Getting Into the Steemit Vibes

Hi Steemians! My name is Limuel 36, and I am currently working as a public school teacher in Metro Manila. I have been teaching for almost five years. I spent my three years of teaching in Mangyan School in the province of Oriental Mindoro specifically in the town of Puerto Galera. Half of the school’s population there are Mangyans. Mangyans are the indigenous community of Mindoro. I was assigned to the school located on the hillside of the mountain. Reaching the school in the mountain is not a challenge for me, but the situation inside the classroom is the real battlefield of teaching. When I was teaching at Mangyan School I was handling two grade levels inside in one classroom, it is because the school is lacking teachers and classroom. In the year 2016, I left the Mangyan School to start my family in the city. The situation of this indigenous community in Mindoro is really heartbreaking and that’s the reason why I never complained about how hard the travel is to get to the school every day. These people lack proper education, educational resources and even other basic needs such as shelter, foods, and clothing. Imagine teaching two grade levels in one classroom, imagine talking to a class of grades 4 and 5 who cannot read at all. Imagine the times when I am having lunch during lunch breaks and the kids are just staring at me because they don’t have food to eat. These were my greatest challenges. Good thing that there are people who are conducting outreach programs in our school to at least give these Mangyans a chance to eat good food and be supplied with school materials.
In the year 2015, I met my wife who is living in Metro Manila. When we got married and I decided to apply for transfer of station of teaching. Luckily, in September 2016 I was absorbed by a public school here in Manila. Just a few blocks away from our residence, currently, I am a Grade 5 teacher and I am teaching Science. It was quite a tough time for me to adjust from rural to urban set up of teaching. It was also tough to get along well with a new group of colleagues who came from the different provinces of the Philippines with different norms and cultures, unlike in Mindoro that all of my colleagues were raised in the same province having the same culture and norms. When I got married this is the time that I realized that everything is going to change so I have to deal with it. The students here are totally different from the students in the province.

Everything was indeed a new life for me, and as I go along I would want Steemit to be part of my journey. My goal as I start is to spread awareness to the community about the life of indigenous people of Mindoro, so as to share my life experiences as well, personally and professionally. I hope to get along well with everyone as I dedicate myself to Steemit and witness what lies ahead as we work on it together.

Thank you for dropping by!
let us all continue voting
@surpassinggoogle as proxy for witness or by voting him at https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type in "steemgigs" at the first search box.
Let us also take part in spreading and supporting #teardrops #untalented and #untalented-adjustments

Sort:  

Welcome sir sa steemit, I'm a senior high teacher in Batangas. In this platform we can express our ideas more and earn part of our creativity.

Thank you sir..nice to meet you...UB ako nag graduate sir..

Ako naman ay sa BSU.

Welcome to steemit po!

Thank you sir...

Welcome to Steemit. We have a big filipino community here. Feel free to message if there’s anything I can help you with. I love how passionate you are as a Teacher. Its great to see you have so much compassion to our indigenous community. Ive done several projects with aetas in Tarlac. Ive been doing a lot of social work. I hope I can visit you guys there one day. Good luck and Enjoy this community 😊

Thank you janice

Hey @greenhorn
Amazing story, thank you for spreading your message!
Your work is an inspiration!

Welcome

  • Peter Haroon

Thanks peter

Welcome kabayan.
Steem On!
Enjoy your stay here:)

Take some imaginary @teardrops (Smart Media Tokens)

Thank you kabayan i'm sure i'll learn more and enjoy, im excited to share my pieces to everyone

Welcome to steemit... Keep posting....and I'm also new, so please follow me and help me to get follower... I have already upvoted you & started following you...

Welcome to the community! Just by your introduction I can see you have a heart that is pure. We are interested to know more about you. This is just the start of your steemit journey, be human and feel the freedom, I hope you enjoy God bless you

Welcome to Steem. Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.
Please bookmark Steem BluePaper and Steem Whitepaper and don't miss reading when you have time.
All the Best!!!

Welcome bro @greenhorn ... STEEM ON !

Thank you sir....

Welcome Limuel! I went to the Mangyan village in Mindoro once for immersion and I felt the purity of the children's hearts there. My classmate kept saying how poor the people are and how they need the help of the outside community. But what I saw was the opposite. We are the ones who need their help to open our eyes to the beauty of life. They can survive without electricity and other basic commodities. I heard that time that there was zero crime in that area. Everyone knew everyone and they help each other survive. I wish I could have stayed longer. I wish I could go back there as well.
I did internship at Viva a few years after we visited and I was surprised that some of the children still remembered me. I doubt they still remember now and if they are still there.
Thank you for your advocacy! Cheers!

Thank you mam for visiting our community in mindoro.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61137.27
ETH 2383.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52