Introductory Post

Greetings fellow crypto-savages!

Below I will give a brief introduction of myself and why I am stoked on Steemit! So without further ado..

IMG_1161.JPG

I own and operate a small family farm in the mountains of North Carolina with my wife, 10 month old son, and our dog Rio. We grow primarily salad greens, but also a fair amount of other veggies as well. We sell to a few different grocery stores and distributors and are currently just over 4 months in on trying to make this a full time living.

What I hope to offer the Steemit Community is a look, and perhaps even a guidebook, of how to:

A) Make a living from the land
B) Increase your self-sufficiency
C) Create liberty and freedom in your daily life

I am by no means at expert, but I will share what I have learned so far with the hope of giving others a head start should they choose to pursue a similar path. Even if someone does not wish to make a full-time living off the land, I hope to offer many tips and strategies to at least gain more liberty and independence in one's daily life. Whether this be growing a garden, canning preserves, or knife sharpening; I hope to share these skills with others we can all become more resilient as a human race.

So now, why am I STOKED on Steemit? Well I'll admit, I am very new to this platform, but what I like most about it is that it gives people such as myself with very limited disposable income a chance to participate in the crypto-revolution that is currently underway. Here is a platform that actually rewards it's users for creating original, thought-provoking posts and comments, while at the same time naturally discouraging trolls. It's a beautiful free-market solution to all the noise on Facebook and other social platforms; a system that encourages value over vanity.

Anyway that's my intro! As mentioned I'm pretty new to this so feel free to leave any comments, tips, etc. I look forward to meeting other Steemers and contributing to the community.

Thanks for reading!

4O8A2993.JPG

P.s. Check us out at

www.greenshinefarms.com

Instagram

Facebook

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit!

Welcome to steemit @greenshiner.

You might be interested in the list of Homesteaders and Preppers on steemit to find like-minded people to connect with :

There is another version coming out shortly. Let me know if you would like to be included.

Thank you! Yes please, we would love to be included.

You're on the list 😊

Welcome! It's always a pleasure to meet another Liberty Professional. @grow-pro introduced me to you through his latest post.

If you ever want to chat, we have the #libertyprofessionals chat channel on steemit.chat to better communicate as friends also.

I'm looking forward to seeing your future content!

Thank you. 'Birds of a feather flock together.' We'll definitely be in touch.

Welcome @greenshiner! Wishing you well on steemit!
Your farm looks lovely. Is that snow on the mountain behind you?
Some tips:
Find the community and tags that you're interested in. The guys of the #homesteaders community would be a good crowd to join, with lots of advice shared all around. Check out @papa-pepper
Also look at @finnian's group that he mentioned.
-Follow for follow is a bad idea. You end up missing important posts from people you really want to see because it gets buried under repost bots and spam / memes. Tell people that you're following them and if they're interested they will follow you back.
-Check your steem rating on www.steemnow.com. Here you can see who voted for your posts.
-A good comment can be worth as much as a post.
-Join the chat groups if you can. I have installed Dischord but for the life of me can't figure out how it works! haha
-Keep a look out for meetups in your area or organise one yourself!
-You can also join Steemit Dreamit on FB for more people to see your posts.
-Get your friends to join Steemit. This is harder than it sounds :)
-It takes 4 months of regular posting before you may start seeing a worthwile payout on your account. Don't give up. Build relationships with people.
-I resteem articles from people I want to find again. I'm sure there's an app for finding people again but I haven't found it yet.

Hope that helps!
Following your journey.
All the best to you and your family
Lizelle @moderndragon

Thanks @moderndragon! No snow yet, just some early morning fog. I appreciate the advice and look forward to meeting others such as yourself and working to build this great community of liberty minded individuals.

Welcome to Steem @greenshiner I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Thank you! Glad to be a part of the community :)

Good to have you here!

I found your introduceyourself post because @finnian resteemed it. I have similar goals, at least when it comes to liberty. I'm interested in agriculture and we have a garden, but I don't plan on that being the main way I support myself. Though I'd love to grow more of our own food.

You may be interested in a video about Aronia berries that my wife just shared. It's shot on our family farm that my parents own and live on.

Glad to meet you! Great post on the Aronia berries. We might have to put in a few of those next year.

Congratulations @greenshiner! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to steemit! Follow me for more info about crypto) i do reviews and news!

Hi Greenshiner I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community :) Nice post, Wish you much luck! Cheers! i will follow your account, please follow me at @khunpoom

Thanks! Glad to make your acquaintance

welcome! i am following you! keep in touch @kunani

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63223.35
ETH 2688.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55