You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hey there, I'm new here...Allow me to introduce myself

Konnichiwa!!! It is so nice to know that you are a former ESL who taught in Japan. If I may, are you still in Japan? Additionally, thank you so much for your welcome and for the advice. They are very much appreciated and solid for getting me started. I will do my best at all times.

Sort:  

No, I left Japan in 2005 (after 17 years there!). Now I'm in Thailand (semi-retired.)

Do you teach upper-level students, or only beginners and mid-level? I'm now posting my high-level Vocabulary learning resource on Steemit. If you have any high-level students, it might help you or them.

Here's a link to the recent renewed INTRODUCTION to VOCAB-ABILITY ... https://steemit.com/writing/@majes.tytyty/vocab-ability-introduction-and-guide-a-more-powerful-vocabulary-this-post-includes-the-intro-and-guide-to-the-series

Next week, I'm gonna start posting daily "Vocab-Ability1x1" posts, so that students can study and practice all the vocabulary in my resource.


One more point re Steemit in general.

Submitting photos in the various photo contests is a great way to earn a bit of Steem and to attract followers. Here are links to 3 contests.

@photocontests, organized by @juliank
Daily color challenges, organized by @colorchallenge
#tepchallenge, organized by @theexplorer

For entries into those photo contests, short posts are OK. But it's a good idea to add a bit of text explaining the photo, to give the post some meat and to make it more interesting.


Also, in a 2–3 months, I'm gonna start posting NOTES FROM UNDER THE TATAMI MATS, an 80-post series about my experiences in Japan. You may find that interesting too!

@ma.tytyty thank you for your response. You spent quite a bit of time here, 17 years, wow nice. I teach at three Senior high schools and they are of varying levels. I will definitely check out the resources that you have recommended. I would love to read about your experiences while you were here in Japan, so ill keep an eye out for the 80-post series. Thank you for all the advice and kind words.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62070.52
ETH 2422.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64