been named Moses or Judah or David, it would have been more obvious. Though nowadays there are a lot of atheists and agnostics who name their kids with those kinds of names so I shouldn't really assume that a name defines a person.

I was born in South Korea. Not the North. I may have ancestors who were born in the Northern part of Joseon/Korea before the two Koreas were separated, but that does not in any way make me a North Korean. My hometown is Chuncheon, the capital city of the province of Gangwon. This city is about 1 hour away to the east of Seoul by train, and 3 hours by car. My province is the largest in South Korea, and most of the border between the North and South is in my province. It's an important province when you look at it from a military viewpoint.

Born in 1992, on April 1st at around 4:30pm (Yes, I am not an April Fools kid), and immigrated to Canada on October 10th, 1996, I am a Korean-born, Canadian citizen. No, I am not a dual-citizen. I had to revoke my Korean citizenship before I turned 18 years of age in order to avoid the compulsory military service that applies to all Korean males born in Korea and outside of Korea (down to the 3rd generation).

And I have been living in Canada since 1996 and haven't moved out.

Random Facts about myself that I think are interesting but may bore the heck out of you readers.

Favourite Authors

  • Clive Staples Lewis (C.S.Lewis, most famous for his radio talks and his Christian fantasy series, "The Chronicles of Narnia")
  • John Ronald Reuel Tolkien (J.R.R.Tolkien, probably more famous than his best friend Lewis for his Christian Fantasy books on the Middle-Earth such as Lord of the Rings, the Hobbit, etc)
  • Jose Saramago (Nobel Prize for Literature for his book, Blindness)
  • Sir Arthur Ignatius Conan Doyle (most famous for his Sherlock Holmes books)
  • King Solomon, son of David (most famous for his book of Proverbs, Song of Songs, etc)

Favourite Movies and Why

  • Inception
    • As a fellow human who has experienced the dreaming inside a dream inside a dream, and the worlds of multi-dream dimensions, it was the first movie I was able to fully enjoy and relate to.
  • Lion King
    • Who doesn't like Timon and Pumba?

I won't count the other animation films that I loved on this list, since I don't want to overcrowd my introduction with unnecessary information so I'll make a separate post later on these sub-topics.

About Me Trivia

  • I'm 6ft2in in height (187cm)
  • My ethnicity is Korean (but then, you probably figured that out by now if you didn't skip anything)
  • I'm in my mid-20s (again, simple mental math should have told you this as well)
  • I live in Canada (for the readers who skipped the part where I wrote that I immigrated to and am a citizen of Canada)
  • I'm a casual gamer (I don't relate to being on the level of a stereotypical pro-korean-gamer; I'm not competitive enough)
  • I'm a polygot (I'll reveal which languages later via dlive/dtube or some other post)

How did I get to Steemit? What are my current and future plans here?

My mother owns a business, and she has gotten into the habit of keeping up to date with the latest news of cyber-tech and business. She found out about Steemit through a Korean app that keeps its users updated about the latest fad or trend online or in technology and finance. Immediately, she studied about block-chain, steemit, cryptocurrency, bitcoins, and whatnot... and even gave a 40 minute lecture on what she learned to others including my own family.

I wasn't there for the lecture, so I found out about Steemit through her on a later date, namely about two weeks ago. I've always loved finding good content online and loved the voting systems of forums, discussion boards like disqus and social media. Hearing about another platform piqued my interest. After one day of scouring through the steemit feed, I made my decision to join, and after about 10 days, I finally got approved. Here I am, 6 days after the approval, making my first official post.

I'm not anyone famous, nor am I new to the online world. There are more people in real life who know me than there are people online who know me (my facebook accounts have more friends/fans than I do on other social media, despite the fact that I hardly use facebook as my social media base).

But here I am now, and have thoroughly convinced my entire family to register and join; including my dear mother who took the initiative to let me know, but didn't join. I am spreading the news to my friends and colleagues and any acquaintances met via work, school, and social gatherings.

I'm here to share my poetry, my original stories, occasionally some fan-fiction, but my main purpose is to be on the watch for other individuals with hidden potential in order to uplift and encourage them towards their success. Whatever success means to each person may differ, but I wish the best of luck to everyone reading this post.

I'm not here to profit from others, and I know steemit isn't a place for doing that sort of thing. I'm here to find and make new friends of similar interests, learn and gain new interests/hobbies, and most of all to have fun. I'll do my best to bring original content as I really detest copy-pasting other people's work (even if I'm giving credit to them by including the source link/name). Well all you readers can keep me accountable on that; I will "Decline Payout" on a post if 25% or more of it contains other people's work or content.

Well, hope you didn't pull a TLDR on me and hope you enjoyed reading this :D.

P_20180307_205116_BF.jpg

Well, this is me, a picture just taken today March 7th, 2018 between 6 and 7 am (EST). :D

Sort:  

Nice to have you here hang there and post as much as you can. Good Luck

Thank you for your encouragement! :D I'll definitely need all the luck I can get.


Welcome to Steemit @interestinggirl!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Thank you for your support! Those links will sure come in handy for my future posts. Stay tuned~ :D

Hey there, I'm Oatmeal Joey Arnold, and love your photo and I love history, especially ancestry history and name origins. And love the Lion King because of the love story and also the story related to family and community. Inception makes me think a lot and is very interesting.

I'm Dutch, Scottish, Irish, German, English, French, but was born in America. By blood, genetically, I may be related to Hitler. But politically, I'm more opposed to Marxism than Hitler was. Likewise, for you, your ancestors can be from the north, but that does not mean you have to be whatever they want you to be, politically, in what you believe and think.

It's a pleasure to meet you here Oatmeal Joey Arnold, history has always been a favourite subject of mine, though I try not to make it too obvious. But oftentimes I fail at that ha ha.

I'm rather proud of my ancestral background. I would be a direct descendant of the fourth king of Joseon's older brother, if not for the fact that it branches off at my grandfather since he's the second son of his father who is a direct descendant, so if my great uncle does not have a male heir to continue, then I would be able to claim this heritage. So, it's not like I'm ashamed to think that I could've been a North Korean, had my predecessors chose not to move to the South during the Korean War, but rather being careful not to align myself to any political views based on my wording.

welcome dear, it's really cool to be here. Please don't forget to invite more of your friends to steemit. Wishing you successful activities here on steemit. Take care

Thank you for your kind words, I'll be doing my best to invite more people I know to this wonderful community.

Welcome dear, we are all together in this

Welcome to steem community a place where people help each other . Steemit is the perfect example of working together it shows how important team work is .
Below are a few basic points of advice re posting on Steemit.

Longer posts are more lucrative than short posts. If you make a post of 20–30 paragraphs, it's more likely to earn rewards.
Include some photos, images or graphs, to complement the text.
Make sure the text and photos are formatted properly, so that your post looks attractive and appealing.
Be yourself.
Be interesting and informative.
Create quality content. Steemit is intended to be a platform of quality content. (You will see many insignificant posts with meager content and no quality. Most of those of posts [called “shitposts” by Steemit whale Stellabelle] will earn few rewards and soon pass into oblivion.)
Get online and start curating. Read various posts, comment on those posts you find interesting, and upvote those posts. That’s the best way to attract followers.
Hope this helps for now. Good luck, and Full Steem Ahead ... to greater health and wellness ... and, well, wealth... Will surely follow you and eagerly waiting for your new post !!

Thank you so much for your advice and support! Will do my best to bring quality content that many steemit users can enjoy; if not everyone.

Nice to meet you, Woolim aka writer :)) You seem a very interesting personality! Looking forward to your posts :)

Hahaha, an interesting personality, you say? Should I take that as a compliment ;)?

Thank you, I hope I won't disappoint!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64476.22
ETH 3153.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54