Introducing... My Life as a Dabbler

Greetings Fellow Steemerz,

There is a special kind of mediocrity that is inherently associated with the term dabble. To become anything more than mediocre takes hard work, dedication, and at least some form of passion, be it for the activity itself or the reward (monetary gain, social validation, civic impact, etc.) associated with the success of the activity. In fact, Mariam-Webster defines 'Dabble' as "to work or involve oneself superficially or intermittently especially in a secondary activity or interest" which when translated reads, "to sometimes do a half ass job at shit that you find kind of fun or interesting on a surface level" however, I differ from this definition so perhaps there is a better term than "dabbler" to describe myself.

You see, when I am dabbling I am not superficially engaged or intermittently applied. The subject of dabble becomes my primary interest as I dive deep into the wormhole, not to be spat out again until I have ravaged every ounce of energy and creativity on my way to the completion of the project. Each new endeavor feels like a grandiose trajectory toward a new and exciting life of obsession, free of constant dabble. Then, all at once, interest vanishes and I am left looking for the next wave of inspiration without any knowledge as to which medium it will come. As you can imagine this is both incredibly stimulating and at times frustrating.

Like all of you, I want to bring to life my inspirations and control the content I create. But like all of you, I am also under the regular societal pressures of adult life; I have to go to work/school which demands consistency and uniformity, two things that are not in my nature. In order to achieve upward mobility, large amounts of time must be focused on developing skills that will make me an increasingly useful asset to the people who compensate me for the time I have forgone to develop said skill. This is not a complaint, yet a simple fact of life in our capitalistic society.

The nature of our society is at odds with the essence of my being. A dabbler is not fit to operate in the confines of this specialized society, and so here I turn to Steemit as many others have. This blog is an experiment into my cumulative mediocrity; into my creative struggle. The current scope of my dabblement includes but is obviously not limited to, illustration, short stories, sustainability, photography, blockchain analysis, pastels, clay sculptures, and videography. You may see all of this, you may see none of this; but one thing's for certain, dabbling shal be had.

Cheers,

glowedup

Sort:  

Congratulations @glowedup! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70910.93
ETH 3657.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76