Introduction: Welcome to the Mind of Harry

The Voices

Ever since I was a teenager, my father's voice instilled in me the importance of graduating from college. Unfortunately for him, that never happened.

You see when I dropped out to take my first full-time, suit-wearing job, I was convinced I had made it! How could I not? It was the VOICE of my then-manager telling me, "Congratulations, your six-figure salary now puts you in the top 10% of all income earners!" I mean, who wouldn't like hearing that?

Dot Com Millions, Baby!

Several promotions later, unfulfilled, the next VOICE was my future business partner, who convinced me to take an unpaid position with his startup. Mind you, this was during the dot-com boom. I was so convinced that this was my shot at millions, I cashed out my 401K to ZERO. Yes, you read that correctly.

Pets.com anyone?

Lastly, my half-brother's VOICE convinced me to help him grow his construction company in Atlanta, GA. I guess a warning sign should have been the fact that I sealed the deal in a Hooters restaurant.

So there I was, wearing a hard hat and climbing scaffolds. But only 2 years later, I'm back on a plane, tail between my legs, forced to go live with my parents at 34.

Comment below if you've ever spent more time listening to the voice of others, while ignoring your own.

The Thailand Trip

The only saving grace was I ticket I had already purchased while in Atlanta to go visit a friend of mine for New Year's Eve, whose parents had rented a house on the island of Koh Samui, Thailand. So I took to the sky on December 29th.

26 hours later, he picks me up on his moped and proceeds to show me the sites. One day we hike up to the top of a waterfall.

He's standing on an outlook point and wants me to see the view that he is seeing, which meant I'd have to cross the stream to get there.

As I step into the stream, I put my foot down on the slipperiest rock you can imagine... both legs go up in the air, just like the cartoons, I land on my back, and proceed to be carried over the edge of the falls.

Out of the corner of my eye, I spot a boulder on the bank. Instinctively, my foot goes out and I'm able to stop myself from going over the edge! My friend is able to then pull me to safety. Needless to say, I was visibly shaking for the rest of the day.

It's funny, I needed to have a near death experience to realize:

"I don't want to die with my voice inside me!"

Scratching the Entrepreneurial Bug

Back at my parents house, I proceed to work all my contacts until I land back in a cubicle. But the entrepreneurial itch was still there. In 2014, my entrepreneurial journey led me to New Media Expo in Las Vegas. Once I was there, I was so inspired by all the podcasters I heard, that I decided to start my own podcast. I realize it's a bit meta, but I interview other podcast hosts on my show Podcast Junkies.

Over the past 3 years, I've interviewed over 130 podcast hosts who have found their voice.

So it was through all those interviews that I discovered the recipe for a successful podcast. And it's what I now use at my company FullCast to launch our clients' shows and help them find their voice.

The fun part about going to these conferences is that you never know who you will run into. This is a photo with podcasting pioneer and comedian Marc Maron, who happened to arrive at the conference late on that Friday. This was moments after spotting him talking with 1oneother person in the hallway.

Silencing the Voices

It's kind of crazy, but it wasn't until I was back home in New York, after the Thailand trip, that I realized that for most of my adult life I had been listening to the voices of others, while ignoring my own, because I thought they knew best!

So my mission is now to empower people to find THEIR voice through the power of podcasting.

What's Next?

There's a lot more to my story, and I can't wait to share the rest. I think this is a good a place as any to stop. I feel that it does a good job of bringing you quickly up to speed with what I'm passionate about right now.

My other passions include house music (DJ mixes coming soon), spirituality, technology, conscious living, astrology, just to name a few.

I'm excited about the staying power of this platform and excited to meet like minded peepz. Thanks for reading all the way to the end!

With gratitude,

Harry


--- SPANISH ---

Las Voces

Desde que era adolescente, la voz de mi padre me inculcó la importancia de graduarme de la universidad. Por desgracia para él, eso nunca sucedió.

¡Usted ve cuando salí para tomar mi primer trabajo a tiempo completo, traje-que usa, yo estaba convencido que lo había conseguido! ¿Cómo no iba a hacerlo? Fue la VOZ de mi entonces director diciéndome: "¡Felicidades, tu salario de seis cifras te pone ahora en el 10% de todos los ingresos!" Quiero decir, ¿a quién no le gustaría escuchar eso?

¡Millones!

Varias promociones más tarde, incumplidas, la siguiente VOICE fue mi futuro socio comercial, que me convenció de tomar una posición no remunerada con su startup. Mire usted, esto fue durante el boom de puntocom. Estaba tan convencido de que este era mi tiro a millones, he cobrado mi 401K a cero. Sí, lo has leído correctamente.

¿Quien se acuerde de Pets.com?

Por último, la voz de mi medio hermano me convenció para ayudarlo a crecer su empresa de construcción en Atlanta, GA. Supongo que una señal de advertencia debería haber sido el hecho de que sellado el acuerdo en un restaurante Hooters.

Así que estaba allí, usando un casco y subiendo los andamios. Pero sólo dos años más tarde, estoy de vuelta en un avión, cola entre mis piernas, obligado a ir a vivir con mis padres a los 34 años.

Comenta a continuación si alguna vez has pasado más tiempo escuchando la voz de los demás, ignorando los tuyos.

El Viaje a Tailandia

La única cosa buena en ese entonces era el billete que ya había comprado en Atlanta para ir a visitar a un amigo mío para la víspera de Año Nuevo, cuyos padres habían alquilado una casa en la isla de Koh Samui, en Tailandia. Así que llegué al cielo el 29 de diciembre.

26 horas más tarde, él me recoge en su ciclomotor y procede a mostrarme los sitios. Un día caminamos hasta la cima de una cascada.

Él está parado en un punto de la perspectiva y quisiera que yo vea la opinión que él está viendo, que significó que tendría que cruzar la corriente para conseguir allí.

Al entrar en el arroyo, pongo mi pie en la roca más resbaladiza que puedas imaginar ... ambas piernas suben en el aire, al igual que los dibujos animados, aterrizo en mi espalda y procedo a ser llevado sobre el borde de Las Cataratas.

Por el rabillo del ojo, veo una roca en la orilla. Instintivamente, mi pie se apaga y soy capaz de detenerme de ir por el borde! Mi amigo es capaz de entonces tirarme a la seguridad. Huelga decir que estaba visiblemente temblando por el resto del día.

Es curioso, necesitaba tener una experiencia cercana a la muerte para darse cuenta: "¡No quiero morir con mi voz dentro de mí!"

Deseando Ser Emprendedor

De vuelta a casa de mis padres, procedo a trabajar todos mis contactos hasta que vuelvo a la tierra en un cubículo. Pero la picazón empresarial seguía ahí. En 2014, mi viaje emprendedor me llevó a New Media Expo en Las Vegas. Una vez que estuve allí, estaba tan inspirado por todos los podcasters que escuché, que decidí comenzar mi propio podcast. Me doy cuenta de que es un poco meta, pero entrevistar otros podcast hosts en mi show Podcast Junkies.

En los últimos 3 años, he entrevistado a más de 130 podcast hosts que han encontrado una VOZ.

La parte divertida de ir a estas conferencias es que nunca se sabe a quién se le ocurrirá. Esta es una foto con el pionero del podcasting y comediante Marc Maron, quien llegó a la conferencia a última hora de ese viernes. Esto fue momentos después de verlo hablando con otra persona en el pasillo.

Así fue a través de todas esas entrevistas que descubrí la receta para un podcast de éxito. Y es lo que ahora uso en mi empresa FullCast para lanzar los programas de nuestros clientes y ayudarles a encontrar SU VOZ.

Silenciando Las Voces

Es una especie de locura, pero no fue hasta que volví a casa en Nueva York, después del viaje de Tailandia, que me di cuenta de que durante la mayor parte de mi vida adulta había estado escuchando las voces de otros, ignorando la mía, porque Pensé que sabían mejor!

Así que mi misión es ahora para capacitar a la gente a encontrar su voz a través del poder de podcasting.

Hay mucho más en mi historia, y no puedo esperar para compartir el resto. Creo que este es un buen lugar como cualquiera para parar. Siento que hace un buen trabajo de llevarte rápidamente a la velocidad con lo que me apasiona en este momento.

Que Sigue

Mis otras pasiones incluyen música de la casa (mezclas del DJ que vienen pronto), espiritualidad, tecnología, vida consciente, astrología, apenas nombrar algunos.

Estoy emocionado por el poder de permanencia de esta plataforma y emocionado de conocer como piadoso minded. Gracias por leer todo el camino hasta el final!

Con gratitud,

Harry

Please share this post far and wide and follow @harryduran for more insights into my mind.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @harryduran! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Hola, @harryduran!

Espero que disfrutes este maravilloso lugar!

Te invito a que te unas al chat Steem Hispanos (https://steemhispanos.chat) en donde podrás compartir tus posts. En adición, te invito a unirte a Trail Hispanos el cual es un proyecto del chat en donde puedes recibir votos en tus posts.

Para unirte, accede a https://trail.steemhispanos.chat. Para más información acerca de este trail, te invito a que leas el siguiente post: https://steemit.com/spanish/@moisesmcardona/trail-hispano-beta-te-votamos-tu-post-unete-al-trail-ya 🙂

Nuevamente, te doy la bienvenida a Steemit y no dudes en contestar este comentario de tener alguna duda.

Welcome to Steem @harryduran I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Welcome Harry! I went back to college for a second time in my late 20's and I'm also 34 now, and just getting into my new career. It took me a long time to start paying attention to my own voice more than others. The struggle is real! Keep doing your own thing!

Thanks @bitcointycoon. I think it's a message that needs to reach as many folks as possible, so I've made it my mission!

Great personal story. Ups and downs. Near death. A mini novel. Welcome to Steemit. The great thing about this place is that you ever lose your "mind" it is hereforth preserved in ten blockchain.

Good point! That idea of something living in perpetuity is both fascinating and scary...

Hi! I am also interested in spirituality and astrology. (In fact, most things to do with occultism.) Always great to come across people who take those things seriously. Welcome. :)

Thanks for the warm welcome Michelle!

Welcome to steemit. followed n upvoted

Hello and Welcome! Nice to meet you! Thanks for join

Bienvenido/a a Steemit! El mayordomo de la comunidad Hispanohablante te saluda!!

No te olvides de poner el tag spanish en tus posts.

Si tienes dudas acerca del funcionamiento te invito a que leas las Steemit FAQ:
Steemit FAQ #1
Steemit FAQ #2

Hemos creado tambien un chat en discord donde interactuamos los unos con los otros y nos promocionamos.

Chat @cervantes en Discord !!!
Y no te pierdas los audioconferencias entre los miembros cervantiles y los canales de promocion por categorias

https://discord.gg/CBKjRHn

Tambien estamos en Steemitchat https://steemit.chat/channel/HispanoHablantes

CONCURSO CERVANTES: Regalamos un viaje al SteemFest2 al finalista
valorado en 2000 SBD!!!

https://steemit.com/spanish/@cervantes/concurso-cervantes-4a-semana-paco-de-lucia



No te olvides de votar @cervantes como witness en esta pagina:

https://steemit.com/~witnesses


Este bot de bienvenida fue creado por @moisesmcardona para el equipo @cervantes basado en el script original de @felixxx

welcome! take the another amazing journey with steemit world, ei am following you and upvoted, give me the best @kunani

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57400.65
ETH 3108.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42