Let me introduce... My Library Project!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Join me in my journey to the land of letters and yellowish paper!

Books have always been the only sort of possession I'd horde without giving it a second thought. Every trip abroad would have me searching for dusty windowless second-hand bookstores with unsorted piles of sci-fi pocket editions and outdated guidebooks. Going to such a place is like digging for gold in a stream - lots of pebbles and maybe a nugget or two.

I have moved a lot and some of my books got lost in the process but the most prized possessions have survived and continue to live their lives at home, at my mom's place or in homes of my friends.

20170818_201149.jpg

Here's an idea of how one my bookshelves looks like

These are only a few examples of what I have:

  • an Esperanto dictionary and children story book
  • a Bible written in Arabic found in a pile of gardening calendars at a yard sale
  • Matt Groening's Childhood is Hell comis
  • several books from the late 1800s
  • a bunch of illustrated encyclopedias (have you read the word Ted Mosby style, like I did?) from my childhood

20170818_201949.jpg

And here's a random selection of books I have

So, what's The My Library Project?

With this post I'm starting a series, where I introduce the books I have one by one, talking about them not only in terms of author and story, but also about the ways the found their way into my life, what was happening with me while I was reading them, and so on.

In a way, it's going to be a mix of reviewing the blog itself and blogging about personal stuff. Sometimes funny, sometimes sentimental, sometimes absurd.

Join me!

Yep, that's right, I invite you all to join me on this little adventure and tell stories about your books to an audience of bibliophiles. Please use the tag mylibraryproject. Don't be shy about it - the world is waiting for you!

20170818_201906.jpg
And if you are shy - read this book, it might help :)

Sort:  

Hello @gurney and welcome in this wonderful world of steemit. You will soon be addictive like us to this network.

If you need help, or if you have question, don't hesitate and contact me.

I followed, so be free to follow me back, I am trying a new concept with a friend, a duo-post every monday, we already did two and It's quite funny to do ^^.

Welcome to Steemit @gurney, I have upvoted and sent you a tip. Check my blogs if you are looking for tips on how to earn more Steem and SBD.

Wow! That is good idea! I like books and it's smells! The modarn books are not tasty) I have my own book project - Reading club. In my Evernote. I wrote about books I have read. My impressions and main idea.

Cool to hear that. Would be nice if you shared your experiences here as well : )

Great idea! I would love to see what you have on your shelves, so I'll be following along. (I also may need to take a look at that Shyness book)

Salute! I can see that you have signed up recently so I am very glad to see that you're actively posting. Have an upvote and rock on!
I am struggeling, like you, to get those first upvotes on my posts so maybe you want to try Steemfollower where you can earn up to 5x more steem than just upvoting by yourself! It's a simple and safe vote exchange that is free to use. I made this post to explain the system in more depth and it has become my most upvoted post yet.

Book reviews with a personal swing..sounds cool, very cool! :) Can't wait to see this take off!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65969.85
ETH 3429.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68