Passion

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Everything is black and white,
I can see while I don't see anything
It seems like living without eyesight
I am desperately searching for my longings wellspring. 

Then, looking back, remembering,
The joy of life used to surround everything,
In my despair I started trembling,
When did I forget how to sing and swing? 

But this absence of happiness didn't last forever,
I began to hope and believe again,
Telling myself again and again to just start over
A slow, increasing comeback of feelings, color that I will maintain.
                                                                    

I found myself in a place I never wanted to be,
Again, in love with the process of creation,
I will never ever forget how to see,
Living a life, colorful, vibrant and full of passion.

First hello to everyone. Since I am new to this platform I want to do an ''introduceyourself'' post just like a lot of other people did because I think it is a good way to start connecting to likeminded people on steemit. So, here I go: My name is Inga, I am 19 years old and I live in Germany. This little poem up there scratches the surface of how I got to be the person I am right now and how I experienced life up until now. But since I am not a native English speaker I guess I should explain myself a little bit more and tell you why I created this account and what I want to achieve with it.
Let's say in the past years I haven't been really well (not because of something special, just my brain going more or less a little crazy) but through that I have learned a lot about myself, what kind of person I want to be and what things are really important to me.
I rediscovered my love for playing volleyball and playing the piano in the last year; not that I ever stopped since I began playing volleyball with 11 years and piano with 9 years but for more than 5 years I didn't feel anything in regards to absolutely everything. Because of this I even stopped drawing or creating in general even though this was something I always loved doing. But just like my passion for playing volleyball and the piano my passion for drawing came back as well, stronger than it has ever been.
But let the past be the past; I still struggle from time to time with falling back in my old habits but I guess this is normal. My perspective on life changed completely and I now think that you can learn something from everything and everyone in life, you just need to learn how to see it.
I created this account because I want to share what I have learned in the past years; not that I claim to know everything, not at all. I still feel like I don't know anything about life but at least I figured out how I need to look at life so I can be happy. Maybe this can help someone else as well. Since I also love drawing and writing I want to connect both to hopefully make someone's day a little bit brighter with my future posts.
Until now I only told you about my main three passions in life but I am the kind of person that loves a lot of things. For example I love reading fantasy books, I am interested in science, I like philosophy and in general thinking about the purpose of life and things like that. Wrapping my brain around complex and difficult topics is something I really enjoy doing and I find it kind of satisfying. 

So now to wrap my unstructured mess of introduction up there, here is what I want to do with this account:

  1. Sharing my outlook on life and at the same time learn from other people that (may) comment.
  2. I want to do that through art, writing and photography.
  3. I hope that I can make a positive impact on someones' life.


I can't tell you exactly where I will be going with this account since this is my first time creating a more serious social media account but I am sure I will have a lot of fun with this.

You may already have an idea where my writing poems skills are (not that high in a foreign language; it is definitely not easy for me to write poems in English :D ) but you have no idea what I like to draw. That's why here are some random pics of what I did in the last few months:


I did that one with colored pencils and a white gel pen


This one is for my see-through mobile phone case; in general I did a lot of these for my sister and friends


This is a wedding card I drew for a friend of mine


I guess you got a little idea of what and how I draw. Just so you know, I am really bad at drawing humans but I am working on that at the moment so hopefully in the near future you will get to see some people in my artworks.

I am looking forward to my time here on steem it! Get ready for a lot of different content since I didn't say to much how I want to reach my goals with this blog. I have a lot of ideas in my head :)!



Sort:  

that poem was beautiful, connected with you 10000%
welcome to Steemit! I cant wait to see more from you!

Thanks a lot for the help and your nice comment! I really appreciate it :)

Congratulations @inga37! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I hope your bad times were only those of being a teenager, when life seems to hit you hard, because some of our childhood dreams get attacked. It is as if, to grow, we are being forced to lose some of our dreams. As you discovered, it is only temporary, they do return, if we care ebough.

I love your writing, very mature for just 19. Your visual art is, as you said, finding its own direction and growing. Maybe you'll have to make a recording for us to hear you play the piano - if you are in love with it again.

Don't forget that what you spoke of here is only the one side of the coin. Steemit also offers all of us an amazing variety of worlds we can touch and become part of by exploring and being open to others. There is some astounding talent here and I think I almost enjoy discovering new to me people of talent, than in posting my own stories and poems.

Welcome.

.

PS:
Re formation of your poems. There are times I need to use a variety of fonts, colours or want my poems to keep a certain shape, so what I do is write them in Word, make them be exactly as I want, use an art program to copy the page as a photo and then I upload it - just as you do with your paintings.

Oh wow, I am really at a loss of words that you took time out of your day to read and comment my posts! I am still not quite sure if this bad phase came purely because of my teenage years but nevertheless I am happy that I am slowly overcoming this.
Ahh I guess I still need some time to practise playing the piano before I would upload a recording. I love playing for myself but I do make a lot of mistakes and I am not so confident in my skills to upload a recording :D but maybe I will get to that in some time.
I already noticed that there are so many talented and nice people here on SteemIt, it is so amazing to read and see so many beautiful posts!
How you upload your poems is a really good idea. I am still in the process of learning how to use the raw html to get my posts exactly how I want them to look like. I will totally check out your work as well!:)

I am really sorry for the way the poem is structured up there but I can't figure out why it is like that. When I edit the post everything seems to be perfectly fine but when I post ist it just messes everything up. If anyone knows what to do please tell me. I would really appreciate some help!

if you scroll down while you're writing your post, there's a sort of preview so you can see how the post is being formatted and can adjust it as such (: from what i understand, you need special codings to make it look the way you really want it to.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66266.06
ETH 3031.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67