Traveling scientist #1: Introduction, Why travel if life is perfect, Why Instagram is evil (and why I'm here)

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Vladimir in the mountains

Hello Steemit! Hidobo here

My name is Vladimir, I'm a former software engineer, later neuroscientist, now continuously traveling for a little bit more than 2 years, I've been to 42 countries, and this is my introduction post!

The photo above has been taken at 17700 ft (5400 m) heigh in Himalayas. Have I always been as tough as it appears on the photo? Let's see:

Vladimir in the office

That's me in the office 4 years ago. What you see is a picture of a typical Sheldon-like dork who knows how to code, has no girlfriend and is following the new releases of big brand smartphones.

What a transformation?!

Well, this post is to tell you how that happened!

Why travel if life is perfect?

Around the end of 2015 I've quit everything: my old plans, my neuroscience job, my old relationship. At that time I have already been addicted to travel and been to around 25 countries. And I've realised one simple thing:

Ask yourself: what is the world (for you)?

For me it was just like on the second photo: every day the same routine. Waking up at home. Cereals with milk. The same way from home to work by bicycle. Handshakes with the same people. The same 3-d printed skulls and brains of monkeys on the table. Spaghetti with a pesto sauce from the jar bought in the store. The same road back home.

This was pretty much an image of the reality in my mind!

But what if I told you, that there are people who wake up in the morning in their tree house 100 ft (30 m) above the ground, eat coconut for breakfast and go hunting with their naked friends? And their answer to the question "What is the world" would be completely different from yours!

Naked aborigine
(photo by Anonymous Flickr user)

Oh, I've seen them on National Geographic!, — you'll say

Great! But do you really believe in them? Do you have a feeling that they coexist in the same world with you? Or rather in a fiction book universe, neighbouring with Harry Potter and The Golden Ring universes?

Aha! Here we go!

So, here is the main reason why I'm traveling already for 2 years non-stop, sometimes starving and sleeping on the rooftop:

I believe, the only way to widen the borders of your subjective image of reality is to explore the world by yourself!

Explore, see, feel, hear, touch and understand by yourself. National Geographic will not help you much.

Why I'm here (and why Instagram is evil)

I have a lot of experience, ideas and understanding to share, both about traveling and photography.

I have tried sharing on Instagram.

It doesn't work.

Instagram is overwhelmed by tons of great photographs shared by anyone but their authors. Every user of instagram will see more great images in one minute than it was ever possible before. As a result, one single image looses its value. Let me explain.

What does it take to take a great photograph?

Vladimir with ice lake

You've got to have years of photography experience. Dozens of thousands of the bad photos. And then you take a flight to Nepal. You are broke. You go hiking in the mountains and sleep in your own tent every night, sometimes in the snow, and cook the food on the portable gas cooker. You hike for 2 weeks, in total 60 miles (100 km), up and down, but mostly up, catch fever, have your ass frozen and feet wet. Finally you are on the edge of dying because you are stuck in the mountains without alpinist equipment. You are ready to accept that you'll never meet the loved ones and never eat your favourite food again (real story of the first photo in the post). And then SNAP! You have a lucky light and one of your best photographs is on your memory card. You are lucky to escape after a few days with the help of some alpinist team, the photo is recovered, and then...

...ok, this one looks nice, (likes by double tapping, scrolls down to the next one), oh what a girl! (double tap, scroll down) ha-ha this cat video is so hilarious....

Am I reasonably angry with Instagram?

I would rather prefer to be in the more respectful Steemit community.

Yours, @hidobo

Sort:  

Welcome :) Great introduction!
Good science posts are always appreciated - just like the ones from @sco for example, check him out, he might have good tips for you!
Resteemed you via @welcoming, my page for showcasing promising minnows like you!
Greets, @theaustrianguy

“The truth." Dumbledore sighed. "It is a beautiful and terrible thing, and should therefore be treated with great caution.”

Great quote.

Thank you for introducing some nice people!

Welcome to the steemit community Hope you like the new platform All the Best!

Perfect introduction, welcome to steemit hope you're doing great. =)

Thanks a lot!

You totally got me with your post, I think the same about instagram. So welcome to the community!!! ;) I'm looking forward to more posts of you :)

Thank you! I hope to write more in a few days.

Very interesting post. I am looking forward to seeing more.

Your point about Instagram is perfectly valid. But once Steemit reaches a critical mass of users posting great content, does it not risk developing exactly the same problem as Instagram?

I would love to hear other opinions on this.

At least, here the rules prohibit posting what you are not allowed to post.

You are right and that is certainly a very good thing. However even with people posting only their own original work, I can still see the situation you described in your post possibly developing here on Steemit, once we develop a very large community of people posting great content.

For example, I absolutely love travel and nature photography. I am following several people on instagram, all of whom are photographers posting their own work. The sheer volume of original posts in my feed from these sources alone can be so overwhelming that I find myself focusing less and less on studying an individual post to really "absorb" it. Of course, when you factor in people re-posting other people's work the situation becomes even worse.

I am very hopeful that Steemit can overcome all these challenges, and it has made a very good start.

In addition, I'd prefer to have a model of "one story one post" instead of "one photo one post". That would help to bring the quality up.

Yeah, I totally agree with you about Instagram not working for the orginalist.
Looking forward in seeing your pictures.

Great introduction. Remembered me: "Someone to share in an adventure" from The Hobbit...and I am back in the book universe :)

Thank you so much. I didn't read this one yet!

Upvoted! decided to follow, traveled for four years and post about it now,
always like to meet travel-minded people.

Great introduction post! hope you enjoy this platform, goodluck

This is great. welcome to steemit.. looking forward to reading alot more about ur travels and life experiences..

Thank you so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57852.72
ETH 2355.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44