Call me Lonnie!

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Hi peeps, I'm Lonnie. Born in 1986 and raised in Europe, Belgium. Still living there together with my girlfriend whom some of you may know as @mevilkingdom. It is because of her that I've grown interested in giving Steemit a go. I've already read up on some interesting stories and I can't wait to share mine.
Just Lonnie holding up a Steemit paper

The Golden Age of Video Gaming

I was born in what I call "The Golden Age of Video Gaming". My family always had a desktop computer and it got upgraded and replaced quite a few times over the years. At first we had an 8086 desktop without any hard drive at all. The specs don't even come close to what they are today. We were not talking about Terabytes or Gigabytes. Even a Kilobyte was a "high-end" back then. GPU's? Never heard of them. Off course, I was still a little kid. There probably were GPU's, but nothing my parents could afford. It was on that 8086 desktop computer where I played my first video game: Soko-Ban.
Soko-Ban Title Screen Soko-Ban Level

Game Memories

Soko-Ban is a video game published by Spectrum Holobyte in 1988. It is a top-down puzzle game in which you play as a warehouse worker and you need to move boxes onto their designated spots through a maze. It was a simple concept and we all loved it and played it as a family. Taking turns when we would get stuck. There even was a map editor in which you could create mazes yourself! It was one of our common "Hobbies" to try and create a maze that was managable, but difficult enough to not have someone solve it the first try. The challenge is keeping it fair.
Owning a "Personal Computer" was one of the basic needs that ran in the family. Almost every branch of the family had some sort of PC. It was fun to have someone come over with a game they just got and play it together or just being able to borrow a specific game. Off course, not every system had the same specs and we found out the hard way. We once borrowed "The Games: Summer Edition" from our uncle, but our PC didn't have enough memory to do some of the events. They failed to load on our rig while they worked at my uncle's place.
The Games Front Box Art The Games Intro

Tip of the iceberg

These 2 games were some easy ones to start off with and there's still a lot where that came from. I've even started collecting some "Memories of my childhood" recently. I will save them for later posts.
Off course, I will not only talk about far away memories. I still practice the art of playing video games. Lately indie video games grab my attention more than mainstream ones, so don't expect me to go Call of Duty on you;) Some of the games I'm looking forward to, will even be released in September!

Pixel Privateers is a "Squad based tactical RPG" in which you control a squad of marines and have to take on missions to get funds and resources in order to upgrade and outfit your squad members. It has drop-in/out multiplayer support. One of the reasons I'm looking forward to this game is the simplicity of its graphics. The developers aren't trying to deliver the best looking game ever. They are, however, taking their time to develop it. The developers aren't too clear on when exactly the game will come out and they have been postponing its release as much as needed. They really are going for a release once everything is ready-ready. Not half-ready like some mainstream developers tend to do.
Pixel Privateers .

Another game that has my attention is "Mother Russia Bleeds". It is a pure brawler that has a pixel art art-style and goes back to the roots of the brawler. I'm talking about games like Streets of Rage, Final Fight or Double Dragon. I've played all of those games, whether it was in the arcades or on a video game console I owned. I'm looking forward to this game for its art-style, couch co-op capabilities but most of all for its blood and gore.
Mother Russia Bleeds

Anyway, thank you very much for reading this far. I hope you're as excited to see more as I am to writing more.

Take care!

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit, my brother in law.
Soon my entire family will be here lol

Wonderful!!! Welcome :)

Welcome to steemit. Interesting games , I grew up when it first started the sit-down table top space invaders was my first arcade style game then became addicted to "Defender" lol. I remember rushing as fast as I could after school every day to the arcade to try and beat the high score....oh the memories,lol....enjoy steemit!!

Cool! We didn't really have "an arcade" where we could just go to. We had to wait every year until november for some kind of fair where there would be what we call "Lunaparks". Those are like mini arcades with coin pushers and arcade cabinets. That's where I got in contact with those games. Me and a cousin were always looking for The Simpsons beat-em up and you could often find us playing Cadillacs and Dinosaurs ;)

yeah I should rephrase that, ​lol...it was actually 3-4 standup machines outside a Dairy, or I think you call them convenience stores in America..one was Pacman one was Galaga one was not working and the other was Defender.,lol...Back then the Dairies all had them, and they were popular as hell for years.

How often do you go to parties?

Welcome to Steemit! If you would like to see statistics of any post on Steemit, you can use Steemd.com. I have made a bookmark for your convenience in accessing Steemd. https://steemit.com/steemd/@craigwilliamz/steemd-statistics-bookmark-for-easy-access-to-steemd

The superior man is modest in his speech, but exceeds in his actions.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60701.29
ETH 2637.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52