Greetings fellow steemers!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hey there good steem community,

I am Guttorm Flatabø, a Norwegian hoping to use the Steem platform for #blogging real content about the things that interest me, and hopefully you too. I'll be writing about things like (healthy) #food, technology, #DIY, fermenting foods and beverages, travel and farming / #homesteading. I like things to be useful, factual, interesting and with a dash of wierd, romantic and sentimental.

Skiing in Norway
@guttormf skiing in Norway. Photo by Halvor Dannevig

There's plenty of stuff on the internet from me already especially on Flickr and Wikipedia/Wikimedia. While I am not a huge fan of Facebook and the like, I did contribute to Google Buzz in its early days of pre-Plus. And I hope to recycle a story about my interaction with Miley Cyrus from there. As my activity picks up steem (pun intended), in addition to Miley Cyrus, I hope to write about at least the following: DNA exploration (three parts), eating fly agaric, self-preserving cider, deadly dancing in Bolivia, and the string vest—an underappreciated Norwegian invention.

Lounging in Bolivia
@guttormf visiting the "witch market" in La Paz, Bolivia. Photo by Arnd Zschocke.

I was introduced to Steemit by @tobixen and recommend checking out his "Giving birth at home" post. If you have any suggestions for change, spelling, factual or other please do let me know. I expect to revise and amend at will, and will quite likely not add notices about it in the article, all the time the Steem blockchain is keeping a complete log with all changes accounted for.

Sort:  

Guttormf - welcome to steemit. Hope you will enjoy ! All the best @digital-gypsy

Hi!!Nice to meet you and glad to see more people like you in this comunity Steemit! Becoming a steaminion is a great adventure, a good idea and a good hobby! Here you can win money while bloging and writing stories from your life! The start it wouldn't be easy, but it isn't impossible. So just write cool stories and everything will be verry good. Wish all the best! Seya!
With love, @dianamihaela!

Thank you for such a warm welcome Diana! Cool stories are on their way, not so sure how often though.

You know, I think I appreciate much more subtle invitations to follow than that, however I checked your stream again and found that it could be interesting to follow you :-)

BTW: do you think you could give me a hint as to why your comment has received so many votes? It seems a bit strange that a comment to a #introduceyourself post should get more votes than the post itself. I mean, the comment is nice, I voted myself, but still...

I received more votes because users thought I wrote you an appropriate content. The more valuable the content is, the more people vote. The vote also depends on Steem Power of each.
If you dont want to follow me, dont follow.
I was hurried and wrote directly. It's true it sounded like a command and I apologize.

Thanks, I still don't quite get it though (the voting).

Welcome to Steem Community @guttormf! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

Thanks for the advice @gaman, however I only know of one password for steemit, which is the one I am using. So when you write about "private posting key" and "private active key" I am confused, and I suspect other newbies are too when you give them the same comment.

Welcome to Steem @guttormf I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Thanks! Nice to see some transactions in my wallet :-) I'll try to remember you when I'm SBD rich.

Welcome to Steemit @guttormf! :c)

Wow. That is quite a list of interests and from a Northlander's perspective. I'd heard of string vests. Looking forward to hearing more about them as I only hear the bad reputation that it seems to have.

Since you're new here, a quick read through this post may prove helpful.

You mean the "wife beater" reputation, or does it have some other negative rep? I think a wife beater is simply a sleeve-less shirt.

I've never heard of the 'wife beater' being attributed to a string vest before. I've heard of it being labeled as 'poor persons' insulation' - but nothing similar to what you mention.

Actually I am still trying to wrap my mind around why such a garment would be called a wife beater. O_o

The beautiful muscaria peeks up its head in the most interesting places! Welcome @guttormf, I truly hope you enjoy your time here. Is that photo from Norway? It looks lovely and also quite cold.

I love to tell new people about the @minnowsupport project because it helps new users get their feet off the ground like nothing else (It's a network of less powerful users banding together to grow more rapidly!) The link to the PAL discord is here, where you can register: https://discord.gg/HYj4yvw

There's a lot of niche communities here, so if you poke around in categories that interest you, you'll soon meet plenty of like-minded people. I'm interested in most of the things you listed especially within the (healthy) food field, so i'll be looking forward to seeing your posts.

It's easy to get discouraged as a new user but I hope you'll stick around for a while and enjoy the community!

@d-pend

Thanks for the heads up!

Welcome to steemit @guttormf! Let me know if you have any crypto related questions, I am happy to help :)

Welcome and Thank You for being with us!! Following your Blog now

Haha awesome, looking forward to some "fermented beverage" advice! Following

Welcome to steemit man! Awesome first post. You will love it here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62471.79
ETH 2621.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56