GorillaGuru - Introduction

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hello fellow Steemians. I am GorillaGuru. I am an author, veteran, entrepreneur, and life coach. I currently reside in the great state of New York, but I have been fortunate enough to have travelled the world. Some of the places I have been include: Canada, South Korea, Germany, Ireland, Qatar, Kuwait, Iraq, as well as a number of places here in the states, Alaska, California, Colorado, Texas, to name a few. Without a doubt the best thing about travelling to all these places has been the variety of people I’ve been privileged to meet and learn from. Upon graduating military school at the age of 18 I accepted a job in the private protection field and learned pretty quickly that, not only did I excel at protecting people, I felt it as my calling in life. The only natural progression from there, for me at least, was to join the military with the thought that I would be able to help a larger number of people on an even larger scale.
Without going into specifics, I was deployed to Iraq in 2003 and when I returned in 2004, was not the same as when I had left. Shortly after leaving the military in 2006 I was diagnosed as having severe PTSD and from that point on seemed as though I was fighting a new war to get back who I once was. Life had become increasingly difficult but if the Army had taught me anything, it was that as long as there is breath in my body then I need to keep moving and never quit. So that’s what I did and continue to do. In my search to combat this disorder, I discovered meditation. I mean I didn’t discover discover it, but you get what I mean. I found out instantly how helpful and beneficial it was for me and given that meditation was something I wouldn’t normally have even considered, I began researching other natural/holistic means of treatment (as I refuse to put pharmaceutical medication in my body unless absolutely necessary), most of which I will share, along with other things, by way of my posts here.
Through writing (I published my first book Aeternum, currently available on Amazon and Barnes and Noble for download) meditation, studying the works of people I admire, and most importantly the love, patience, and very existence of my beautiful wife and two amazing kids I began to fight harder and rediscovered my love for helping people. I realized that I couldn’t do that in the same capacity I had been able to as a soldier, so I began looking into other ways I could. I found that the rest of my time on this beautiful blue rock should be spent helping others overcome the obstacles in their life. A lot of the time that means helping someone get out of their own way long enough to realize their potential and that our lives aren’t meant to be spent struggling, complaining, or being depressed. At first I thought this may be too difficult a task as people are as varied as the obstacles they often collide with. Then I realized that if I could help even one person live a better life, my time here would’ve been well spent. I also realized that some of the best ways to get through to people is by being direct, honest, and not letting them fall for their own bullshit, like a well intentioned drill sergeant I guess (hence the name GorillaGuru).
I began a few years back studying and devouring any information I could on wellness, physical and mental conditions, diet, finance, fitness, relationships and anything else I could find that would better suit me in helping as many people as I can. All that research and studying has currently led me here, landing among all you incredible people. I have learned a great many things from people of various cultures, gurus, motivational speakers, fellow entrepreneurs, millionaires, and Generals and now here I am, ready to assist my fellow humans in any way I can. So in a nutshell, that’s me and that’s why I’m here. If there is anything else you’d like to know about me or any advice you may need, or my take on something please, feel free to ask. I greatly look forward to meeting as many of you kick ass people as possible. Take care and be well fellow Steemians.

GG

Sort:  

Welcome to the community... great post... have fun… !!!

Welcome to steemit family! Good luck! I am sure that you will fully enjoy your journey here:)

Nice to have you here on Steemit community :)
One tip for you as a new user:
Comment on many posts that interest you and that you have the most knowledge of yourself, this will help the steemit community and your steem wallet.
Good luck.

Hey thanks for the tip, much appreciated. I'll be sure and do that. You take care and be well.


Welcome to Steemit @gorillaguru!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings!


Welcome to Steem @gorillaguru.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Welcome to Steem, @gorillaguru!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3237 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.19 : Updated Boost Button - Collaboration announcement - Earn more with SteemPlus points.

welcome @gorillaguru on Steem Blockchain! I followed you :) I think you will create nice content on Steem. Please follow my general account. Click this link! :) Have a nice day dude!


Warning!

Don't follow this account because this is bot.
Follow @pabisovsky! To follow @pabisovsky click this link: https://steemit.com/@pabisovsky


Have a nice day!


bot.jpg


Hey gorillaguru! If you would like to see what the current trending content and topics on the internet are consider following @coffeebreak and @topicstoday accounts to make your personal feed more fun and informative.

Welcome to steemit @gorillaguru.

  • Join @minnowsupport project for more help
  • Checkout @helpie for daily trivias and useful information
  • Join @qurator a good quality support project
  • Checkout @steembasicincome
    Follow me @tuanis for random votes daily please checkout the report
    Welcome the new steemians. Have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98